Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shoultes Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2012

This is my oldest Daughter's first year in school and I couldn't be happier all my fears were for nothing!. She loves Art and has the freedom to be artistic in her classroom and is encouraged to use her Imagination! She has told me many times how she will be an Artist when she grows up. I have also been to all of the schools after hours activities with my family and the PTSA does an outstanding job and I have become a volunteer for them and in her classroom when I can. It is super awesome to be able to be involved and I think it makes it all more fun for her as well! She has also received an award for Empathy and showing her compassion and care of the well being of others. This is something I think all public schools should be encouraging. I am so excited to see whats ahead for us next year as she enters 1st grade, I know it will be another awesome year at Shoultes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I know this school doesn't have the greatest ranking on this site, but I absolutely love it. All of my kids (3) have been going to this school for three years and the staff are wonderful. My youngest, to say the least, is a challenge. All of the staff (including the office staff) have been nothing but understanding and helpful. The guidance counselor, teacher, principle, and other teachers have done everything to help my son succeed in his education. If you don't want to deal the politics from the upper ranked schools then I would definitely recommend Shoultes to any caring parent. The staff really makes the school an awesome one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

I wasn't able to get everything that I wanted said since this website only has 150 word max. :) My son & I nominated Carolyn Clark (1st grade) last yr for "Teacher of the Week" through Star 101.5 and she won! She is fantastic, offers a warm and loving environment for her students as well as a safe place to learn. Joanne Moffit, counselor, is also a great resource who's known as "the feelings teacher" -- she is available to the students during school to reason out difficulties your child may be having at school, at home or with their studies. When our cat died, I called her because my kids had such a hard time. She made a point of, when they came back to school, to meet with them and even had my son make a little keepsake about his cat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

The teachers there seem to do their best..but the overall feeling I get there is unpleasant tension.They could work on customer service skills in the office and greet people when they come in.They should treat all equal with dignity and respect..but they don't.Never a problem with the teachers..It is the senior workers in the office and a few others who need to refresh their approach.


Posted September 17, 2009

Our experience so far at Shoultes has been very positive! My daughter just started full day kindergarten a week ago and she loves it. I love that she is so excited about it and that she seems to be catching on to everything going on. Her teacher is organized and has a clear way of communicating what is expected, which is no small feat as the class has 24 kids! Principal McFalls is fantastic too - she's very involved and I really like that she is out walking around talking to kids and parents before school and after. I was nervous about my daughter starting school, but not anymore, as I am very pleased with Shoultes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school is a community. We have a diverse make-up and it seems that we are all having fun. Many of our students and families are poverty level or below. We as a school help our families with school supplies, clothes, shoes and school lunches. It is nice place to work and I also have a student there in 5th grade and my oldest graduated there 3 years back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Shoultes because it has been my family for 25 years,the parents are family oriented and the teachers love the students. My children attended Shoultes from K - 5. Very friendly atmosphere, parents, staff, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

I think shoultes elementry is not a well learning place for my daughter.I am very dissapointed about the food.I am paying to get good food for my child and am very upset they treat her like this.If it was my option dont put your kid in this school.Thank you for listening to my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

All 3 of my children attend Shoultes, this will be my sons 6th year there (5th grade). This year we were lucky to get a wonderful caring Principal! She is very approachable, has a postive attitude and is always smiling. If something is not right - she keeps going and going until it is. The math program is wonderful (everyday math). The teachers are excited to be there and teach. Great teachers!! The PE teacher goes beyond - she was meant for this job! The things she comes up with are age approipiate and exciting for the kids, my kids are always looking forward to PE day (and library day too). Thankful to be a shark!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

My daughter attends the 3rd grade at shoultes and has been going there since kindergarden i love this school i just hope this years principle stays! most teachers and staff have always been so very nice, the physical education there rocks, nutrional units and fitness for life program is so awsome and encourage kids to get moving. I have always felt welcome at shoultes popping in my daughters classroom has never been a problem :) Go Shoultes Sharks!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Shoultes has a great environment for kids, in a neighborhood setting. My daughter and I moved up here from Mukilteo and the staff was much more resourceful and involved in my daughter's education and needs. She has completely blossomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

My child attended ECEAP at Shoultes Elementary and it was the most wonderful and satisfying experiences of my life. This is coming from a Grandmother raising grandchildren so I have probably seen the entire spectrum when it comes to schools. I know that the ECEAP program that is located at this school is the best! Peggy McKay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I am not impressed with the principle. He does not seem to listen to parent concerns. The Vice-principle in more open to listening. The speech counselor and the regular counselor are both approachable and have the students interest at heart. There are wonderful teachers and there are some I wouldn't wish on anyone. The principle seems reluctant to work with a child who is special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female58%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic18%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income42%
Not low income66%
Special education46%
Not special education54%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female78%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income58%
Not low income59%
Special education27%
Not special education64%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income55%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students69%
Female82%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income58%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female69%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income55%
Not low income63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female65%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income50%
Not low income56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female76%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income53%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female71%
Male40%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Low income45%
Not low income61%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 60%
Hispanic 23% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 111%N/A8%
Special education 111%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 256%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 64%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Janelle McFalls

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13525 51st Ave NE
Marysville, WA 98271
Phone: (360) 653-0640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Legacy School
Marysville, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT