Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Wilderness Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

This school is awful. This report shows they have 983 kids they have 1100 They have 15 portables just to fit all of the kids. The admin is ridiculous there are hugeI issues with bullying that don't get addressed or get blamed on one person all the time. The teachers are not allowed to deal with any issues In their rooms so they send kids to a room called the solution room. Where there is a helper. No learning happens, kids just fall behind. I homeschooled my kids when they were supposed to go to here. After only 3 months of Nonsense. 1 principal can not properly deal with 1100 .I have met many people who feel the same. Last school year when my child was supposed to be in 5th grade there I asked for a transfer to shadowlake which is a few miles down the road but a great school. Mark Koch the head honcho in the district office refused the transfer all for BS reasons. Taking one kid from 1100 and putting them at a school with 950 wouldnt help? Weve lived in MV for 16 years BOO TSD you are falling apart. Now they want to pass a huge bond that will add $450 a year for 20 years on our property taxes to fix things they should have been working on all along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

I absolutely loved LWES. I personally attended the school K-5th grade and don't regret anything. I knew that all my teachers cared and I still see them around the community and I know that they still care about my success. The administration was very involved and the programs before and after school were great. They addressed the problem of bullying very early in our education and I personally witnessed close to no situations of a fellow student being bullied, and those values were carried with us throughout the rest of our schooling. I had so many inspirational teachers who really taught me to love learning and try my best. The school librarian from when I was eight still remembers my name and never fails to say hello when we run into each other around town. While the school is very old and outdated they do not have the money to implement changes, many measures have been initiated into our local elections but have been continually turned down. I'll always be a Lake Wilderness Wild Cat.


Posted May 4, 2013

This school is falling apart. The policies in place are insane-- after school & every school event they force you to bring these stupid little cards with your name and your child's name on them before they release the students. Same math worksheets 2 years in a row. Serious theft problems in the school. Serious bullying issues. We've considered calling the police to intervene in the brutality my daughter faces because the school is so ineffectual. We're moving to escape this terrible school. We've lived in our home for 9 years. Horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2011

Both my children are attending LWES and I am very happy with the school's curriculum and the learning environment. Even with such a large number of students, the school has managed to keep order and ensure the student's safety during drop off and pick up. My kids love their school and teachers and they actually wake up excited to go to school every morning. A big thank you to all the teachers and staff for your hard work and dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

My son transferred here from an adjoining district, and what a difference it has been! He tested so far behind the other kids, but after getting so much one-on-one attention, he is up to speed and doing wonderfully! I love his teacher, I can tell how dedicated she is! The bus system has worked wonderfully, and I like that I can do so much online (pay his lunch tab, see what his class is doing, etc). The school has kept us involved and I am highly satisfied. The only things I worry about are the size of that place, the amount of students, and the age of the school building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

We have three children at LWES and have been thrilled with the level of caring and concern shown to each of them. Transferring here, all three were immediately behind district standards. Teachers, the Dean of Students, the Principal, everyone has been involved to assist us and our kids with getting caught-up. LWES has over 1,000 children this year. I don't know how the teachers and staff manage it but our kids are treated as individuals, protected, made to feel special, always on the right bus (from day-one), and they love this school. I only left a star missing bc it is so big and there are obvious downsides to a school of this size from a parent's point of view i.e. forget having a seat any any school function, Celebration of Learning is a cramped and sweaty event, Book Fairs have lines like the DMV, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

Our child has been attending LWES for 4-plus years now and overall has had, what I could call a sub-satisfactory experience. The staff seems to be dedicated and I know they care. Our main concern is the inconsistency in the quality of teaching. Two of the four years we have had quality teachers who got the best out of our child, and the other two years it seemed that their was very little academic advancement. We have been involved in the WRAP program for 2 of the four years and unfortunately we have seen little improvement. I don't want to group all programs together but from our personal experience, WRAP is not worth the time. When we moved to Maple Valley, we heard that LWES was one of the best around the area. If we had it to do over again we would have moved into the Rock Creek area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

This is one of the largest elementary schools in the state. The teachers are easy to work with and the class sizes are manageable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

If your child is special needs keep an eye on them. You are their advocate. The Special Needs teachers are wonderful but the children can get lost in the 'system' if you allow it. Parents need to be assertive and do not give up if you're told no. The district in general is trying to get away with minimal para educator support for these special needs children. Be the squeeky wheel or they will under staff these high need classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

My children have gone to this school for the past 6 years and I feel they have had a great experience at this school. I like Lake Wilderness Elementary School because it is a safe learning environment and they focus on safety for the children in the classrrooms and on the playground. I do not like the fact that the school has so many kids. Maple Valley is growing so fast that the schools seems very overcrowded. Having said that, I believe this school does a good job of keeping track of each child. They have always addresses my concerns and issues as they arise. I would definately recommend this school parents wishing to move to Maple Valley, Washington. I rated the parent involvement low because I would like to see more parents invloved in the PTSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

With a wide range of activities including before and after school 'zero hour' classes as well as an opportunity to participate in music, art, and computer lab, LWES provides a rich, learning-based environment. It is also home to the district's gifted education program, the Discovery program, as well as Special Education programs serving the needs of disabled students. Staff are highly dedicated and encouraging and there is an active PTSA which supports the school community with Family Nights, additional classroom field trips for students, and classroom supplies for teachers. Respect is highly valued and it shows in the achievement of each student. Staff is quick to respond and handle any questions or complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Lake Wilderness Elementary tries hard....in fact there are some very dedicated folks on the PTA who obviously really care what happens at the school. The administration is very personable and helpful and treat students as family. (Which is amazing since the school is so large!) My child had a terrible teacher last year and an amazing one this year, so it's hard to generalize about the quality of education a child will receive there. My sense is that the school is a bit underfunded....the cafeteria/gym needs paint and the acoustic tiles have been falling off of the wall for a while and are not being replaced. They have a few afterschool activities offered, and opportunities to perform in plays and talent shows are wonderful for kids' confidence. Having come from an elementary that had more money and possibly a higher level of education, I am still impressed with LWES's heroic efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female69%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income42%
Not low income80%
Special education45%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income90%
Not low income91%
Special education72%
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income62%
Not low income71%
Special education26%
Not special education75%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic77%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income78%
Not low income90%
Special education70%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female87%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income62%
Not low income82%
Special education52%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students71%
Female71%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic79%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income49%
Not low income77%
Special education0%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income70%
Not low income91%
Special education60%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income79%
Not low income84%
Special education27%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 60%
Hispanic 10% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 118%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 220%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Laurel Menard

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24216 Witte Rd SE
Maple Valley, WA 98038
Phone: (425) 413-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Russell Ridge Center
Maple Valley, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT