Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Bay Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 687 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

South Bay Elementary is an extraordinary school in every way. I went to South Bay as a kid and now my son and daughter go there. Every teacher my children have had has been amazing by not only educating my kids but teaching them invaluable life lessons while really investing in who they are. Along with the prodigious teachers, the principal at South Bay does an unbelievable job; South Bay Elementary is the way it is because of Mrs. Cook. Her dedication to her staff, faculty, and the students is implausible! My wife and I could not be happier with the effectiveness of the education and the devotion of the faculty and staff towards our children...great job South Bay Elementary!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

We have been a part of the South Bay community for about 12 years. It has always been a good school and with current administration is a great school. Most of the teachers ae exceptional K - 6. They care. Parents and family members are welcome and appreciated. Teachers go out of their way to meet the needs of EACH student, high, medium or low. I am proud to say my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My two children have been attending Southbay for 3 years. Out of a total of six teachers, only one has been extraordinary. Going above and beyond to make sure my child had work to do in class that would challenge him above what she was currently teaching. I am completely unimpressed with the new principal. She rules by the book and not always in the best interests of the children or parents. I disagree with a previous post about not enough activities involving families. There are opportunities almost every month for families to attend an event at the school, I.e. Jump rope for heart, science fair, back to school night, fun fair and many more. My biggest complaint is would be the inconsistencies of grading. Teachers refusing to give 4s at all and using the standard 3 for the majority. Many students go above and beyond socially and academically and should be recognized by more than an average 3. I have been very happy with the physical education teacher. He has a great attitude and kids are always excited and ready to work hard,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

Good school, good kids, BUT total lack of consistency with grading. Too much objectivity allowed. The teachers are not on the same sheet of music with the 1,2,3,4 grading system. Some NEVER give 4's others only at year end. It is very much an atmosphere of, "let's shove everyone into a "3" grade so no one feels bad". The broad range of what makes up a 3 makes the grading system useless and leaves my children wondering what they are striving for. We moved here from Texas and let me say, although South Bay is great by Washington standards, it pales in comparison with the NEISD in Texas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

My son finished Kindergarten this year and we were extremely satisfied with the quality of the teacher (Ms. White). My son had social anxiety and did not want to go to kindergarten. After a month, he loved going to school. My other son went to couple private school and now I wish we would have sent him to South Bay Elementary. The school principal, the counselor, and other staff seem to be very professional and they truly care about the students. We have been extremely impressed about the academic and overall quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

This staff and the Teacher are very caring and helpful. They treated are students as they were they own kids, and if you have any concerns regarding any assigments they are always there to give your child the helping hands. I have two children there for almost four years, and I hate to move then out this school. I know my kids will miss the school as well as I am. Thank you Southbay for educating my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

I am interested in your programs for special needs children and also if you have art and music programs.


Posted October 29, 2008

As a child I went to this school and we just moved back to this area and I was excited about my son going to this school, but so farr not to excited. His teacher just doesnt appear to be happy with teaching any longer and there is not really much parent school activities for the families! Hopefully my experience will get better with time but not to impressed so farr..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Two years ago my daughter graduated from South Bay Elementary School. She had been attending this school since her second grade year, and abosolutly loved it. She was a brihgt student, and the enrichment classes her become a better student and move on to an equally amazing program in Chinook Middle School. The whole school is a family. The student learn to enjoy learing at all ages, and the teachers are amazing. We all as a family enjoyed the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

This school misses the mark and fails to step it up when the kids are ahead and in need of more academic stimulation. They spend most of their time teaching to the 50% and below to get those kids up to the WASL standard. The bright kids are left in a holding pattern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

South Bay is a wonderful. There is also of parent support and the teachers are great at what they do. This school is very friendly and it is easy for the kids and their parents to become part of the school community. It is like a second family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

The one problem I have with this school is the student/teacher ratio. My child has been in classrooms with 27+ students for the last 3 years. Otherwise we love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

We have been a part of the South Bay family for the past 8 years and with a few more years to go I can t think of a better school to have our children attend. It just keeps getting better! Our children have different learning styles and have each become outstanding students. Mrs. Weight and her staff is extremely professional. Yes, the school is old, but the environment within those old walls is not! They are a top notch staff and have provided our children with the newest knowledge available by continuing their own education. (Showing children that learning is fun at all ages!) The outstanding parent & community involvement is an added bonus for the children at South Bay. Thanks Mrs. Weight for providing our children the opportunity to become even better citizens. Your leadership in continuing to encourage all the wonderful things South Bay has to offer is much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

South Bay has been a very positive experience for our family. Excellent teachers, quality leadership and lots of parent involvement. The specialist teachers (music, PE and art) are great, as is the band program. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

An effective school is one that successfully involves parents, teachers and students in everything from curriculum development to fundraising. This is abundantly evident at South Bay. Take one step through the front doors and you will instantly recognize a friendly, well organized facility where all students are supported and encouraged to give their best. Whether it be academics, good behavior or community involvement, South Bay gives new meaning to the word 'Quality'. Parents can feel confident about sending their children to this safe and highly productive elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

South Bay is a school where all children are valued. Teachers at the building are very professional and approachable. The principal and the front office staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome - especially our children who were a bit apprehensive at the change of schools. The feeling we got when we first walked into the building still stays with us today. We felt that this is a place where the teachers really wanted to be and they really care about each and every child. We knew right away this was the school for us. We highly recommend South Bay Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My two children attended South Bay from Kindergarten to the sixth grade. I could write pages about this school but have been limited to 150 words on this page. You will love this school, staff and community. You will be amazed by the countless hours the parent volunteers put in to their school and how committed they are to supporting their children and teachers. You will be reassured on how much the entire staff looks out for the safety of your children. You will be happy with your choice. My children have since grown up and on to high school but I feel it speaks volumes when they visit their elementary teachers and staff on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I have had children at South Bay for the past six years, but my oldest had attended five other elementary schools due to moves and over-crowding in other areas. I can say without a doubt that South Bay has the highest level of parent particpation I have ever seen or heard of. Part of the reeason for this is the truly special staff who value every child and family. Music, sports and more are greatly valued. A great school with great staff who take pride in their school and the education they provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

An aging facility with well-meaning administration, but teathered by financial restraints. Many parents are involved, but the simple fact is there are a number of children whose parents are absent or on the public dole. That effect resonates throughout the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Great programs but poor facilities
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income68%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income65%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female70%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income50%
Not low income76%
Special education42%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income67%
Not low income86%
Special education50%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female73%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income28%
Not low income70%
Special education42%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female67%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income56%
Not low income78%
Special education17%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female64%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income30%
Not low income81%
Special education33%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female75%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income48%
Not low income85%
Special education42%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female78%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income69%
Not low income79%
Special education18%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female84%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income66%
Not low income87%
Special education55%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 60%
Hispanic 11% 20%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 120%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 225%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 64%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:20 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kate Cook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • We expect great things from south bay students and our community shares our enthusiasm for student learning. our supportive community and extensive parent involvement allow us to offer a wide range of opportunities for our students. south bay has more than 300 parent volunteers who average approximately 700 hours per month helping facilitate student activities and events. our outstanding pta has sponsored our annual fun fair since the late 1930’s.
More from this school
  • South Bay Elementary is well known for its exceptional staff. Their dedication to student learning is recognized as the fundamental strength of our school. In addition to the effective implementation of district reading, writing, math, and science curriculum, our staff incorporates many other creative learning opportunities for our students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Chinook Middle School
North Thurston High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3845 Sleater Kinney Rd NE
Lacey, WA 98506
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 412-4640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT