Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mann Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 126 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2013

Okay, so that post from March 29, 2013... I have no words for that. First of all, i'm pretty positive you are NOT a parent, due to your atrocious spelling and grammar. Also, none of what was said made much sense. I am a former student at Mann, I went there 6th-8th grade, and I know PLENTY of students who have turned out just fine. I am about to enter my sophomore year of high school at Lakes. I personally was not completely successful at Mann, but that's just me. The teachers there aren't terrible, most of the bad teachers left the school, and a couple of my favorite also left. While I was going to Mann, I desperately wanted to change schools. But then I came to my senses and decided to stay because it wouldn't matter if I left, i'd be just as unhappy at any other school. That's probably because I just hate school in general and want to be done already. I don't think there is anything wrong with the school at all. It all just depends on your personal standards and your attitude towards certain situations. ~ Former Student


Posted May 30, 2013

Mann Middle School. I was curios about this school because I went there in the 1960's. I am surprised at all the negative reviews. I went there in the 7th and the last part of the 8th grade (we moved away for awhile). The school was 7th thru 9th at that time. What happened to me is that the principle (Lang) and vice principle (Price) decided that I would not be allowed to attend 9th grade there, so what did they do. They kicked me up to Lakes High School to the 10th grade and I wasn't a good student. All my friends were back in the 9th grade when I started high school. What a weird thing to do to a kid. Won't ever forget it!


Posted March 29, 2013

this school is not a good school, when your kid gets in to truble they make sure they have everyone around here what they did they are mean they treat your kids like they are nothing, they don,t care what you have to say just as long as they look good, and they take there teachers and staff side over yours they are not goot to your kids most of the time, i don,t like this school i use to but now they suck, i am taken my son out , also the teachers yell at the kids, they need to learn eather be nice or go somewere else becouse the teachers sucks there,i use to go there a long time ago and it was not as bad as it is now, infact it is worse
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

I don't know anything aboutthe school as yet, my grandaughter just enrolled there after moving to the area and I'd like to keep up with the school news.


Posted February 6, 2013

I am a military child, so I have been to many different schools across the nation. Mann Middle School is not one I would ever recommend. I attended Mann for three years, 6th-8th and am now almost a Junior in high school. A few reasons I would not recommend Mann is because; 1. Poor academics, it was not challenging enough for the majority of the student body. 2. Humiliating discipline; Teachers would yell at the students over small issues (homework, talking, tapping foot) 3. Staff morals.This was the scariest part of my middles school. There was one teacher in general who for two and a half whole years was inappropriate and had double meaning behind what he said to female students. It got to the point that the girls were complaining to the principal and other teachers but i recently found out that he was not fired for his actions even though every girl could tell you what he did. 4. Students, many of the kids who attended (about 70%) did Not want to be there, a few ways they acted out at school was; throwing chairs in the choir room, stink bombs in assemblies, petty pranks, FIGHTS, stealing!, there was a lot of harshness between cliques. 5. VERY CLIQUEY. - X student.


Posted October 28, 2012

I am very impressed with Mann Middle School. My daughter is in the 6th grade and in Advanced Studies classes. She loves going to school everyday and is excited to tell me about her day when she walks through the door when she gets home. I am pleased with the teachers and their desire to teach and have the students learn. I visited the school in mid summer to enroll my daughter, but it happened to be a day that no office staff was there. A gentleman who was in the office with his own teenage son, said I was more than welcome to look around the school or he could give me a tour. I took him up on that offer. He gave me and my children and tour of the school and a history lesson about the school and their efforts and accomplishments. He was so proud of this school. I did not find out until later that he was in fact the Principal himself. He went way above and beyond when he could have just told me to come back "next week". Our tour was about 45 mins long. He is definitely an asset to this school. I actually registered my daughter at Harrison Prep, and she will likely come up on the waitlist for the Spring Semester. We will be staying at Mann.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

I am a military spouse and educator and I highly recommend sending your child to Mann Middle School! Please do not just accept my positive review or the negative reviews found on this site; rather, take a tour of the school and meet the incredible staff and you will understand why I placed my son at Mann for 3 years vs Harrison Prep or a local private school! Don't be fooled by the old exterior as the inside is full of high energy, diversity, but most importantly, care and concern for all the children that this school serves. Every child and family member is treated with great dignity and expectations for academic achievement and good citizenship/behavior are key to this schools success! I know what "right" looks like and this school is "right" on target to helping each child-no matter the circumstance-succeed to their best ability! A special message to our military families-Mann's principal and staff have great understanding of our lifestyle and the dynamics/complexity with which deployments have affected our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

My Son has gone to Mann middle for the two years now. We chose Mann mainly because of it's wonderful Band Program. My son has also enjoyed the Highly Capable program. We have been overall pleased with his lot of teachers, and we really like Mr. Banner the principal. He is quite a presence in that school and really cares for those students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

All of my friends went to Woodbrook, and we enjoyed the school had great teachers. all of my kids went to college and they learned alot from woodbrrok
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

We miss Mann so much. I have never seen a principal so involved and ran a tight ship! The teachers are wonderful! I wish more parents got involved with the school though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

The principal keeps you posted on daily and weekly events. He is really consistent and keeps the students on task. The teachers are their to help the students and able to assist them in their areas of weakness. Great job Mr. Banner and teachers and faculty at Mann Middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

The teachers are good but some of them are just not to jolly and make it hard for me to understand everything they say when they don't listen to what I even say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

very good school.i am glad to have my child here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I Love this school. i can care less about what you stupid parents think. I was in the 7th grade last year, and i was challenged. This is a school for kids that like to be challenged. I had a hard time bringing up my grades but i did it. It is true that SOME teachers don't care but there are teachers that really care like Miss St. Clair. She is a great teacher. And Mr. Hornbeck. These are great teachers, they interact with the students. They LOVE to hang with the students and the students love to hang with them. Sure the disipline isn't all that good but that is the student's choice to get in trouble. The Principal and Vice Principal at this school now get a long great. I have to say this is the best school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2008

mann middle school is a very help ful and a excellent place to learn and have fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

This school is not a good school for special needs kids. It also does not have a gifted program, which I personally was dissapointed in. Mann may have a good variety of sports for kids but academics are not up to par. Teachers, a lot of the time, don't seem to really care and the sports-academic connection (good grades-playing time) isn't follwed through with. Overall, Mann may be the second best middle school in the district, but that isn't saying much.


Posted June 9, 2007

i love this school!!!!! im in sixth grade and i go there, it has an excellent afterschool activities and good teachers!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2007

This school is the worst my child has every been to . He is constantly bullied and the discipline is not good. The teachers have no time for children with special needs, they seem to be constantly overlooked. The principal and the teachers do not seem to communicate well at all. Neither do they listen to parents and help with there concerns. I am moving my child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

This is by far the worst school our child had to go to. Thank god she will be leaving soon. The staff is rude and nobody seems to care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

We recently moved here from another school district. I have to say I am frustrated with the poor quality of teachers at this school. The staff is rude, uncaring. Children are treated disrespectful. I have been to this school a number of times in reference to concerns with my child. I have been treated as if I am 'bothering them'. I can only imagine how each child must feel dealing with such adults on a day to day basis. Instead of making each child's education a wonderful experience they make the process so bad that children don't want to go to school. A child who usually had all A's and maybe a B every once in awhile, now receiving C's and D's. something is wrong. This is the most frustrating school I have every had to work with/against for my daughters' best educational interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female40%
Male48%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income38%
Not low income53%
Special education41%
Not special education45%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female70%
Male57%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income60%
Not low income68%
Special education72%
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female58%
Male64%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income49%
Not low income78%
Special education28%
Not special education67%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female65%
Male65%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income59%
Not low income75%
Special education50%
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students60%
Female72%
Male50%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income57%
Not low income64%
Special education39%
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female39%
Male49%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander30%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income34%
Not low income62%
Special education28%
Not special education48%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female53%
Male52%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income44%
Not low income65%
Special education42%
Not special education54%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students52%
Female44%
Male58%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income41%
Not low income70%
Special education39%
Not special education55%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
77%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Low income92%
Not low income100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 60%
Hispanic 26% 20%
Black 14% 5%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 250%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 16N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 77%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11509 Holden Rd SW
Lakewood, WA 98498
Phone: (253) 583-5440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Firwood
Steilacoom, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT