Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Kirkland, WA
Students enrolled: 647
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

22 reviews of this school


Mark Twain Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
This school has lax rules. Kids are running wild in this school. There are fights on the playground and nothing is ever done about it. My son always tell the recess teacher and she never help him. My son teacher I never hear from. I do not know what the events are at school. My son get picked on all the time. He does not ever like to go to school. We hope we can go to different school when they change the boundary.

Mark Twain Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Can be more challenging sometimes or develop classes for more capable students but didn't make it to very small quest program yet.


Mark Twain Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
I chat with the principal and he showed integrity and fairness, although he can do better by asking all the teachers to lift the academic level even further

Mark Twain Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
We moved from another Kirkland school to here and love this school. The principal is caring and teachers we had so far are professional. With the rezone, hope it'll even get better in coming years since size will reduce. Strong PTSA.

Mark Twain Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
I have sent four kids through Twain. My youngest is still there. I have seen drastic changes in the way this school operates in the last couple of years. There is poor communication, the secretaries are grouchy, my kid gets bullied repeatedly and the principal brushes it off. It used to be a great school. The teachers we love have left or are leaving. With the recent boundary changes we are slated to go to a new school. I would assume any of the neighboring schools are better than this one.


Mark Twain Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school in an excellent school district. The teachers are professional and current on the best educational practices, as well as supportive of both my advanced learner and my child who needs a little extra help.

Mark Twain Elementary School 3

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter just completed first grade at Mark Twain. We had a difficult classroom with many children that had behavior and/or learning challenges. I felt the teacher was caring but a bit overwhelmed by the classroom dynamics. We will be pulling her out and going to a smaller, private school next year.

Mark Twain Elementary School 1

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
Could do better. Not a great school for a child with special needs. Will be taking my child elsewhere.


Mark Twain Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2012
- a parent
I really like this school! The kids always come first here. The staff does everything that is possible to help kids who have difficulties at school. My son struggels with his academics due to many factors such as ADD, being bilingual and having a unilateral hearing loss. They give him so much support there, I couldn't ask for more.

Mark Twain Elementary School 1

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
Pulled my child out of school because of bulling and lack of assistants when my child needs help. He has fallen behind and its so sad that I have to home school now to get him back up to grade level.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mark Twain Elementary School
9525 130th Ave NE, Kirkland, WA  98033
(425) 828-3210
Last modified Mark Twain Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mark Twain Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top