Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
I feel like the school should give you more freedom. They still make you line up outside in class order until your teacher comes outside to meet you. I understand for the younger kids, but for your last year of elementary school? That is insane! They should allow the older kids to go to their classroom all by themselves.

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
The student-led goal setting conferences have empowered my son to think and plan clearly for the year, and to celebrate success in achieving his goals. The teachers have been available and flexible in managing any issues that come up, academically or socially.


Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Ben Franklin Elementary is a great school because the teachers and staff are dedicated to the children. We also have a very active and involved PTA.

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 09, 2009
- a parent
All the staff is committed to the success of the students. Parents are welcome anytime, anywhere in the school. The facilities are fairly new and well manteined.

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
Amazing Specialists! Fantastic Parent involvement...an overall wonderful place to learn, grow and accept others differences!


Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
UPDATE: I previously posted and wanted to provide my opinion of the new school year thus far. First, the new Principal, Ms. Fricke, seems great. She is visible and available and seems to have a good rapport with both parents and children. I noticed on the 1st day of school, she was even addressing some children by their first names! Secondly, regarding my issue with bullying, the respecitve parties (new teachers and staff) were made aware of the previous situation prior to the new school year beginning. I certainly appreciate the work that the school counselor did over the summer to inform the the new teachers of the previous conflicts between the two children; so that both children can start off the new school year on good footing and hopefully succeed without the past years' issues continuing.

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 01, 2008
- a parent
Our kids have gone to this school since kindergarten (going on 5 years now). While reading the previous comments (both good and bad) I can safely say they are all true. The teacher dedication and extra activities are great, however the teacher turnover has been over 50% in the 4 years we've been there. The parant envolvement is great depending on the class makeup. Some rooms have a lot, while others are somewhat baren. There is definately a bullying problem and the student dispersment seems rather odd with most of the troubled kids placed in the same class, while the other class room of the same grade has almost no problem children. Now the biggest complaint, class size. Lake Washington prides itself in being a high standard for education, however Franklin's class size is at 27 per classroom. Well above the national average.

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 4

Posted June 01, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in the full time Quest program at Franklin. She has had a wonderful time and she has been challenged. The new building is not much to get excited about. It was built as an office building rather than evaluating what an elementary school needs. The paper supply is right next to the pottery kilm. Very noisy building. Three story dividing doors (Lunch room/Gym), without electricity the doors will not be able to move.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School
12434 NE 60th, Kirkland, WA  98033
(425) 882-7460
Last modified Benjamin Franklin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benjamin Franklin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top