Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Kirkland, WA
Students enrolled: 355
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff are top notch, but the principle, Malinda Mallon, is very cold towards the students and parents, especially if your child has any kind of issues, be it learning disabilities or just can't sit still all the time. She is more of a bureaucrat than a principle. She is worried more about keeping the budget than the welfare and happiness of the students. She will never admit when she is wrong. If there is ever a conflict she will turn it back on the parent or blame a staff member. At the end of last year, a lot of great teachers and support staff left the school. The teachers and staff try to help any way they can, but can only do so much under the thumb of Principle Mallon. I have had a child move on to middle school from Thoreau and I feel that they were not as ready as their classmates from other elementary schools. They are happy to not be at Thoreau any longer. If someone tells you that Thoreau is a great school, it means that their child fits the mold of Mrs Mallon's perfect student and they never get in trouble.
2 people found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
Thoreau is a fantastic school! The PTA promotes a warm and welcoming environment with its many sponsored events for families as well as diverse enrichment opportunities after school. The teachers are kind, creative and show a genuine love for kids. The teachers we've had, (8 total so far amongst my kids) have been encouraging and supportive of my children's different learning styles. Most of all, my kids love them! For parents, there are many ways to get involved volunteering in the classroom, as well as at special events. Overall, it's been a very positive experience!


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
Thoreau is a great School with great Staff, there is one thing they are lacking and that is a Principal, I agree with the Parent that wrote a review on October 8th, Mrs. Mallon is lacking everything there is to be good Principal, and yes Parents be careful because she will turn a conflict around and blame it on you or one of her staffs.. (this is the second post I wrote the first one did not get published, not sure why?)
4 people found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
HD Thoreau is a special school supported by an incredible community and staff. We recently moved and were able to stay on wih our friends at Thoreau, and what a priveledge it has been. The thought of leaving this gifted, warm environment is a bit unnerving. If every elementary school could have even a third of the talent and support portrayed at Thoreau our nation would be in a much better way. Thank you to Mrs. Mallon for fearlessly leading our children to heightened academic standards and social development.
1 person found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Finn Hill is a great community with wonderful parents & kids that deserve much more from Thoreau Elementary. The principal Mrs. Mallon cares more about being under budget than anything else. The parents don't feel that they are heard, so they choose to not get involved with the school. Bullying continues to happen and get pushed under the rug in hopes that the parents will forget. She is unfriendly and is really good at turning around a conflict into the parents problem. Not only does she enjoy having large classrooms (34 students), but doing what's best for the children is not a priority or concern. The parents won't make a stand & continue to bad mouth their experiences instead of making it heard. The truth hurts & a change needs to be made from the top. If you like negative reinforcement than this is the school for you. Take it from me, don't go there! Several families & facility are thankful they have left and I urge to do the same. It's sad because the staff & children deserve much more.
5 people found this helpful


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 2

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
My son just got transferred to a different school in the area and while I am glad he going to new school, I feel like he was very judged at Thoreau and given up on. I completely agree with what others said about the principle. She is ver cold to students and parents, esp kids who need extra help. She seems more like she should be working in politics instead of with young children. The special ed team is awesome! I really appreciated everything they did for my son but in the end I think they had no say and the principle just didn't like my son and my family. Sad.
5 people found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 3

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I agree with some of the previous posts. Mrs. Mallon, the school principal is very cold and unpleasant, which can set an unflattering tone for the feeling of the school. Although, most of the teachers and office staff seem extremely helpful, dedicated, and caring - which makes up for Mallon's inadequacies in this area, at least for the most part. The school curriculum seems basic and at least on par with most other schools in the area. And the attention focused on each child's personal needs seems satisfactory. If not for Mallon, I believe this school would be receiving higher ratings.
7 people found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a community member
I am a grandmother of two who attend Thoreau now & a mother of two who attended Thoreau from 1982 through 1992. The school is now K-5. Lake Washington School Dist changed this year to all elementary schools K-5, Jr Highs 6-8 & high schools 9-12. Thoreau is a GREAT school! It has the lowest population of students in the Lake Washington School District which makes it great for the students who attend here. Everybody knows everybody & the kids get lots of one on one time with the teachers. They have lots of fun & a great Quest program for higher learning. My son & daughter are looking to buy a house in this area as they rent now & if they find one that is in the Juanita or Sandburg area, they will still send the kids to Thoreau.


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 2

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
The staff is AMAZING, the office staff is AWESOME but the new principal they have had revised their carnival making it boring and dull and she isnt very pleasant. She does not relate to the children well and many parents dislike her rigid ways. VERY harse and cold to the students.
4 people found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a teacher
I just wanted to clarify some information based on the last post...Fun Friday is only done in the First and Second grade classess. Kids who complete their work and have good behavior during the week get to choose a "Fun Friday" room for the last 1/2 hour of the day (not all day long as the previous post implied). The students can go to an art/games room or watch a movie. Kids with unfinished work go to a quiet room to finish up their work. Dance week is a huge hit with most of the kids. they learn line dances, square dances, and popular dances like the Makarena. Parents who don't want their children to participate just have to let the school know and another activity will be found for their child to do during dance time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School
8224 NE 138th, Kirkland, WA  98034
(425) 823-4350
Last modified Henry David Thoreau Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henry David Thoreau Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top