Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillcrest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Wild, Mrs. Rulloda, Mrs. Faries and Mrs. Evangelisto! Thank you so much for your hard work and caring for the children!!!

Hillcrest Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
They are amazing. My daughters 3rd grade teacher includes cursive writing in there class. I think that is amazing.


Hillcrest Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
Its different for every grade, and thats perfect. My 1st grader has less, then my 3rd grader. Its not to much, its perfect. We do homework about 20-30 minutes per day. I think that is ok.

Hillcrest Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely. Teachers encourage positive things about the class. They have rules in classrooms and are consistent with them. They care about saying please and thank you.

Hillcrest Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
Yes! They talk about behavior, they have signs up in the school "No bullying zone", they encourage children if they have any problems, they explain how to care about friendship, they talk about different cultures.


Hillcrest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
I hear many times from my children how the staff responded to certain situations about them or other children. The teachers and other staff give them a chance to think about a wrong behavior and learn from them. The take the time to talk about it. They also have the "seat of honor" with a topic for every month. For example: Kindness. Teachers will choose one child that did something really kind and award them with a certificate.

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are amazing. The communication is great, the education the children receive is amazing. The office staff is always helpful and friendly. I love how involved the principle Mr. Burleigh is and always greet the children and parents. My daughter learned cursive writing, she learned about technology and coding. Our son had problems at another school. Since we moved to Lake Stevens, no problems at all. The teachers are wonderful and know how to work with children and what they need to be successful. We love this school!

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My oldest is in 5th grade this year and it's been a great 6yrs. From K-5 we have not had one problem with bullying. So thankful for that. All the kids are nice and kind to one another. The staff and principal are fantastic! This year and last year have seen a huge growth that has made it overcrowded but they are doing their best to handle the issues that come along with that. I know everyone has their likes and dislikes but we love Hillcrest!


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
This school is excellent on children's progress, happiness, success, involvement, and the staff members. Great staff members and happy children. Great supportive principal!!

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
This school is staffed by well educated & motivated individuals who will stop at nothing to see children succeed. The principal, teachers, & other multidisciplinary team members constantly praise the children & instill hope & inspiration about succeeding. Communication with parents is beyond expectations & there is even an email, internet, & phone system all in place that automatically connects with parents. The special education program is outstanding & plans are constantly molded to meet each student's needs. The teachers & staff members are the same year after year & the turn over rate doesn't seem to exist. My child has changed so much after attending this school in two short years. He is confident, his academics have improved, he feels successful, & he looks forward to going to school every day. Bullying is NOT tolerated at this school & it is demonstrated in the staff members skills & abilities to prevent it in the first place. We used to be a family that only preached private school, but having our child attend Hillcrest Elementary has changed our views on public school!! HIGHLY recommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillcrest Elementary School
9315 4th St SE, Lake Stevens, WA  98258
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (425) 335-1545
Last modified Hillcrest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top