Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Kirkland, WA
Students enrolled: 496
 

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carl Sandburg Elementary School 1

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Our experience at Sandburg has let us to conclude that some of the teachers use very outdated teaching and classroom management strategies. It is unfortunate that many teachable moments, enriching opportunities, and creative expressions of learning are stifled by staff members who seem to have taken their last professional development class back in the 1990s. Worse yet is the principal who is the epitome of the smarmy-politician administrator. Her leadership is reactionary rather than visionary, and she makes choices that are genuinely damaging to young children's psychological and emotional development. She makes no attempt to turn issues into opportunities for growth, but takes the easy way out for herself (which is usually not in the best interest for the children at the school). As another parent who posted here mentioned, the principal would rather punish/isolate/suspend all children involved in an incident than work through the facts of the matter to help the children learn from it and feel safe/valued at school.

Carl Sandburg Elementary School 2

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
I have a daughter that spent of all of her elementary years here. The experience was great, and we never had any issues at all. My son, however, three years behind her, was a different story. The teachers were as great as they have always been. However, the new principle (hired in 2012/2013 school year) is horrible. She never took the time to interact in a positive way with any of the students, and was more interested in following a rule book than actually leading the school. Our view of the school became so negative, we moved our son to another school in the district, and the difference is night and day. He enjoys school, gets the help he needs, and we are so happy we made the choice. I volunteer frequently at school and have also been struck with how nice and kind the children are to each other, which was definitely not the case at Sandburg. There are significant bullying problems at recess, and rather than address the roots of the problem, the principle just chooses to suspend all kids involved, I really hope the district finds some new leadership for this school, there are some really teachers, staff and students here who deserve better.


Carl Sandburg Elementary School 4

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
We currently have a daughter in second grade, they have excellent teachers and support staff- if students miss on their state exam requirements, such as dibbles, they have excellent fallback programs to help them get better- but ultimately it comes down to being very involved as a parent and working together with the teacher and other staff members to better your kids education- I have found that parents that complain about the school not doing very a good job usually means the parents are not involved as much as they could be in there child's education- we have made a point to spend at least 30 minutes minimum a night with our child in areas they needed to improve, such as reading, math, sentence structure and spelling words- it is very rewarding to see that the time we have put in has payed off in much improved test scores and overall understanding of material- it's up to the parents. teachers only have so much time they can give each child, take some personal responsibility and most important take the time to sit down nightly with your kid and teach them the things they need to learn to be successful- it's all what you make it!
1 person found this helpful

Carl Sandburg Elementary School 2

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in first grade and we are pretty unimpressed with the academics or attention paid to the students. Because he is not behind and is not disruptive, he doesn't get any individualized instruction or work geared to his level. It's worksheet after worksheet. Son is bored and disengaged. We attended a private kindergarten and our son is doing lower level math in first grade than he did at the beginning of kindergarten. Despite multiple teacher and counselor conferences, none of our concerns have been addressed because, again, our son is not ruining their testing curve. It's pretty sad to see a 6 year old who went from loving school to despising it. We are looking into other options for next year. Finally, others commented on the prejudice against working parents. FOR SURE.

Carl Sandburg Elementary School 3

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
My son is going into 2nd grade. The school is very good in terms of facilities. The building is brand new so everything is state of the art. Parent involvement is high. They also emphasize healthy eating in the cafeteria which is nice to see. The principal is friendly and nice and she seems to be doing a good job. The teachers and staff are all friendly as well. My only minor piece of advice to her would be to try to get to know the students and parents a little better. My problem is with the other students. I suppose part of it might be just growing up but my son went to another school last year and started at this school this past year. Since coming here, he has had a few developmental issues (fights with other students, etc.) and has learned a lot of bad language and other negative traits. We are leaving the school and I am feel that he'll have better influence elsewhere.


Carl Sandburg Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is going into 2nd grade at Sandburg, and we have been delighted with our experience so far. Her teachers have been wonderful, and the administration and support staff are also very warm and caring. We particularly loved the principal, and are sad that he is leaving for another opportunity. We hope that the incoming principal is as fabulous as she sounds! My daughter entered kindergarten prepared to learn, but not knowing how to read etc. By the end of kindergarten she was reading and by the end of first grade she was well ahead of grade level. I volunteered in the classroom once a week and noticed that the teachers focus special attention on ALL students (not just those who excel or those who are behind).

Carl Sandburg Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2011
- a parent
I have 3 children at this school. My youngest fell behind and it was not until I CONTACTED the teacher was it brought to attention. This school is a small community of teachers and parents who are closed minded towards working parents. Teachers and staff gear primarily towards students who have very involved parents. The two older siblings excelled. There was a very noticeable lack of responsibility on the school's part when it came to my youngest. In summary - this school are takers of the community. They are not contributors. Test scores rate high due to very little special education needs children who attend. That should tell you something.

Carl Sandburg Elementary School 4

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
Of all the schools in our immediate area, Sandburg is absolutely the best! New leadership since the disappointing 2007 comments means the overall school climate has benefitted tremendously! A very involved and well funded PTSA, an engaged/concerned staff of teachers offering great classroom experiences and support/involvement in our extracurricular activities and a safe supportive environment all make the best out of a currciulum dictated by the district/state. The art education consists of an art docent program that relies on parent volunteers for the younger ages is disappointing, but overall there is so much that makes it a great school!


Carl Sandburg Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
Our daughter is in her 3rd year at Sandburg and we absolutely love this school. She came from 3 years of Montessori, and has integrated well with the other students, staff and curriculum. We love how involved the community is in their programs and activities and the overall positive feeling we get from the parents, volunteers and staff. We look forward to many more great years at Sandburg! Go Seals!!

Carl Sandburg Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carl Sandburg Elementary School
12801 84th Ave NE, Kirkland, WA  98034
(425) 823-8670
Last modified Carl Sandburg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carl Sandburg Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top