Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marysville Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 821 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

teachers neglecting kids that are being bullied. my son was bullied. when I called the school they refused to talk to me. they didn't know if I was his father or not. I told them to look at my sons birth certificate. they said they didn't have it on file. right there shows that the school is not doing their job. it's law that the schools has a copy of the birth certificate on file. The office staff was very hard to deal with. after receiving information from my sons mom they talked to me but acted like I was a child due to our conversations. all I asked them is why aren't they doing anything to help my son. they acted like my son was a trouble maker because the teacher wouldn't help him telling me he is not responding to the teach, and then they start treating him like a bad person. it made my child feel helpless. obviously aren't doing your job. your school is wasting are tax dollars and all I see are complaints why did you take down my posts on your facebook page and why aren't my other posts available. you don't like what I have to say. this is just another way to prove that mms is violating our rights and miss using their powers instead of doing whats right for our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My daughter was handed a sports packet from the Marysville Middle School staff. On the packet has Fall sports, winter sports and Spring sports as options the child would like to try out for. Well, my daughter and I read the packet and filled it out together. My daughter chose the cheer leading option. I scheduled her an appt for her sports physical. My daughter had a few questions I was unable to answer so, i told her to go to the office.... Well, according to the office staff, cheer is only gor high school!!! so, my question is, why are you handing out "district" sports packets with high school sports options to Middle school if they cant try out for the ones the kids want to do?? the packet did NOT mention anything about cheer being only for high school. Why dont they hand out sports packets that pertain to the school sports the school alone provides??? very disapointing. My daughter and I were very excited. I think the school really needs to get there sh*^ together, and be on the same page.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My step daughter just started this year, but already they have helped her and me to feel welcome and I enjoy this school. Thanks MMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Marysville Middle School is unfortunately the catch basin for student overflow. Another school in the district needs to increase their student population. Marysville Middle School has a fair academic program; low teacher involvement; a host of discipline issues; limited activities available to students; many teachers teaching to the WASL and using methods from 20 years ago; and not enough parent involvement from the right parents. Marysville Middle School needs new teachers and new methods for the veteran teachers. While walking the halls, I have heard numerous teacher complaints directed at administration and students. I seldom leave with a good feeling in my heart about Marysville Middle School. Changes need to be made and soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

I have a daughter in the 7th grade and i have to say that overall most of the teachers have been very helpful and very kind. Always working with my daughter to achieve her goals. I never have a hard time communicating with any of them. I do have one complaint and that is with the ladies in the office they are very unfriendly and not helpful to my child what so ever. As far as bullies i have found with experience that if the child tells a teacher it is handled from what i have seen the school has zero tolerance for harrassment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

Our experience at MMS is dissastisfing. My child has been the victim of bullying last year and again this year. Some of the teachers are awesome and then a few need to find another job as I feel they have lost their reason for being teachers. The school is multicultural which is great if your child is the right one and if not then there is a group of kids who rule the school. I suggest any and every parent contact their local and state representives as I am doing. We need safer schools. No child should be left behind and no child should be afraid to attend school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

This school we are extremely disappointed with. There is a huge violence problem at this school. Our son has been continually beat up and the school does almost nothing about it. The bulling is out of control here. the administration is very lacking. No return phone calls, you have to show up in person to get any response. The teacher are mixed. As with most district the older teachers with tenure are worn out and flake on responsibilities and the younger more organized teachers go out of their to make a difference but are getting laid off. We deeply regret sending our son here and are looking for an inter district transfer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

Despite the overall reviews the school has received my son is doing well. The teachers are striving to keep me informed when he fails to turn in an assignment and do everything they can to give him as much attention as he needs. I am very happy with the school and the performance of the teachers. The administration is lacking tremendously and needs to be reviewed but I have no complaints at all about the teachers and staff at the school. On a scale of 1-5 I would rate the teachers and their efforts a 4, but the school board and administration a 1. There are changes being made currently to the board and I hope that improves the budget so my son does not have to share his math book with a student in the next class. I am just a parent with no board or teacher ties.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female50%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income47%
Not low income58%
Special education13%
Not special education57%
Limited English15%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian67%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income53%
Not low income81%
Special education24%
Not special education71%
Limited English15%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female57%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income44%
Not low income65%
Special education8%
Not special education61%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female71%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian79%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income59%
Not low income73%
Special education17%
Not special education73%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students61%
Female72%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asian71%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income54%
Not low income68%
Special education8%
Not special education69%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female54%
Male50%
Black42%
Asian61%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic35%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income42%
Not low income64%
Special education4%
Not special education58%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female73%
Male56%
Black42%
Asian72%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic57%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income50%
Not low income81%
Special education7%
Not special education71%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students56%
Female59%
Male54%
Black42%
Asian78%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income40%
Not low income74%
Special education14%
Not special education61%
Limited English18%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Low income93%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 63%
Hispanic 20% 18%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 151%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 25%N/A8%
Special education 215%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 61%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4923 67th St NE
Marysville, WA 98270
Phone: (360) 653-0615

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Marysville SD Special
Marysville, WA



10th Street School
Marysville, WA


Grace Academy
Marysville, WA


Cedarcrest School
Marysville, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT