Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lynndale Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 432 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

Lynndale is a great school that feels like a close little community. The teachers and principal are excellent, and the office manager is a real gem & does an amazing job communicating to parents and keeping everyone informed about everything. Parents are made to feel welcome & encouraged to be involved in their child's classroom & activities. We could not be happier here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Lynndale elementary is a great school. My son goes there and we both love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We have really enjoyed Lynndale. My kids love their teachers and our Office Manager is wonderful. We have found that the teachers are very in tuned to the needs of the children. Our principal just started with the school last year and has already made some great changes to enhance their programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

I love this school. The staff is really friendly. I have 3 kids in this school my oldest has been a student for the last 5 years. I will be moving in the summer and we are really sad to have to move the kids to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

Very good at keeping my child engaged and challenged. She went for about a month then we had to move, but she absolutely loved it. She is very advanced and was given that special attention (others schools typically let children go with the pace of the classroom.) Everyone is super friendly and attentive. Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

I like the friendly teachers,staff and Mr.Z a whole lot! Really wish the school was more modern though. I was surprised to read that 40% of the school children are listed in a "poverty" status. WOW! I see lots of parents picking up their kids in very nice cars. I am a bit concerned with the schools overall annual report card too. Seems the passing levels hover just above 65-70% (hope im reading the report card correct). Id like to see ALOT more supervision during the recess periods as there have been some minor issues with kids playing nicely but im sure every playground has issues. Overall its a very nice school with caring teachers but id like to see the schools report card get higher grades. And to all the parents, be involed with your kids education and dont leave it up to teachers to be the only ones teaching your kids. And for the parent who wrote a negative comment and their child possibly having ADD, maybe you should listen to the teacher who is EXPERIENCED and is with your child all day. Im only guessing that your child was repeatedly being disruptive in class and i really hope the best for your child. If i could, id take your child clothes shopping for the entire year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

Well established after school programs. There is math champs, which the kids always win top prizes, extra hw help, boeing science, pe club, running, ect. The latest principal is really nice and helpful. The kids who are at this school after I left a couple of years ago seem much more rough. I used to love this school but now that I see my siblings at it, I am dissapointed the way the kids act and talk to each other. I had some amazing teachers and i had some okay. The school does play favorites, but every school has politics. Parents need to be involved and show up to school events. When the stafff see that you care about your kids education, they feel like your family is part of the Lynndale family now. Also, this school can provide help for the struggling family. I will be honest, but this is not a well off school with 40% being low income, but still this is the best education you can receive in the area. Learn to take advantage the education given to you. This school will answer most parents needs.


Posted November 16, 2010

One needs not look beyond the rundown exterior of this school. Because what you see, is what you get... This school definitely plays favoriteswith both parents and kids. If your not part of the favorites club, then you can forget your child getting a decent education. My concerns regularly go ignored, even though my son has an IEP. The school nurse has bombarded me with requests to take my son to get medication for ADHD. Even though his doctors say that he does NOT have ADHD and does NOT require medication. My son comes home from school everyday with stories about being bullied by other kids at recess. He is the one who gets in trouble. The recess monitors seem to pick and choose which children they will protect. One recess monitor on several occasions has commented to him on how he needs to tell his mommy to buy him clothes that fit, because the sleeves on his sweatshirt were too long according to her. Not all of us can afford brand new clothes several times a year for our kids. Some of us have to do with hand me downs. Why should any child be singled out by an adult because his family is poor. My son now hides his coats in his backpack rather than wear them to recess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

We had our son in a private school for preschool and kindergarten, and he is now in Lynndale for First Grade. We absolutely love the school, the teachers, the principal, the families. We are so relieved that we feel good about sending him to public school. He is thriving at Lynndale. Marjie Jackson, parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

My daughter started Lynndale as a Kindergartner and is now in 1st grade. She absolutely loves her teachers, her friends, the recess helpers and Mr. Z, the principal. Another reviewer said that the school looks a bit rundown and I will agree with that. But like they mentioned, it has no impact on the quality of care and education that the kids receive. A wonderful school and a very nurturing and safe environment for kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

we sent our daughter part way through the year in 2004 - she was in grade 3. She LOVED the classroom and teacher. We were very impressed overall with the school and in particular with the principal. The school looks old and a bit rundown, but it had no impact on anything - a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

My kids have all went to this school and i have not one complaint about the school. The teachers are awesome and they encourage alot of parent involvement, and they are willing to work with you to get your student going down the right path.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female63%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income59%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English46%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female75%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income65%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female54%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income43%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female92%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income83%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female92%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income87%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female56%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income48%
Not low income68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income58%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female67%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income39%
Not low income71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female57%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income56%
Not low income50%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female67%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Low income50%
Not low income63%
Special education10%
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 60%
Hispanic 24% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 7%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 115%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 252%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Chris Fulford
Fax number
  • (425) 670-7363

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7200 191st Place SW
Lynnwood, WA 98036
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 670-7365

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Soundview School
Lynnwood, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT