Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Soundview School

Private | PK-8 | 129 students

Soundview School is dedicated to educating future citizens and leaders.

 
 

Living in Lynnwood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $248,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

Our child has been enrolled at Soundview for four years, and LOVES going to school each day. Each year our experience with the school has been terrific. Since the change in administration 12 months ago, the school has become even better. It is evident that the teachers are all working together even more closely, with learning integrated across the curriculum. For example, when a 2nd grade class was doing a social studies unit on housing around the world, they also created a climate-specific dwelling in art, studied the geometry & engineering of an igloo in math, learn household vocabulary in Spanish, and learned a song about how everyone needs a home in music.. We are delighted that the person who was the interim head of school in 2013 has become the permanent head of school: he is fantastic, and he has the enthusiastic support of teachers and parents.. As a university professor, I can't imagine a better K-8 foundation for learning than what Soundview provides through its values-based International Baccalaureate program, excellent and rigorous approach to math and science, and the integration of visual and performing arts at every level of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

We have been at Soundview for 4 years. My children love school. The teachers are amazing both in terms of teaching quality and commitment. The curriculum is challenging, particularly in math and science. Music and art are an integral part of the curriculum just like the old days! The kids at Soundview are enthusiastic, intellectually curious and well, happy. Soundview is building leaders who will have the confidence and academic preparation to tackle their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

The school has been undergoing a lot of change lately. To be honest, our family feels that changing the head of school was the right move at the right time for the growth of the school. The former head of school was full of great ideas, but didn t have the skills to move out of the entrepreneurial, seat-of-the-pants approach to a more structured, well-thought-out approach. The interim head of school has the training necessary and the determination to help Soundview continue to grow as a school. He also appears to have a highly supportive staff helping him in this transition. In spite of the mid-year head change, the school has not changed its mission. It is still offering a well-rounded education with a fantastic teaching staff and administrators who care. From what I ve heard, reenrollment is reaching record levels, which shows that most families are putting faith in the school over the next year as it transitions. We are thrilled to have our children at the school and look forward to seeing them graduate from Soundview one day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

we are currently in the enrollment process with soundview. yesterday my Daughter attended a day at Clearwater. Never before have I heard her so excited and passonaite about school. she is egarly awaiting there decsion on weather or not she will be accecpted. we are keeping our fingers crossed. I would recomind this school to any parent who wants a better education for there child. she learned more in 1 day then she has in months at public school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Head and founder of school let go by school board for poor enrollment numbers over last one year (really???) and the chairman of the board who has no affiliation with the school plus has never been seen around the school suddenly appears out of nowhere and is making all the decisions. Parents like me and most others I have talked to are very displeased and are not re-enrolling. Teachers are very poorly qualified, one of the first grade aid is now the class teacher. Complete lack of direction in the new management. Beware of elementary school head. Interim head is LEARNING how to run the school. Do you really want to send your child to a school where the teachers and administration themselves are in the learning mode? Guess if I want to spend the money, I would like some experienced teachers and not some newbies. I am really surprised why their aren't more reviews depicting the real picture, I am just writing to help out, if I would have seen something like this posted, I would have not let my child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

Change in management in middle of year 2013 - head director, founder let go by board of directors. Brand new math teacher in 2012-13 year and only lectures in classroom - does not know how to do differentiated teaching even though the classroom is very small. Math is taught sometimes by this teacher and at other times by the science teacher. Math is a weak link in this school.


Posted October 11, 2012

My daughter was enrolled in an independent school in Seattle when we decided to relocate to Lynnwood. Our school's admissions director turned me onto Soundview School, which I had never heard of. She recommended it as her premier choice for an independent school in Snohomish County. Five years later, not only my daughter, but her three younger siblings are all happy Soundview students. It is a young school compared to its Seattle-based counterparts, but that is precisely what makes it such an exciting community to be a part of. The IB curriculum is challenging and innovative and my kids (aged 3 to 9) are all highly engaged. It's so nice to pick my kids up from school and consistently hear that they had a great day and love being there. Kids are by far the best critics. Not only is Soundview a fit for my kids, but it is an equal fit for my husband and I. It was of primary importance for us to find a school that we felt comfortable in, and a staff and parent base that were friendly and shared our common goals. We have found all of this in Soundview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

I am in my 17th year of teaching, and my second year at Soundview, and I can say that this school is unlike any of the other schools in which I have had the good fortune to teach. Soundview's curricular focus of encouraging student inquiry and the practical application of knowledge makes for an exciting learning, and teaching, environment. After learning the IB framework, I wouldn't want to teach anywhere else. And I love my clever, inquisitive, risk-taking students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2012

I've had a great time teaching students at Soundview and am looking forward to sending my daughter to Soundview in the near future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2012

I am honored to work with such dedicated, passionate and talented teachers. The teachers at Soundview consistently come up with unique and creative ways to keep students involved and engaged in their education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2012

The teachers at Soundview are some of the hardest working I've ever worked with. We collaborate and share ideas every day to enrich the educational experience of our students. I am amazed at what I see and hear around me every day!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2012

Beware: The head of this school is DISHONEST. With dishonest leadership, one can only imagine how easily important facets of a school can fall by the wayside. The head of school has never been an educator, nor does she have a degree in education. There is a reason this school has not been accredited as a WA state Independent school and is a World IB Candidate school, yet has not been approved as an official IB school. The school claims to employ only certificated teachers, but look closely and you'll find the head of school will overlook even that small detail when hiring on a small budget. The school is run like a business, one that is a sinking ship. A few loyal parents and some wonderful teachers are the only things keeping this school afloat. The school aims to be a 21st century school, buying up new technology that doesn't end up being used by students, because there is no plan for use of that technology. The leadership at the school concerns itself with constantly trying new things without ever mastering anything. Teachers are underpaid (compared to other local private & public schools) and under appreciated. Turnover is high at this school - both for teachers and students.


Posted May 23, 2011

I am amazed and very pleased to witness my child blossoming in the IB environment at Soundview. The thing I notice the most is that my child just loves to go to school. Even on days he is sick, he still don't want to miss his classes. What ever that IB program is, it is certainly very good at maximizing efficiency in learning during regular class time. My child seems to find learning in the IB environment very engaging and rewarding. It certainly helps us parents to not have to spend much time at home to supplement the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Soundview School is an excellent school. The IB program helps students to develop life long skills as well as deeper meaning of the subject matters. The IB program is an inquiry driven curriculum. It is amazing to see their wonder wall with 8 questions such as form, function, causation, connection, perspectives, responsibility, refection etc. The student generated questions are so insightful. Soundsview's arts program is phenomenal. All the kids are taking visual art, music and Spanish. The arts are integrated with their IB unit themes. The class size is small so each student receives very good care from the teacher. The school emphasizes the innovation, creativity, hands on projects through critical thinking framework. Soundview Middle School is an ultimate middle school for intelligent and creative students. Soundview School uses Singapore math program with hands on projects. The science lab is a real lab and the students have 5-6 periods a week. They also are taught engineering and computer programming. SoThis is the only school implementing the IB program for K-8. My kids love the school! Excellent jazz and concert band! Every kid from 5-8th graders is in band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

The fact that my daughter's school has so many reviews posted shows that families, teachers, etc, truly care about this extraordinary school and its dynamic curriculum and faculty. By the way, Soundview charges standard fees that ALL private schools charge and are indeed listed on the tuition form.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

Chalk it up to disgruntled employees, I like that, it's always easier to point the finger and blame than take a good comprehensive look at the practices and policies of a questionable administration. Nine employees gone last year, one on the radar for this year...and it's only February...just keep your eyes on the faculty page and see how the bios change. Either they are hiring poor teachers and have bad hiring practices or they are hiring good teachers and have issues with ... what? In either case, this page is suppose to help those looking at the school be informed. Disgruntled employees or not, facts speak for themselves.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2011

We've been at this school since kindergarten through middle school. Soundview is about a next generation education model, not yesterday's three R's by rote, and not today's teach to the test model. We've stuck with this school because it is always moving forward and improving. Today it has a clear vision and mission to nurture and encourage tomorrow's thinkers and leaders. The community (kids, parents, teachers and staff) is a great group of people to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Soundview has so many good things and many hard working teachers. But the administration is wacky. There seems to be no solid long term vision. Everything is in flux most of the time. The worse part is the constant change in teaching staff. At times teachers seem to be chosen at the very last minute, sometimes with very little experience. The Head of School seems to make all decisions without any educational expertise or input. I would agree with the review stating that the school was run too much like a business. Also, BEWARE a number of hidden costs not listed on the tuition sheet: nonrefundable deposits that are over $1000, fees for not signing enrollments, high fees for any "clubs" or after school activities and hundreds of extra dollars for school supplies, art supplies, required instrument rentals for band, field trips, other trips - the list goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

Soundview is a excellent place for kids to learn to be productive citizens of tomorrow. The focus is on learning, to be thinkers and leaders in a complex, competitive global environment. The curriculum is well rounded, (great music program, too), the teachers are of high caliber and the board and principal are totally devoted to the advancement and growth of the students. I am exteremely pleased with the way the school is providing value, and strongly recommend the school to any parent looking to enroll their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

This is a great school as we have been there many year and plan to finish through the 8th grade. Lots of individual attention for each and every child. Not sure what the previous post was speaking about as I can only believe by the way it was written that it was written by a disgruntled former employee. I do know that the administration is careful in its selection of teachers and staff and helps them grow and develop.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 7%
Two or more races 14% 6%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Chris Watson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (425) 640-9416

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Bus for field trips
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Model UN
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Soundview School is a private independent school committed to the International Baccalaureate (IB) Programme. The IB curriculum promotes an integration of all subject areas, including the arts and foreign language. As stated in the IB mission, the aim is to “develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people.”
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6515 196th St SW
Lynnwood, WA 98036
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 778-8572

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT