Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-6
Public district
Lake Forest Park, WA
Students enrolled: 550
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Forest Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
Our children previously went to the nearby school, Brookside. We decided to move them to LFP for many reasons.. mainly the excellent school nurse. Nurse Sue is amazing and treats our child with the best care. We were extremely pleased to find out that this school is also exemplary in many other ways. It not only felt more diverse culturally than the neighboring school, but the principal is outstanding. Mrs. Miner has blown us away with her level of dedication to LFP. She seems to know every student and parent by name & is always beyond friendly, very helpful & has made our family feel welcome and wanted. The staff at LFP are also just as caring, well trained and dedicated.. from the front office to the lunch room to the maintenance man to the teaching staff. I would also love to give special mention to Ms. Lewis. She is an outstanding 4th grade educator who is passionate about teaching and does it in such a wonderful way that the children really respond to. I hope we encounter more teachers like her in our children's future education as I can only imagine what a better place the world would be with more teachers like Ms. Lewis. Thank you LFP for being such a wonderful school!

Lake Forest Park Elementary School 3

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Some teachers are EXCELLENT and others needed to be tossed out with the trash. It was a bit of a crap shoot as to what we would get but as the years went by the new principal hired better teachers and is working hard to turn things around. We had 6 years here and for the most part it was a positive experience. Do have to say though, my kid fell through the cracks and is going on to middle school with remedial knowledge of material, at best. I feel that while there was good communication, I was not told honestly about the full extent of his problems until the very last year.


Lake Forest Park Elementary School 4

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
Fanstastic Principal with amazing caring, although I question how well she can attend to managing all she has on her plate. Teachers seemed overwhelmed, yet push kids to be good citizens while learning. Very active PTA, but where is the room for creativity? Not much art at this school and teachers are overwhelmed with the amount they must teach and to too many kids (27 per class!). Teachers are highly qualified and want what is best, but can they do their job given the overwhelm? If your child has any special needs you must push to get him care, and this concerns me.

Lake Forest Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2010
- a community member
great school it has good teachers nice too great princible and everything its just fabulouse

Lake Forest Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful new principal in the 09-10 school year. Love, love, love the teachers here.


Lake Forest Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
Leadership issues are being resolved. Great teachers with very good parental support.

Lake Forest Park Elementary School 2

Posted April 29, 2006
- a parent
Extremely poor leadership at this school.

Lake Forest Park Elementary School 2

Posted October 18, 2005
- a parent
Poor principal leadership, we've given up talking to him.


Lake Forest Park Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
The only reason I give this school a 4 is because I think the staff there has a lot on their plates at times and the process can take awhile if your child has some special needs. However, they are a public school and will not deny education to anyone. Shoreline School District is one of the best in the State. They have inovative programs like The Journey Program which is aimed at 6-8th grade. The school is located 20 miles North of Downtown Seattle in a forested, suburban setting. Third Place Commons at the local Town Center is a big community gathering place and school choir events are held on the stage there. Lake Forest Park is an incorporated city with it's own government and city services including police dept. There is 1 D.A.R.E. officer on the payroll to the district and he has a strong presence at the local schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Forest Park Elementary School
18500 37th Ave N.E., Lake Forest Park, WA  98155
(206) 393-4130
Last modified Lake Forest Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Forest Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top