Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas More Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 244 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lynnwood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

St. Thomas More Parish School was a fantastic school for our children. The combination of rigorous classroom work, challenging curriculum and faith based teaching could not have been better. The staff is truly wonderful--such caring individuals and involved in all aspects of student well being. There is a MSL (multi sensory learning) teacher right on campus with classes for students that need help with dyslexia issue too. We feel we really had the best education possible for our kids, in our own parish and the community there is one that cannot be beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

St. Thomas More Parish School was a wonderful school for my children and now my grandchildren attend. The program they offered for students with dyslexia was outstanding. My children gained the skills to prepare them for high school, college and the workforce. Looking forward to my grandchildren having the same experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

The STMS curriculum is outstanding, and the entire staff is dedicated to the mission of educating your child in a faith based environment. We have two children in the school and are grateful every day for the quality of education they receive. The discipline policy is firm and fair and is enforced by the staff and we have found in our experience that Mrs Fewel is a kind and involved leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

As a former student, I can't speak highly enough about STM. Today, in my college class, groups of students stood up and gave a powerpoint presentation. I was appalled by the ineptitude of my 20something year old classmates. They were stammering, repeating themselves, murmuring, saying "um" and "like", turning red, and generally doing a horrible job. I am confident in my public speaking abilities and know that I am head and shoulders above my peers. I can stand in front of a room and give a confident, powerful, and intelligent presentation because I was taught to do so at age 5. STM's speech program starts Kindergartners with a simple poem that they recite in front of a group. This grows into longer poems, book excerpts, and expository and oratory speeches as the student gets older. Though I remember being a terrified 5 year old mumbling my poem to the class, I would like to thank STM for impacting my life long after I left. Public speaking is such a basic, yet vital and often neglected skill. STM provided me with valuable life skills that I used in high school, am using in college, and will use in my professional career. I would not be where I am today without STM.


Posted October 2, 2012

St. Thomas More has been a wonderful experience for both my children and myself. The school curriculum is rigorous, and the bar is set very high for excellence, which is exactly what I would expect for a Private School. STM offers several extra-curricular activities for children to participate in, including choir, band, drama, speech and track. The Principal and staff are very friendly and dedicated to providing a safe and positive experience for all students. I, also, have experienced some bullying situations with my children and they were immediately addressed by the staff. It is unfortunate that the earlier reviewer had a bad experience with his/her child, but mine has been very positive. I have become great friends with other parents, which was not my experience with my older child who attended public school. The famiies are welcoming and friendly, and you feel like you are part of a warm, tight-knit community. I highly recommend St. Thomas More School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

I cannot say enough about St. Thomas More. We have been attending St. Thomas More for 5 years and absolutely love it. The staff is amazing and the parent support is wonderful. All the kids that I have encountered are polite, respectful and always willing to lend a hand. I like that it is a smaller school as it feels like family. They have a strong academic program, and there speech program is top notch. I have to disagree with the comment about bully not being addressed. My son was involved with an issue this year and it was immediately addressed by the teacher, principle, vise principle and the counselor. I was very happy with the out come and how the issue was resolved. No school is perfect but STM is close. My favorite part about STM is that starting in kindergarten the children are put in "Faith Families". The 8th grader is the head of the family. You stay with your same family your entire time at the school. The kids get to really bond with their families as they attend mass together and do activities together throughout the year. I just loved to see the older kids taking care of the younger ones. We are very happy with ST. Thomas More.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

Not a good experience for our child at the school. The other parents comments regarding the cliques is an understatement. If your child did not start in the Kindergarten program they have a good chance of being ostracized and bullied. The behaviors that occur in the parking lot prior to school opening are abhorrent. I witnessed on several occasions boys grabbing girls in their private areas, boys placing smaller classmates in choke holds and various other types of bullying, all in clear view of parents and school staff. The school 's discipline policies are lax. If your child is bulled, they will not protect your child. The after school program mixes Jr High students with grade school students. On several occasions the recreation consisted of dodge ball, 7th and 8th graders targeting kindergarten and 1st grade students, all in clear view of the staff. The parental involvement is great, lots of dedicated people. Unfortunately this can't offset the lack of attention by the staff and unwillingness to address hostile, bullying behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

Pretty strong academically. Nice teachers, great parental involvement. This school does a excellent job with grammar and speech but seems to be lacking in the math department. The biggest downfall with this school is because they only have one class per grade level cliques form. If your child enters in pre k or k it is great but for children integrating from other schools it is awful. Plus the middle schoolers suffer from lack of socialization making them somewhat inept for integration into a large high school. The bright side is that they aren't subjected to the normal peer pressures to the extent their peers in larger schools are. A bright side about this school is it is a clean, secure facility. The downfall are the cliques. It really depends on your childs needs. This is not a good fit for everyone particularly shy children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

Consistently high test scores on WASL and Iowa. Great teachers. High parent involvement. Excellent teacher to parent communication. No one slips through the cracks here. Good technology(Smartboards in every classroom). Excellent writing and speech program. Check website for cool after-school activities. Perfect school for average to very bright kids. Maybe not the best for the super bright, but we kept ours enrolled because of the wonderful, caring community. Science was the weakest area, but is improving with much more 'hands-on' instruction and learning. The [kindergarten] teacher is wonderful and really listens to the kids, teaching and nurturing the whole child. The kids seem to be well prepared academically and have developed the self confidence to embrace the, admittedly, more rigorous first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

St Thomas More School strives for high academic standards. The kindergarten program is weak with 26 students and a mixed half day schedule for 3 days/week. Students leave with knowledge they would have had in quality preschool programs. The first grade teacher advances the students quickly and the students are able to catch up to other schools. The teacher is very strict and rigid. Approximately 1/3 of the students in her class get referrals for 'language processing differences'. The second grade classroom has had several teachers in the last three years. Third and fourth grade are top notch. Fifth - Eighth grades do well academically but suffer socially from lack of interaction, as there is only 1 class per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 64%
Asian 21% N/A
Two or more races 16% N/A
Hispanic 5% 16%
Black 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone Program
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Teresa Fewel, Principal
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone Program
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • families carpool
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • City Lynnwood
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • CYO sports
Girls sports
  • CYO sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Thomas More has a strong public speaking curriculum and school wide speech tournament each year.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6511 176th St SW
Lynnwood, WA 98037
Phone: (425) 743-4242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT