Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Idlewild Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 386 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2014

This school is amazing. If you're living in Lakewood and you actually care about your child's education and who they're interacting with, then you want your kids in Idlewild! The pta is very active and when parents are involved, you know it's a good sign. My son is having a great experience here and is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

We have been to other schools in Clover Park S D...nothing comes close to Idlewild. The IB curriculum has been amazing and the fact they teach Spanish has been a Blessing. The staff, teachers and principal make it a fun and excellent school for children. Learning doesn't have to be boring! Thanks to all who have helped my child especially Mrs. Bryant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

Both my children have attended Idlewild and I have been so impressed with the education they have received. I chose Idlewild and waivered my kids in because of the caring teachers who challenge the students with many different ways of teaching. Idlewild is an International Baccalaureate candidate school which has also enhanced my kids learning including teaching a foreign language (Spanish). The parent involvement is great and we are always welcomed to help in the classroom and at family events. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

I have been trying to work with my student's teacher from the beginning of the year and yet every time we develop a plan which is really to keep the teacher more structured it has changed when I check back in with no reason given. The principal is unprofessional and takes repeated e-mails and phone calls to get a response and still does not help resolve issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Best school in tacoma by far. Kids learn spanish and really great personal skills with their program. Basically to develop well rounded little people. Its amazing. I love this place as do my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

My son is in Kindergarten here. We have been pleasantly suprised. We had heard about the school from friends, and enrolled early into the full day program. It's a good thing we did because there was a waiting list. They have an amazing PTA of which I am a first time member, and am seeing how busy they are trying to make the school experience exceptional for the kids. My son is learning a second language in an actual class they go to. There's a "Spanish Teacher"! They have after school activities such as chess club, and band. I am excited for the next 5 years here. I don't know about past experiences from other parents, but I know that I am happy with mine, and have heard nothing but good things. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

This school has been a breath of fresh air. The faculty and administration really understand what it takes to develop life learners. My sons love to learn, and really enjoy school. Having come from another school in the district, I am so happy with the way things are handled here. I am a spouse of a soldier, and I'm glad to see discipline problems handled quickly and effectively. Bullying is definitely squashed here, much to my delight. I can't say enough great things, and I highly recommend this school to anyone looking for the best education for their child. Idlewild continuously challenges my children to push themselves towards their best work. An IB school has a different testing schedule, so don't let the test scores scare you away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

I am continuously disappointed by this school. They do not understand the challenges facing military families or single mothers. They are quick to suspend for ridiculous reasons, like a child being mouthy or obstinate. They are more about bullying the strong willed child into submission rather than guiding and building their character. I have spoken with other military moms about their similar struggles with this school. If I had not promised my son stability, I would transfer schools in a heartbeat. Highly unsatisfactory conflict mediation program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I worked for an after-school program at Idlewild and really enjoyed this school. The teachers and faculty are very caring and the students are an overall great group. Idlewild is just a nice environment and if I had a school-aged child I would love for her to attend school here.


Posted March 9, 2009

This school lacks many things! My child studies from old ripped up books, they have outdated technology, and the teachers are too lenient. If your child likes their teacher, the teacher is not doing their job. They do not assign enough homework or check it. I do not think they do a good job of preparing the children for Jr. High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I went to this school a few years ago, and I thought it was an amazing school. I'm glad I spent my elementary school years at this school! The education was great, the teachers are friendly, the PTA is great, the school spends their money wisely, and the environment is very safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2006

Being that this was our first year in the public school system, I was very skeptical... however, my skepticism was quickly thwarted by the amount of parental involvement and the sincere care that the administration as a whole showed toward, not just the individual learning and test scores of each student, but the student as an individual person. I was humbled this year because I did not think that the public schools would be able to give my children what they needed. Academically, they were not challenged quite as much, however, their teachers seemed to care more about and show greater intesest in how they learned. As a result, they thrived more this year than any other. They were happier and healthier than they had ever been in private school, and as a result, so was I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

My daughter went to Kindergarten here, and the academic program is great. The kids not only learn a lot of new things, but they have fun. My daughter enjoyed going to school and she had a blast at it also. The PTA is extremely involved in the school and support the school every way possible. The teachers/principal are involved in the students' education from the beginning. The school has a great carnival and many activities for the kids and parents to be involved with. It's a great school. It's small, so you don't have to worry about your child being lost in the crowd, and the area is safe. Academically it excels. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

Idlewild School has terrific leadership with the best teachers around. Our test scores are the highest compared to all elementary schools in the district. Our PTA supports the kids and teachers with contributing talent- time and money. No child left behind is a reality at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income59%
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female97%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income74%
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female45%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White41%
Low income40%
Not low income50%
Special education0%
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female77%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income58%
Not low income70%
Special education29%
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students41%
Female52%
Male30%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Low income41%
Not low income41%
Special education15%
Not special education47%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income59%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female90%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income59%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female81%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Low income62%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 60%
Two or more races 14% 6%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 237%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 18N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 35%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jim Pfeiffer

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10806 Idlewild Rd SW
Lakewood, WA 98498
Phone: (253) 583-5290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Oak Grove
Steilacoom, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT