Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alelxander Graham Bell Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 390 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Overall a good school - but lot of variability. I write as a parent of a student who moving to middle school after 5 years here. 1) Some teachers are outstanding.e.g. 1st, 5th best of the best . 2) Wonderful premises, and parent involvement. 3) 4th grade is weakest. One of the two teachers is v. weak, uses control, unable to adopt to kids who learn differently from her narrow style . A few parents opted out of the school due to her, and numerous parental complaints. . 4) The weakest link is the "new" principal. Loves attention and popularity.. Her first time as a principal and shows. Her actions seem to be make herself look good, but is a poor leader. She seems to have done nothing re: 4th grade control teacher w/complaints; just re-organized and moved a well loved 1st grade teacher to kindergarten without any discussion with the teacher. The teacher is v. upset and moving to a different school in new school year (just a sample of challenges). This success of the school is largely due the culture and structure set by a past principal Mr. Anderson. I worry about the new leadership. My advise - seek mentoring from respected principals (perhaps even Mr. Anderson)..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

Once great school, with a lot of heart and soul! I wish the same could be said of the new building leadership. Emotionless and intimidating, she's in the process of dismantling all that once made this building so great. R.I.P., "old" A. G. Bell... You'll be sorely missed...


Posted March 4, 2014

We moved to the area from out of state and I was used to being in a choice district. When I found out we were assigned to AG Bell and reviewed the test scores I was very worried. But then I visited and was impressed with the warmth of the staff. Well, after being here for six months I can say this school has greatly surpassed every one of my expectations. The principal is amazing - very strong leader, cares about the kids, professional and the teaching staff is putting a lot into adapting to the common core. The best part of the school though is the student body. So diverse, from all walks of life and countries and it makes for a very rich experience for my child. Don't be swayed by test scores. I would rather have my child there and with the quality of administration/teachers/parents/kids than at the many local schools that have high test scores and major issues with bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

This school is incredible! What a welcome relief from our previous school! The principal knows the kids by name and is seen everywhere on campus. The teachers are dedicated and really love the kids. They communicate openly with the parents and are so respectful towards them. My kids love going to school and really feel loved and accepted by their teachers! That is huge! I couldn't ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

My son is in this school since 2011 and I am really happy to be a part of this school. Teachers are really really great. Their feedback is so helpful. Even Principle is so friendly and open to discuss anything. Good Education flow. Lots of helpful activities for Science, Maths and English. I must say its one of the best school. I took my daugher's admission also in this school ( Preschool), but somehow it not starting this year and we decided to let her go next year but will start with this school only. I do not have enough words but in short this is great school indeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

Our oldest daughter has attended Bell for two years and we have been quite impressed with the dedication and care of the teachers at Bell. We came from a private school setting prior to Bell and were concerned with how our daughter would respond, but it has been a great success. While the teachers have played an integral role in this success, part of it can also be attributed to the smaller class sizes at Bell. Bell doesn't seem to have the 25-30 student class sizes, rather 20-25, ocassionally even fewer. With a new, long term oriented Principal starting this school year (2012), and the world class, state of the art building set to open in fall of 2013, AG Bell is a great place to be. We had heard that parent involvement at Bell was lacking, but can say the PTSA is quite strong with a high percentage of parents participating in membership and in programs. With the current PTSA leadership I would expect this to continue. Bell has a great future and we have been more than satisfied with the quality of teachers, leadership and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

I was a student at A.G. Bell from Preschool to 5th grade. The former principal, Mr. Newport, was fantastic. He made the school great. When Three years ago, a new principal arrived. His name was Curtis Anderson. He could not solve 3 simple issues that my parents suggested should be solved. I loved this school, and I hope everyone else does too, but I suggest there be a new principal. :)


Posted June 3, 2010

We moved to WA from Canada and A.G.Bell was the first American school my daughter was going to attend. The principal and staff were outstanding, helpful and very knowledgeable. When I couldn't make it to the school to pick up some additional paperwork the principal was kind enough to drive to our place to not only drop them off, but explain why they needed to be signed and then waited as I signed them all. He then invited us in for a tour of the school during a time of our choosing! While my daughter only attended for the last two months, they were a great two months. Future schools she has attended haven't lived up to my expectations like A.G.Bell has. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

We've been there over five years and each teacher my child has had, had unique, nuturing qualities that have helped my child grow as a student. Great teamwork by the staff. I wish more parents would get involved, though. The ones that do are really terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

I was very unhappy with this school. Lack of teacher involvement, there was 27 kids in my daughters class. We removed our daughter after 6 months of being there. I can not believe it got an 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

This school doesn't have the highest test schools in the area, but the teachers are very caring and really want the children to succeed. From my experience, there is not a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

This school is wonderful. My son has gone to Bell elementary since kindergarten and is now in the 5th grade. My daughter has just started kindergarten. The teachers are awesome. I have not had a teacher that both the kids and myself have not liked. They are knowledgeable and wonderful with the kids. Its not often that you get a great teacher every year, but we have. They also have the accelerated reader program. The program itself is ok, it is more geered for children that are competive though is my sense. This is a wonderful school....I'm thankful they were in our district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Some out standing teachers Judy Cook, Kathy Daly, Kathy Hovis, Grace Stanphill and Chris Hulten. Their principalship can use some guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

I am exceptionally proud of being associated with A.G. Bell through my son's attendance in Ms. Huppert's all day kindergarten class. My son's growth emotionally and intellectually since he started class 2 months ago is amazing and means more to me than any test score; however, this year's fabulous WASL scores do deserve note and show how dedicated the teachers and staff are to the students. They all deserve a round of applause!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

The emphasis on civility and rewarding good behavior is very reassuring. The encouragement of creative problem-solving in math and other areas is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2003

Great teaching or learning enviorment, teachers always being kind and friendly to the students. Teachers recommendation: Christine Lawson, Vicki Porto


Posted June 23, 2003

Great community, some outstanding teachers, particularly Judy Cook, Cathy Daly.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income54%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income62%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female64%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low incomen/a
Not low income66%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low incomen/a
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female82%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low incomen/a
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female61%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income45%
Not low income68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female87%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income50%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female58%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income40%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 7%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 116%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 231%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 59%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11212 NE 112th
Kirkland, WA 98033
Phone: (425) 936-2510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Springhurst School
Kirkland, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT