Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peter Kirk Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
Peter Kirk is very strong. Great teachers, super motivated and involved parents, and one of the strongest overall communities in the metroplex. The school is old, but that is merely optics...its hard to go wrong here.

Peter Kirk Elementary School 3

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of a son who is about to enter kindergarten, so I do not have much insight into the school. However, I am disappointed by the fact that the school, like many elementary schools, is dominated by female teachers (based on the LWSD website, only two teachers in the entire elementary school are male - a first grade teacher and a PE instructor). The author of the best-selling book, Raising Cain, explains how expectations of male students and accommodations to their differences can have a positive impact on boys' performance in elementary schools. Although fewer men choose teaching careers, I would like the school to place more importance on this type of diversity.


Peter Kirk Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic teachers, great experience. My daughter has attended K - 1st grade and we are very pleased with her education to this point. The teachers are fantastic: very organized, really care about the kids. Parent involvement is excellent.

Peter Kirk Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a community member
Great school. My grand daughter goes there and loves it. Lots of community involvement. Parents assist in classrooms and monitor the kids coming and going. Very friendly.

Peter Kirk Elementary School 2

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
We moved to downtown Kirkland partly to go to Peter Kirk. The school is old. Some classes are way too hot in the winter while others can never warm up. The school is built in the califirnia style where you have pods and the core is open. Your child has to go to the restroom in the freezing cold as the doors are often left open. Its very crowded. The principal was terrible. She has since been replaced. Some teachers were amazing while others were obviously done and had little spirit left in them. Bullying was a huge problem that affected many students and could have been rectified I believe with some stronger assistance, but alas the principal was never to be found and school counselor was useless. The counselor also has since been replaced.


Peter Kirk Elementary School 4

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
We have been at the school for six years. It was not meeting my older child's academic or social needs. However, that probably had to do more with the kids in that grade level. My young one is entering 5th grade now and have had four fantastic years. The teachers she got through the years match her personality perfect. That particular grade level has been very caring and more academically advanced than what I experienced with my older daughter. PTSA has high and energetic parent involvement. Previous principal was nice one on one, and loved by students. As a leader she was average. To early to make any comments on the new principal.

Peter Kirk Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a community member
My daughter loved her years at Kirk Elementary. Her teachers were all excellent and provided my daughter with wonderful self esteem. I am writing this now because she just started middle school and she seems very well prepared in all of her classes. She has even kept in touch with all of her Kirk teachers as she loved them that much. I highly recommend this school.

Peter Kirk Elementary School 3

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
In our family's experience, Peter Kirk was a very mixed bag. The teachers we had ranged from mediocre to amazing, but most were in between. One of our children suffered through some terrible bullying experiences at this school which continue to scar her, and she was academically not challenged, but our other child had an amazing year with a loving first grade teacher who taught the children not only advanced academics but true social skills and caring. The principal, while wearing a smile on her face, was not very helpful or sincere and managed to alienate many of the teachers as well as parents. On the whole, we were very disappointed with this school and decided to leave it, yet we are very appreciative of the stellar first grade teacher we had.


Peter Kirk Elementary School 4

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Most teachers are amazing. The Kindergarten, 1st Grade and 6th Grade teachers Are spectacular. There is one third grade teacher that is exceptional. Parent involvement is superb! Principal is just OK.

Peter Kirk Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a teacher
I love the staff & parent support for the great programs offered to our students. The students are held to a high standard while still being allowed to be kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peter Kirk Elementary School
1312 6th St, Kirkland, WA  98033
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (425) 822-7449
Last modified Peter Kirk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top