Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Stevens Middle School

Public | 6-7 | 283 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

I have two children in this school. My 6th grader is very small for her age and the weight of her backpack from all the notepads and supplies they have to carry for classes weighs almost as much as her. It is a shame they don't have lockers. She comes home exhausted and with headaches by the end of the day. The pace in the classrooms is too fast for both my girls and they do not receive proper help when they ask for it. My 6th grader has been up in the middle of the night studying because she is so afraid of falling behind. You either sink or swim at this school. There is also a lot of drama among both the students and teachers. Some of these teachers do not behave in a professional manner at all, do not communicate with parents and even swear and yell in class when they get frustraded which has made uncomfortale learning environments for my children. They are very derogatory and belittle the students. The principal and school counselor are very nice to deal with along with the office staff. I just wish the communication with the principal and the teachers under him was better and he was more aware of what happens in the classrooms. The school does not ask for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

My daughter has attended seventh grade for this school. I'm very impressed in her learning. She got two awards, one was for 3.5 or higher GPA and she passed all the msp. This school really practices for the MSP and did really excellent work. What I'm very disappointed in is the students that attended LSMS this year. People cause too much drama. And, my daughter got into lots of drama herself and lost bunch of her friends. There's many cruel people at lsms. My daughter wanted to quit this school year and go to a different school just because the people there are ridiculous. About 2/5 or 3/5 of people at the school do drugs. Half the school gets bullied or more. The only thing I'm proud of is the learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Well this school isnt my favorite ether. I mean teachers pick favorite. Even when they say they dont. I love the school. Ive had so fun with some of the school actives and feild trips for 7th grade. At the end of the year we got to go to fantasa. I did not spell that right. Any way, though one thing i really di not like was the lunch money cost. 3 bucks a lunch. That almost 93 or 91 bucks a month. Including if the go to band and ur renting a instro ment. Or in track or in any school activeedie. As i said im a 7th grqde stundent. And this school could use some lockers ur backs hurt my the end of the day carring stuff home from school. And sence there is sooo much stundents, techers have to split a class.....


Posted July 12, 2009

Well i definantly have to say that this school definantly wasent my favorite but now that i think back it was pretty nice the teachers were cool!!! and overall i had an awesome experience!!! GO LSMS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2009

I am the ASB president at LSMS for the year 2009. This school is well ran. The teachers are high quality and well the administions and staff. I am proud to wear the colors blue and gold. Learning is extremely fun. We have lots of learning oppurtunites. PROUD TO BE A PIRATE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

This school is very nice and isn't crowded now that they have moved the eighth graders out. The outdoor area is wide open and the teachers make learning very fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I think this school is well organized and seem to have great support staff and unity among the teachers. The school principal is pleasant and handles issues at hand with sophistication and unity. The school nurse is very helpful, educated, responsive to the student's needs. I strongly believe that if you were to give LSMS a word to describe their school, it would be 'TEAMWORK'. They work together for the children and seek the best for the children. If they have issues, it seems they have a network of ways to handle them appropriately so that the student, parent and teacher come to a fair resolution and satisfaction. I now have a 6th and 7th grader attending and I can't wait to see what new adventures that we will experience! Ahoy!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female70%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income55%
Not low income73%
Special education20%
Not special education77%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female77%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income71%
Not low income81%
Special education46%
Not special education84%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income60%
Not low income81%
Special education14%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income63%
Not low income80%
Special education58%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female85%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic76%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income62%
Not low income76%
Special education37%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

33 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Low incomen/a
Not low income100%
Not special education100%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 235%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maureen McCoy

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1031 91 Ave SE
Lake Stevens, WA 98258
Phone: (425) 335-1544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillcrest Academy
Lake Stevens, WA



Cavelero Mid High School
Lake Stevens, WA



North Lake Middle School
Lake Stevens, WA


Parent Partnerhip
Snohomish, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT