Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tyee Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2013

My child previously attended this school. We have since moved to another school district and my child attends a school with significantly higher MSP test scores. If you were to compare the two schools solely based on this data you would think I'd be happy- I'm not. My child received a far superior education at Tyee Park Elementary. The differentiated instruction was exceptional and my child received a well-rounded education to include reading, writing, math, science, social studies, spelling, and music. If I had the choice I would re-enroll my child at Tyee Park in a heartbeat! The leadership of the new principal is exceptional and the teacher my child has was outstanding! I agree with the previous poster that the low test scores this school has is strongly correlated with the number of students they have who speak English as a second language. I would not use MSP data as a measure of whether or not this is school would provide your child with a quality education. I assure you it does! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

My kids have attanded for the last 4 years. They love learning because of their teachers and the small community feel. There seems to be a real emphasis on treating others with respect. I asked the kids about bullying and they haven't witnessed any. My kids ride the bus everyday and they feel safe. Top notch music program and nutrition instruction. Academics seem strong, I think the scores are depressed from high number of students where English is not the language spoken at home. My kids are happy here and that is very important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

I have two children at Tyee Park (K and 3rd). Love their teachers and experience. Administration is on top of things and is always seeking for improvement. Has a nice small student population so everyone gets plenty of attention. Great music teacher is great bonus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

When we moved here people suggested that we have our children go to a different school. I am so glad we gave Tyee Park a chance. Low student-teacher ratios, teachers who really care and I have found the student body to be full of humble, kind kids - disadvantaged and diverse but not dangerous. So far, my kids have excelled in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

I feel that Tyee Park truly cares about it's students. My daughters teachers have often gone the extra mile to help her learn. I am very impressed with the staff and my daughter has learned so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

I have a Child in Kindergarten in Ms. B and one in Mrs. D. and my children love thema dn are learning so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My child has attended the school for over two school years. We are extremely dissatisfied with the school. We have had huge issues with the behavior of other children in the school. I feel there is a lack of discipline and follow-up when children act out. I feel all of this is a distraction in the classroom and to the learning environment. I don't feel that my child has been challenged academically. Topics that she learned in the first grade were sent home as homework in the second grade. I fear my child will fall behind other kids her age in the country if we don't leave the school and my child has expressed a desire to leave the school as well. The behavior of other kids and the fear she has of some has changed her love of going to school and learning, for that reason we will be moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

I loved tyee Park Elementary when I went there! Now my kids go there, and now they love it as well! This is one good school, you should send your kids there if you have a chance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

Super school! The Staff and teachers genually care about the kids and families! The staff is only part of the equation, parents need to be involved more with their child's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
6%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students26%
Female21%
Male32%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White29%
Low income20%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education30%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female46%
Male32%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Low income40%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education44%
Limited English10%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students32%
Female38%
Male28%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander30%
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income30%
Not low incomen/a
Special education25%
Not special education34%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female56%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income43%
Not low incomen/a
Special education42%
Not special education49%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students29%
Female31%
Male26%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Low income26%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education31%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students40%
Female42%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income39%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education45%
Limited English15%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female56%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income50%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students24%
Female28%
Male21%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income23%
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education27%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 20%
White 18% 60%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 11% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 131%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 286%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tina Williams

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11920 Seminole Rd SW
Lakewood, WA 98499
Phone: (253) 583-5380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT