Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Finn Hill is a great community with wonderful parents & kids that deserve much more from Thoreau Elementary. The principal Mrs. Mallon cares more about being under budget than anything else. The parents don't feel that they are heard, so they choose to not get involved with the school. Bullying continues to happen and get pushed under the rug in hopes that the parents will forget. She is unfriendly and is really good at turning around a conflict into the parents problem. Not only does she enjoy having large classrooms (34 students), but doing what's best for the children is not a priority or concern. The parents won't make a stand & continue to bad mouth their experiences instead of making it heard. The truth hurts & a change needs to be made from the top. If you like negative reinforcement than this is the school for you. Take it from me, don't go there! Several families & facility are thankful they have left and I urge to do the same. It's sad because the staff & children deserve much more.
1 person found this helpful

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 2

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
My son just got transferred to a different school in the area and while I am glad he going to new school, I feel like he was very judged at Thoreau and given up on. I completely agree with what others said about the principle. She is ver cold to students and parents, esp kids who need extra help. She seems more like she should be working in politics instead of with young children. The special ed team is awesome! I really appreciated everything they did for my son but in the end I think they had no say and the principle just didn't like my son and my family. Sad.


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 3

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I agree with some of the previous posts. Mrs. Mallon, the school principal is very cold and unpleasant, which can set an unflattering tone for the feeling of the school. Although, most of the teachers and office staff seem extremely helpful, dedicated, and caring - which makes up for Mallon's inadequacies in this area, at least for the most part. The school curriculum seems basic and at least on par with most other schools in the area. And the attention focused on each child's personal needs seems satisfactory. If not for Mallon, I believe this school would be receiving higher ratings.

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a community member
I am a grandmother of two who attend Thoreau now & a mother of two who attended Thoreau from 1982 through 1992. The school is now K-5. Lake Washington School Dist changed this year to all elementary schools K-5, Jr Highs 6-8 & high schools 9-12. Thoreau is a GREAT school! It has the lowest population of students in the Lake Washington School District which makes it great for the students who attend here. Everybody knows everybody & the kids get lots of one on one time with the teachers. They have lots of fun & a great Quest program for higher learning. My son & daughter are looking to buy a house in this area as they rent now & if they find one that is in the Juanita or Sandburg area, they will still send the kids to Thoreau.

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 2

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
The staff is AMAZING, the office staff is AWESOME but the new principal they have had revised their carnival making it boring and dull and she isnt very pleasant. She does not relate to the children well and many parents dislike her rigid ways. VERY harse and cold to the students.


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a teacher
I just wanted to clarify some information based on the last post...Fun Friday is only done in the First and Second grade classess. Kids who complete their work and have good behavior during the week get to choose a "Fun Friday" room for the last 1/2 hour of the day (not all day long as the previous post implied). The students can go to an art/games room or watch a movie. Kids with unfinished work go to a quiet room to finish up their work. Dance week is a huge hit with most of the kids. they learn line dances, square dances, and popular dances like the Makarena. Parents who don't want their children to participate just have to let the school know and another activity will be found for their child to do during dance time.

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 3

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
The principal and the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly and the school has a nice community. But the culture promoted in school is "the lowest common denominator" culture. After attending the school's "dance week" my 2nd grade daughter came home singing "Who let the dogs out" and doing some increadable pelvic movements. Every Friday in the school is "Fun Friday" meaning the teachers catch up with the students who are behind and everybody else does... nothing. They simply watch videos, lots and lots of videos. I thought that the school was doing well academically but after moving to a different state we are doing lots of catching up.

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2010
- a parent
have had 3 children attending this school the past 9 years. Thoreau has overall excellent teachers very caring and commited. The office staff and principle are wonderful. The Principle and Special Ed teachers were very supportive when my special needs daughter could not handle the crowded Juanita Elementary School where they sent her for ESL since we adopted her from China at age 7. The Thoreau principle visited the school in preparation for transfer to Thoreau and my daughter 's anxiety decreased and she was able to really learn in the classroom again. My two boys are thriving-one in 5th grade loving the new Math Cirr that lets him work ahead to some 6th grade math. My Jr High son went on to Honors Classes at Finn Hill Jr High. I would highly recommend Thoreau-it's a wonderful caring community where our children get a GREAT education!


Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Caring, dedicated staff and a beautiful building. A high emphasis is placed on teaching the students respect and cooperation in addition to their challenging curriculum.

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of a primary student, I am very pleased with both the academics and environment of Thoreau. Mrs. Mallon, Thoreau's new principal, has brought about a lot of positive changes to the school. My daughter is one who excels in academics, and unlike others who have reviewed here, I feel that she is challenged and is given the opportunity to work to the best of her potential. I agree that parent involvement is somewhat lacking, but it is understandable with the socio economic area that Thoreau pulls from (usually-both parents are working). In addition, Thoreau offers many after school activities such as drama, chess club, drum club, art class, honor choir and musical minds, just to name a few. Thoreau also received the School of Distinction award for dramatic improvements in their students reading and mathematics skills over the past 5 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry David Thoreau Elementary School
8224 NE 138th, Kirkland, WA  98034
(425) 823-4350
Last modified Henry David Thoreau Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henry David Thoreau Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top