Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakeview Elementary School 2

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
This school is fine but, nothing special. Many families in the area choose private school if they can. Some excellent teachers but there is a lack of consistency. The bar is not set high. There has been a revolving door of principals over the past several years. None seem to have set any academic or social and emotional goal agenda before they leave or are forced out. This school hasn't won an award of any kind since we've been there. (several years) The district needs to step in and raise the bar here but, I'm not sure they are capable.

Lakeview Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
The quality of teachers at this school varies wildly. We've had an absolutely horrible tenured teacher, a superstar teacher and a bunch of ho-hum in the middle.


Lakeview Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
See previous comment. There is no agenda for this type of learning in Lake Washington School District.

Lakeview Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
There is no social & emotional curriculum. The time to teach these skills are in the unstructured times and the level of skill of the supervision there is mostly very poor. These IA's lack in training and agenda. The teachers need a formal social and emotional learning curriculum that is consistent across teachers and grades and is required to teach.

Lakeview Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
We have two children at Lakeview and we re very pleased. The staff and teachers are excellent and the education our children are receiving is second to none. Compared to others friends our children seem to have a little more homework than other children who attend other schools. However, I think that this is a good thing as it challenges the students and prepares them for higher learning. We are very pleased with Lakeview and would highly recommend it.


Lakeview Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
We love our teacher, parents have the opportunity to contribute weekly, and the school facilities are just awesome. We could comfortably afford private school, but chose Lakeview Elementary instead. Highly recommend it.

Lakeview Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
My son goes to this school. There is a strong sense of community from the parents and staff to help the kids at this school. The staff is very professional and friendly. Son likes it there. And I found his teacher to be amazing. Great school. They also have chess club, math club, ski club, lego club arts, sports ..... etc..

Lakeview Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
We moved to Lakeview from a larger elementary school in the same district and we absolutely loved the change. Lakeview has nurturing and excellent teachers and an amazing parent involvement. A great effort is made in giving every child an opportunity to grow both academically and socially. The 3rd grade teachers, for example, work together as a team and divide all the 3rd graders in reading and math groups based on their levels. We have a new principal this year. She has already shown her leadership and her commitment in making Lakeview Elementary an even better school.


Lakeview Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
My daughter loves this school. This is the first school she attended in US. Her teacher, Mr. Coulter, is really a great teacher and has a sincere interest in the kids.

Lakeview Elementary School 3

Posted July 20, 2006
- a parent
Lakeview has a beautiful, new campus with gorgeous views of Lake Washington. It is too bad there are already portables on site. New principal in 2005/06, she has already had to deal with angry parents over low WASL scores in math and handled it well. Not impressed with the school's reading curriculum, if you can call using Accelerated Reader in the upper grades and Read Well (a remedial program) in the lower grades, a curriculum. All teachers are finally required to use the same TERC Investigations math curriculum so kids are on the same page year to year, and district administrators are carefully monitoring student progess in math. Hopefully more teachers will take advantage of district professional devp. in reading and try out the latest and best practices, instead of staying with what they're used to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeview Elementary School
10400 NE 68th, Kirkland, WA  98033
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (425) 936-2600
Last modified Lakeview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top