Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kamiakin Junior High School 1

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The Quest program at this school is absolutely awful. The principal views the gifted students as "freebies", actively avoids spending resources or time on them. There have been excellent teachers, but these are nothing more than accidents. The principal and the school board hold no love for any students (especially any gifted student). These missteps by the school are covered by irritating (and perhaps damaging) acts of pseudo school-spirit. Kamiakin Middle School has successfully squandered years of golden opportunity to educate their students. Thank you to the good teachers that haven't made the experiences here a complete waste. But to the principal and overlords of the school? Good riddance.

Kamiakin Junior High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Merkley and Mr. Brannman. The music program is wonderful, and they deserve great thanks. Mr. Egger. Arguably the best science teacher that anyone could hope for. Ms. Pollett. Another bright spot in this school. The perfect person to teach math. Thanks to all of you.


Kamiakin Junior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
It depends on the teacher. Some teachers have been absolutely excellent; others have not. There is a strong feeling, however, that the good ones are flukes.

Kamiakin Junior High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Students at this school are simply not challenged in any way. Expectations are unbelievably low, and it has turned formerly hard-working students into lazy lumps with low expectations for themselves.

Kamiakin Junior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The focus of Kamiakin Middle School is getting by without any serious incidents. They have little respect for the right of students to learn.


Kamiakin Junior High School 4

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Joe Joss the principal is great -- he has a vision for his school and works to move it in that direction. He has been weeding out the less effective teachers and has hired some great ones. Ward Brannman the band guy is phenomenal. About half the kids at this school are in band!! (starting in 7th grade is not a problem! go for it! it is a great community that allows all the different levels at KaJH to interact positively.) Bullying happens but our experience was a quick, discrete handling, with no negative repercussions for my 7th grader who was bullied by a 9th grader. VP did her job competently. It is a very diverse community, ethnically, linguistically, and also academically, as the gifted and the developmentally disabled both have programs here. It will be interesting to see the transition to a Middle School. Joe's leadership skills are a plus.

Kamiakin Junior High School 3

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
Enter your review here] Avoid this school if you can. The staff will promise a lot but will deliver very little. Academically the school is not so bad but do not expect much if you compare to other JRH schools in Kirkland or Bellevue. Bulling is a big problem too.

Kamiakin Junior High School 3

Posted January 26, 2011
- a community member
The principal is amazing, and super nice. But when it comes to the sports program, The coaches pick randomly not by skill level so really good players are on lower teams and aren't challenged. Also, bad players are put on higher skill level teams, and so good players are on lower level teams and get upset, like me and all my friends when the girl who is worst at volleyball is on varsity and we are all good, they are better than me and we are all on regionals. DO NOT DO SPORTS HERE!


Kamiakin Junior High School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Kamiakin Jr High has a wonderful music program. Our instructors, Mrs Kim Merkley and Mr Ward Brannman have touched my children's lives immensely. Particularly, Mrs Merkley has worked with my son, Stuart, for the past 4 years. He began taking orchestra in grade 4. Stuart has ADHD. Music has helped him with focusing, social skills, and been a source of self pride. He is a better person because of the fine arts. Despite huge budget cuts, Lake Washington School District has been able to retain our music program. My daughter, Amy, spent 5 years under Mr Brannman's direction playing the flute. He has instilled love of music and personal excellence as she has moved on to high school.

Kamiakin Junior High School 4

Posted August 03, 2007
- a parent
Our oldest just finished his time at Kamiakin, and it was a very positive experience for us. My son had a bullying experience that was handled quickly and discreetly, so I was happy with the leadership of vice principal who is now to be principal. I think it is all in the way you approach it. They try to keep parents involved and aware of what is going on, and do a good job. I liked the community events including bbq at beginning of year, mothers day lunch, grandparents brunch and fathers breakfast. Teachers do a good job of keeping track of students' progress, especially in 7th grade.

Nearby schools

Kamiakin Junior High School
14111 132nd Ave Ne, Kirkland, WA  98034
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (425) 936-2400
Last modified Kamiakin Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top