Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Finn Hill Junior High School 4

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Son and daughter attend Carl Sandburg. Great teachers overall and principal. The only complaint would be the common core curriculum means the teachers do not have a lot of leeway for kids of different skills.

Finn Hill Junior High School 3

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended Finn Hill for the first portion of 7th grade and I volunteered there. The school wasn't a good match for her so we moved her. There are some good teachers there, and the principal seems involved, but the student body is not particularly motivated to do what is asked of them academically, and expectations aren't that high. Perhaps a broader base of parent involvement could turn this around.


Finn Hill Junior High School 4

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
Finn Hill has been a great place for both my kids. My daughter learned a lot and enjoyed the honors LA/SS classes. My son is taking advantage of the 7th grade algebra. Principal Scarpelli is fabulous.

Finn Hill Junior High School 4

Posted August 16, 2005
- a parent
FHJH is a great place for students to grow academically and socially. It is unfortunate that some parents have expectations for their students that are not appropriate. I did not notice any parents who had concerns about the discussions at the PTSA meetings speaking up.

Finn Hill Junior High School 2

Posted July 08, 2005
- a parent
'This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but our eighth grader needs accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. The Language Arts/Social Studies Honors 2nd class for 8th grade was cancelled just before he reached 8th grade, and the caliber of most of his English teachers has been shockingly poor. When the English teacher doesn't know how to spell the words on the spelling list, you should know the school has a big problem. I can not recommend this school to students who are motivated to really learn and get somewhere. Parent involvement is almost nonexistent to parents outside the PTSA. PTSA meetings are never about the academics of the school, nor about the students.


Finn Hill Junior High School 4

Posted June 14, 2005
- a parent
This is a good schoool. My child enoyed the teaches and felt she learned a lot.

Finn Hill Junior High School 4

Posted June 14, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Finn Hill Junior High School 5

Posted August 19, 2004
- a parent
My daughter has had a great experience at FHJH. The teaching staff, overall, seem to truly care about the success of the students. The new principal, Mr. Scarpelli, has been the vice principal for the past few years and has a tremendous rapport with the students and parents.


Finn Hill Junior High School 4

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
Our junior high experience so far has been much better than expected. Special Ed staff are outstanding, very good at getting to the problem and working with the kids and families.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Finn Hill Junior High School
8040 NE 132nd St, Kirkland, WA  98034
(425) 821-6544
Last modified Finn Hill Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Finn Hill Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top