Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Valley Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a teacher
Students receive character education throughout the year. Traits such as honesty, integrity, fairness and kindness are taught and students have opportunities to demonstrate their understanding through performance-based exercises. There's also Positive Behavior Intervention Supports (PBIS) for all students. They are taught school-wide expectations. Those expectations are reinforced by all adults in a positive and meaningful way. These two supports (character education and PBIS) have made a warm, caring, and culturally sensitive environment for students.

Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
Our first born began attending Cedar Valley community school attending Kindergarten in 2014 2015 school year. He did not speak very well English by then. He could recognize some of the letters of the alphabet and the numbers. He could not write or read anything in English. The work of the amazing teachers and stuff in the school he is writing and skiped 1 level at the first testing and 2 levels at the second. He is now fully prepared for first grade. Not to mention he goes with smile every day to school. I see a really bright light in his future because of the hard work teachers and stuff do to set up all those kids for a excellent start in life.


Cedar Valley Community School 4

Posted March 30, 2015
- a teacher
Cedar Valley is a wonderful school with dedicated teachers and staff who really care about their students. Our teachers and staff are highly qualified and continue to look for ways to improve and enhance their practice. Our students represent our World community with many languages spoken. That diversity is honored every day in many different ways. It is a pleasure to be part of the Cedar Valley family.

Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a teacher
Cedar Valley Community School is a great school with dedicated staff that truly care about the children we serve. We have been a school do distinction for two years in a row. We work hard to keep up on current practices and technology.

Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a teacher
I, like most of my colleagues, CHOOSE to teach at Cedar Valley because we love what we do and we love the students we serve. I've taught at other schools in the Edmonds School District as well as other Districts in Washington and out of state. Most of those schools were great schools, but none compare to Cedar Valley in terms of teacher commitment and quality of instruction. Cedar Valley is truly my favorite school and it is a special place for children to learn and grow.


Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a teacher
The staff commitment to implementing a positive environment for students is evident. Students love school wide Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports. They have the opportunity to earn tokens/rewards for appropriate behavior in an engaging educational atmosphere.

Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a teacher
We are proud to announce that Cedar Valley Community School was recognized for the SECOND year in a row, as a School of Distinction. This award honors schools who have shown outstanding improvement in student achievement over 5 years in reading and math. Schools designated with this honor represent the top 5% of improvement of ALL schools in Washington State. Way-to-go Cedar Valley! The staff at Cedar Valley welcomes anyone to come and see what we are doing for kids!

Cedar Valley Community School 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a teacher
Cedar Valley is an excellent school with high expectations for students and staff. Snow Leopards are *Respectful *Responsible *Safe *Kind


Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a teacher
Cedar Valley is a warm and inviting school. It is a wonderful place to teach and learn. We work hard to align our curriculum to the Common Core State Standards which help prepare our students for college and career readiness. We have high expectations for students and staff alike, and character education is integrated into our daily activities. We are working to prepare our students to become contributing members of society!

Cedar Valley Community School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
I attended Cedar Valley Community School for 3 years. From 5th grade to 8th grade. All the staff are very caring and want nothing but a good education for each and every one of the students. I am now a Senior at Lynnwood High School and I still go visit C.V.. The school has always provided after school programs to help students with class projects. They really capture the kids hearts, I know this because they captured mine. (: --Amber Tolbert

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cedar Valley Community School
19200 56th Ave West, Lynnwood, WA  98036
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (425) 431-7390
Last modified Cedar Valley Community School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top