Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunnyside Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2014

Your supposed to feel like you can go to the school principal with a problem and get trusted help. Not the case!!! Principal is very rude and combative. The rest of the staff is friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

This is the worst school ever to put your kids in. Reading the other complaints matches up with my child's experience. Poor education. Poor leadership by the unapproachable principal who has an attitude problem with a fake smile. The teachers need better organization skills. When school is easy where it used to be a challenge in my sons last school tells you and your kid is re learning things from 1st grade when he's in 3rd is pathetic. Sunnyside probably needs common core as much as Im against it. The test numbers for the school are probably fudged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

Princable is fake and disrespectful and fake.. poor education and teacher's dont care what's going on in the classrooms. Its truly sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

looking to re-school my children , we have been not very happy at sunny side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Wow I thought our kid was the only one having issues with adminstrators not doing anything to stop my son from getting picked on. Brought the issue up several times with teacher and nothing is done about it when he gets called names and has been punched and shoved a couple times. Sick of it. I agree with my run in with the principal that she seems like a fake and know quite a few teachers and staff that work at the school that do not like her. Hoping to move to Lake Stevens or Arlington where the schools are better anyway after this year is up. Much better schools elsewhere. They seem to be behind other schools I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

I love this school! I have two children in this school and have been with them for 3 years now, I think the teachers are amazing and very helpful and while my daughter has some learning difficulties, and not always the easiest child to deal with (autisic) they will bend over backwards to figure out different ways to help her. My son just started there this year, but he loves the school and his teacher. Overall we will miss this school when we move next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Staff is very involved and genuinely concerned for students. Principal is a great leader (gonna miss him!), very present and takes time to listen. PTSA is amazing! My only concern is the academics, which is no small concern. Which after speaking to other parents, it seems to be a general district issue, not particularly this school. My kids need more of a challenge, not necessarily the Hi-Cap program. This school earned 4 stars because the PEOPLE are so amazing! I can supplement my kids academics from home but I could never replace the wonderful people caring for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

My child goes to school here and has fallen behind in a few subjects. I have spoken to the principal and teacher and neither of them have come up with any suggestions or solutions. I have waited and waited, and they have done nothing to help when they said that they would. Also the staff that stands outside and directs the students to the cars are rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I have come here from another state and find that the school systems here are not very up to date. Most school have went to a full day kindergarten program and it is only offered here to select students and at the price of $250 a month. Public education is paid for by the government and parents should not have to deal with this....If parents wanted to pay for an education they would send them to private school. Also, it seems this school only focuses on math because they are testing a new program and we are being told that spelling test are useless therefore they dont practice spelling....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Sunnyside teacher's are great!! My daughter enjoy's going to school there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

My kids have been to a couple different schools around here and by far Sunnyside is my favorite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

The teachers and staff at Sunnyside are outstanding of the individual needs of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I feel like the staff at Sunnyside is doing the best with what they have. The over crowding is due to the massive amounts of new homes being built in the area. I feel like the staff cares about the students and is giving them the best education that they can at this point. I was also very proud to have been apart of the carnival volunteers this spring! It was a great turn out by staff and parents. It looked like everyone was enjoying themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

In this day and age it is concerning that it takes so much effort for the staff at Sunnyside to understand that many of the children there come from to family homes. I am a caring and involded Dad who because my child doesn't live full time in my home I have to darn near beg to get any school work sent to me to review how my child is progressing. If papers go home it only goes to one home. This is not fair!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

We have two students in Sunnyside; one is gifted and the other is struggling due to a learning disablity. The school does almost nothing for either. The funds are so lacking that our gifted child can't get into the Highly Capible program because lack of room. The schools sugestion is we get tutors which are out of our means. All we have been begging for is basic services and either the teachers, specialist and the principal won't do anything or continually put us off. It's clear that if our children are to get an even mediocre education one or both of us will have to get a second or third job to pay for it or find the means to move to a district that cares about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

My child in 4th grade has at least 5 computers, they do word processing, and social studies projects on computer plus more. Great teaching staff, very caring and smart staff. Great new extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2003

No computer in 4th grade class. Slow teacher/principal responses to any issue/concerns. Student frustration with trying to understand teacher instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income73%
Not low income74%
Special education33%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female84%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income70%
Not low income80%
Special education25%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female73%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income62%
Not low income63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female91%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income67%
Not low income78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students52%
Female74%
Male27%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income48%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income58%
Not low income66%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income60%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female76%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income58%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 9% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Black 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 19%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 238%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 61%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3707 Sunnyside Blvd
Marysville, WA 98270
Phone: (360) 653-0645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Marysville Sd Special
Marysville, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT