Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
Mrs.Comstock is a great teacher! She helps each student succeed no matter what level they are on! Thank you Mrs.Comstock!!!!

Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
I feel like the teachers are very open for suggestions and able to change curriculum based on overall performance of each of their students.


Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
We are given a monthly calendar and daily reading. I feel like the whole class could benefit from a daily homework page however small or easy it would prepare them for upcoming grades and situations where they need to allot time after school to do homework.

Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
I feel like at this time I am not able to determine an answer. My daughter is persistent and determined because of the praise she receives and she really enjoys learning. The staff's ability to extend curriculum even outside of her "grade" level has made her continued enjoyment possible.

Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
Again this is one of the values that is rewarded daily. Each of the students are taught to respect not only people and classmates but also property and supplies.


Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
Not only are these values rewarded daily, the staff also makes the extra effort to focus on each one to help the students understand the meaning and value of their actions.

Chambers Prairie Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
They teach all of these values and more on a daily basis and provide incentives for the kids to be on their best behavior at all times.

Chambers Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
The teacher has given my daughter the opportunity to excel above her classmates instead of holding her to one set curriculum. The overall enthusiasm and drive for academic success is very nice to see in an elementary school!


Chambers Prairie Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
Would not recommend this school to parents of children with disabilities. My son is high functioning autistic and was punished and embarrassed daily for behaviors he could not control. Instead of trying to get to the root of the problem or put any effort into understanding what triggered the unwanted behavior, he was sent away from class and essentially in time out for much of the school year. The teachers we encountered had no real knowledge of autism. A rewards/punishment system was always their fall back approach and they sacrificed opportunities to teach self control and encourage self competence for momentary peace in the classroom. My son's motivation literally eroded during the course of the year and left him defeated. The teachers and principal often came across as though their main interest was making their job easier for themselves and medicating my son came up often even though his dr.'s had advised against it at such a young age. I also approached the school several times regarding bullying and nothing was ever done despite the fact that many of my son's outbursts that he was chastised and sent to "recovery " for were direct results of being bullied and my son's inability to communicate what happened. He was told "I don't care" and told to leave the classroom on at least one occasion where he did try to explain himself. The counselor, quite honestly, was incompetent. She did not contribute anything that was useful or helpful, lacked understanding of his disability, frequently gave us wrong information, phone numbers, resources etc. The front office staff was just plain rude on a regular basis. I witnessed several children bullied and others say and do things that would typically warrant suspension and complaints by the parents were ignored whereas we received phone calls from the principal often regarding minor infractions. In my opinion, the faculty turned a blind eye to some things to avoid dealing with the more "difficult " parents. If your child naturally excels at school and socially, they would likely have an enjoyable experience and a mediocre education at this school. If they need extra attention or would challenge this faculty in any capacity I would avoid this school at all costs. Thankfully our child will not be returning this fall.

Chambers Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Update to my review: "This is our 3rd year at Chambers Prairie..." I wanted to update after reading the last review. Since my last review, my son was diagnosed with disabilities (ADHD, ODD, & epilepsy). The school as a whole has made every accomodation for him and us. Not every teacher is equipped to deal with disabilities so it takes a lot of communication between parent & staff. We also dealt with bulling on and off of school premises. When I approached his teacher and principal about it, they took immediate action and it stopped. They continue to work hard to make sure every child can learn to the best of their abilities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chambers Prairie Elementary School
6501 Virginia St SE, Lacey, WA  98513
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (360) 412-4400
Last modified Chambers Prairie Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top