Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Lacey, WA
Students enrolled: 666

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakes Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
My children attended Lakes for two years. Under different leadership, I would recommend the school to anyone. The outgoing principal was the worst leadership I've seen in a school in 30 years. The teachers are amazing--they're supportive to the children and are never out of line with the them. However, beware if you're coming in from another school system or out of state. The school system as a whole caters to state testing, there's barely any emphasis on science, and they really push being politically correct---so no one loses or wins anything or makes an "A" or a "B". The 1-4 grading system is 90% subjective and how the teacher "feels" the child did.

Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
We couldn't ask for a better school for our children! We got a waiver to attend Lakes after hearing from friends how exceptional the teachers and staff are. I can't believe the difference! Our children have attended 2 other elementary schools in Lacey....there is no comparison! If you want your children to be in the best hands, with the most attentive and caring teachers, Lakes is the school for you!


Lakes Elementary School 4

Posted January 03, 2013
- a community member
Wow i love this school.it is a good one for my cchild.but they are too sleepy

Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2012
- a community member
This school is very well run! The teachers care about the students, and the principals can often been seen walking around and checking on things.

Lakes Elementary School 3

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are excellent, but the office staff are unhelpful and cold. They are not great about keeping parents informed of policy and procedure.


Lakes Elementary School 3

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
The learning experience my child has had at this school is great. She learns how to work well with other and how to make good choices. The only problem I have is there is no Open Door Policy. If you want to drop in on your kids and see how their doing you Can Not. You have to make a appointment a day in advance to check on your child. I really disagree with that policy and it needs to be changed. A parent should never have to make an appointment to check on their child. It is very uncomfortable for parents from other states. Who is concerned with the transition of their child.

Lakes Elementary School 4

Posted October 16, 2011
- a parent
Three of my children attended Lakes in the past. Ms. Quiocho is the best teacher any of my children have ever had. The staff is friendly and they truly care about the students.

Lakes Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
Lakes Elementary is the best because of the staff and especially because the students are amazing.


Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
Treats every child as an individual with individual needs.

Lakes Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
Friendly, safe, and inspirational environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakes Elementary School
6211 Mullen Rd SE, Lacey, WA  98503
(360) 412-4600
Last modified Lakes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top