Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nisqually Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 562 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

My grandson was identified with reading problems throughout elementary school (had extra reading help) and scored low on the standardized test, but still was not flagged for any kind of help when entering Nisqually Middle School. We were told he'd be in a reading assistance class upon entering, but he wasn't. When we started asking for help, we were treated politely but also found their process very slow for identifying his specific issues. When we pushed for actual testing, we received intense resistance -- instead, the school wanted to give him general 'help' without identifying his actual weaknesses. After much insistence, they did test him and found several serious problems but informed us he did not qualify for special education (because the district's levels are so low to qualify that almost no on does). Then they offered no additional help at all. He is overwhelmed and feeling like a failure and the family is struggling.


Posted October 15, 2011

We have recently moved into the North Thurston School district after an extended stay in Germany. Our Children had spent their entire previous primary education in the German school system. We were concerned about their shift into English schools. Nisqually Middle School has been the perfect fit for our new Middle Schooler. The teachers and staff are top notch, we are so thankfull for their understanding and support. I would recommend this school to anyone. My son is happy, and feels secure. We talk with him daily about school, and he enjoys his learning experience. Teachers are engaged with their students, and we have heard nothing of bullying or any other derogatory reports from our son. Students are friendly, and the learning environment has been great. This is a great school, and we would choose it all over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

The school year has just begun and I am very pleased with the progress my 7th grader is making! I was concerned about the switch from primary school to middle but it has been a pleasant transition thus far. I really appreciate the open door feel I get from all levels of educators at NMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

its a great school my child was a little behind when she entered the 7th grade and when she left 8th grade she was highest in her class and highest in her high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I Love Nisqually. The secretaries are the best...they go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome.....parents and students alike. The teachers are really good and try to make sure that you have all of the tools you need to make your student successful. I really like the family access program and the fact that I can see how my student is doing. I love that there is no surprise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I absolutely love this schoool. Teachers are great and always help with homework. P.E. programs are a success!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 9, 2005

I like the staff at the school. I really like the homework hotline! My daughters teachers seemed pretty good though they had too many children per class! Her english teacher did not challenge her enough but other than that they are doing a fine job. They have after school activities, year book, MESA (could have done a little more) but they did offer it. The choir nights were a great way to see how hard they work in that class. Last year was a good year hope this year is too. GYM class GOOD class! I liked the 2 week report on what was due and still waiting to be turned in it needed a little clearing up as to if they were extending a projects due date, but all in all it helps knowing where your child stands with all their school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Nisqually has had a difficult time getting funding to improve classroom conditions, but many of the teachers there are dedicated and hard-working, very capable. When I attended from 1998-1999, I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The orchestra teacher, Mrs. Lynn, was incredibly energetic and knew her stuff.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2004

Our experience with Nisqually has been average. There are just too many kids in each class and that isn't fair to the students or the teachers. I have some difficulty getting in contact with the teachers through email but you are given a time during the day, their planning time, when the teachers can be reached by phone and that seems to be the best way to communicate with them. There is a homework line that you can call each day to check what homework your child has that night, but it hasn't been working for one of the 7th grade classes lately. No one can seem to fix it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

Comunication with parents is poor.The school is under staffed and over populated with students. The wasl is a huge problem. Teachers are not teaching they are teaching to the test. I do not feel my child is getting an adequit education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

I am a past student of Nisqually Middle School. I attended 7th and 8th grade in the years of 1999-2001. I absolutely loved the school and how welcome I felt at the school. My teachers were the best that I have had. I learned quite a lot from this school. The school is very diverse and helps students get acquainted with other cultures and customs. At NMS it is very easy to make friends since everyone is so easygoing and easy to talk to. The teachers here are great and so are the team coaches. If these teachers are still there, seek out Mrs. Gadde, Ms. Goss, Mrs. Moro, Mrs. Weight, and the best band teacher I have ever had Mr. Oare. These teachers are great. If you want to have a great experience, I recommend them. They prepared me for highschool and I'm sure your children will love them too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 20, 2003

I echo the sentiment of the other parent (Steve Shippee). My son recently transferred to Nisqually from a school district outside of Thurston County. He absolutely loves attending school at Nisqually and appreciates the concern for the students that is shown by all of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2003

Nisqually Middle School has high quality programs for all students, to wit, regular education, special education, MESA, etc. Nisqually also offers after school classes such as homework help in mathematics and other subjects. It also opens its library up to the public every Wednesday evening until 9:00 PM. Nisqually has a wonderful learning environment, with rich diversity, and provides a safe, nurturing learning environment for all. Parental involvement at Nisqually Middle School comes in the form of joining FANS (Families Assisting Nisqually Students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female65%
Male56%
Black44%
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income50%
Not low income72%
Special education7%
Not special education67%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female73%
Male56%
Black45%
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income52%
Not low income77%
Special education20%
Not special education69%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female82%
Male66%
Black65%
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income67%
Not low income80%
Special education23%
Not special education79%
Limited English36%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female48%
Male48%
Black17%
Asian53%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Low income38%
Not low income55%
Special education10%
Not special education53%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female66%
Male54%
Black33%
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income44%
Not low income71%
Special education26%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female66%
Male67%
Black45%
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income55%
Not low income75%
Special education30%
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
68%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Low income95%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 63%
Hispanic 15% 18%
Asian 10% 7%
Black 10% 5%
Two or more races 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 129%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 213%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 74%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8100 Steilacoom Rd SE
Lacey, WA 98503
Phone: (360) 412-4770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT