Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
129 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Soundview School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
Spent many years there and they did a fantastic job getting my child ready for high school. Great work! Thank you

Soundview School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
While there are specific measures for the IB program, the school and the teachers in particular are given creative room to address each individual class as it comes through. Because of this, I feel they are able to (and do) adapt to the nuances of the classes they teach. It also allows them to seek out the passion of the students. The teachers are also very willing to work with students and parents who may need a little extra communication or guidance through difficult challenges.


Soundview School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
In our experiences thus far, homework has been limited and has always had a purpose. It seems to be mindfully given, and I hope that continues as our children move through the grades.

Soundview School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
I think anyone who has witnessed the middle years math knows that students come out the other side with an appreciation for how hard work and persistence pays off. That's not the only area you see the benefits, though. From after school activities (you should see those students work on their drama performances or their programming skills) to classroom projects, these kids are encouraged to persevere and then celebrate their successes at the end.

Soundview School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to see the larger world and their place in it. While leadership is a key component to their learning, it's taught as leadership and not bullying. Students learn to appreciate those around them while navigating difficult transitions throughout childhood and adolescence.


Soundview School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to see things from other perspectives. This is modeled by the interactions of older students with younger as well as faculty and administration with parents and each other.

Soundview School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Without a doubt, I feel my children learn to be honest and speak with integrity. I also feel that they learn respect for the opinions their peers hold even if they don't match up with their own.

Soundview School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
We have 2 children at Soundview and feel it is a very safe environment. They both thrive at the school and look forward to school each day. We trust each and every staff member to deliver the education that will help mold them into leaders of their community.


Soundview School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
The teaching methods are dated and lack creativity. It seems they use the same curriculum year after year.

Soundview School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
I have have picked my child up on countless occasions and had a teacher tell me "your child didn't want to do *insert activity here* today so they just went and did this other thing." When I discussed what the teacher tried to do with my child to encourage them to try the activity it turns out they didn't even try.

Nearby schools

Soundview School
6515 196th St SW, Lynnwood, WA  98036
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (425) 778-8572
Last modified Soundview School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top