Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kirkland Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 543 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

KMS has been a great school for my kids. I have had 3 kids go through and they have had a uniformly excellent experience, both academically and socially. I think that the principal is very good at both attracting high quality teachers and retaining them. The staff is very caring and committed to educating and supporting all of the children, whether they are at the high or low end of academic success. A lot of effort and thought is put into creating a safe, supportive environment. I have high academic expectations for my children and for the schools they attend, and I have been very satisfied with their experience at KMS/KJH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I would not recommend sending any child to this school, not only did my child suffer a major academic decline in the time there, my child was bullied at school, on the bus and even during extra curricular sporting events. The bullying was so intense my spouse and I witnessed it at an after school game and were in utter shock at the flagrancy of the kids. When I say bullying what I mean is constant verbal abuse, physical threats along with several students taking turns shoving students in a circle, physically being kicked out of seats on a bus along with several other things that are far too hurtful as a parent to go on about. After several attempts with the school counselor and vice-principal to address the situation head on, we were completely let down by the schools nonchalant attitude and lack of willingness to execute their "zero tolerance bullying policy". Not to mention the fact that every student signs the same code of conduct that comes in the handbook at the beginning of every year that clearly states students must not physically harm other students. I believe faculty mishandled this severely, actually creating more of a problem than before. Academics were weak at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

Both my kids went here as a junior high... it was great. While not every moment is perfect (remember, this is junior high!) the teachers and staff were magnificent. Very caring, always willing to help. The PTA was a quiet group but very supportive and really helped in the communication between school and home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

We have had great success at the Middle School. Both my kids were in and are currently in the honors programs. I love the high expectations placed on the kids. It's a great, safe and enriched program... We looked at private schools around the area, and my kids were on pace, and sometimes ahead..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

1. Very unwelcoming to a new parent. Low parent/teacher interaction. SO much so, I'm pulling my child winter break. For Kirkland, It's an embarrassment. 2. SOFTBALL-If you want your child to play softball beware the coach plays his daughter most games (because she is good. but can you imagine how the children feel?!) and half the team benchsits. VERY disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

KJH is not for the academically advanced student. To make their advanced classes larger, they include many marginal students. This policy is nice for the marginal students; but, it slows the progress of the advanced students. I had both a boy and a girl attend KJH. Both were advanced. Both graduated with cumulative 4.0s. He was treated with respect and his achievements were cheered. She was berated and her achievements were denigrated. She is well-liked by her peers. But for many life-long friendships, we would have removed her from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Terrific school with wonderful staff who have helped to shape my son into the wonderful child that he is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

all of these people are wrong, kirkland is good and its not hard to make friends at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

I was at Kirkland junior high for the full three years, and I absolutely loved it. Most of the teachers are nice, and care about if you understand what you're supposed to be learning. There is tons of school spirit there, and the teachers try to relate to teenage problems as much as they can. I really enjoyed my years there as a Panther.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2007

This school provides very much unneccesary drama ! Too much of it I think. I agree the girls are very judgemental and not easy to make friends with. You have to dress in top designer clothes for people to talk to you. Without the drama, it would be a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2007

The school's teachers are rather incompetent, and my daughter rarely has homework. They raise you up from the start to assume you are going to LWHS after 9th grade, so if you plan on moving, you're in a bad situation. The student's are incredibly judgemental and it's ridiculously hard to make friends here (in my daughter's words, 'its as if they have nothing better to do than sit around and backbite all day. They never want to make friends with anyone they havent known since kindergarten. It's too much of a close-knit community.') . Same goes for the Kirkland community in general. Avoid this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Good school with lots of activities and highly wired. Strong academics and a great staff that cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I am a student at Kirkland Junior High. I dislike this school very much, teachers really do not seem to care whether you pass or fail. Every student for themselves. The students are judgemental and I've had enough of this school. Many of my friends feel the same way, and all of us cannot wait to get out of this school, like I will be at the begining of 9th. Since I want to be prepared for High School, I want to go to a good school, which would provide me with the proper education. Which I know Kirkland Jr High will not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2004

My child's first half of the school year has exceeded my expectations. I could not have wished for better teachers or principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students86%
Female92%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income70%
Not low income88%
Special education31%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income70%
Not low income83%
Special education31%
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students88%
Female99%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income83%
Not low income89%
Special education53%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income59%
Not low income90%
Special education30%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income73%
Not low income90%
Special education30%
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Low income71%
Not low income93%
Special education47%
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
62%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
87%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income66%
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 7%
Hispanic 9% 20%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 116%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 219%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deborah McCarson

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

430 18th Ave
Kirkland, WA 98033
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 822-6224

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Stella Schola
Redmond, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT