Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marshall Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

This is an amazing school with a wonderful staff! Every staff member who is there cares about every child, and they work really hard to help each child be successful! Mrs. Sheward has been the principal the past couple years, and she is absolutely wonderful and full of ideas on how to help kids succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2014

As a parent, I wanted the very best for my children. I was quite nervous about Marshall after reading some reviews on here and hearing some things in the news. Ever since they got a new principal, things seem to be going great in the school. My child finished the school year a level ahead of where he needed to be in reading and excelling in math. The teachers and staff do their best to ensure the kids get a quality education. The PTA is also great and does excellent work for the kids. I would suggest that the school allows for an extra field trip or two and parents get into the classroom and more involved but overall, I have been pleased with the staff and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

We were very dissatisfied with this school. Their staff was not supportive of my child's special learning needs. It appeared to us the staff did not believe the doctors diagnosis and attempted to followed their own learning plan. Our child became very upset and stressed over school. We ended up moving to a different public elementary school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

My son has been attending Marshall for the past two years. I find the principal, teachers and staff friendly and supportive. I am in the school 2 to 3 times a week and am overly impressed by the staffs' commitment. The staff is continuously learning and implementing new strategies to best teach our children. I have never seen a lack of supervision in this school. My son has several students with special needs in his classroom and the are give multiply opportunities to be successful by the teachers using various teaching tools and strategies to individualize their instruction. My son wants to go to school everyday! He is learning and loving every minute of it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I am very happy with Marshall Elementary. My son has been going there for the past couple of years and they have kept me in the loop of everything that goes on with him. I have had no problems with being involved. He has become more open, talkative and is learning alot. I am glad that he is going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

i am very unhappy with this school. they have poor supervision, they do not involve parents properly, if at all. they give very little information about their school and are not accommodating to students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

With special education as my childs primary education, I have wavered on This area. Lack of propper supervision, individual needs not being met, and being passified as to not rock the boat. I am unhappy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Our child has had the opportunity to be in an advanced reading program and the school places the children at the appropriate levels. There is a music program, library, and physical education. Excellent teaches from kindergarten through second grade. The school also teaches the children respect and diversity. I have been happy with Marshall Elementary. Not much opportunity for a child that is ahead of the class but not ready for a HiCap program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This principal is never available for parents. In three years I was never able to arrange a meeting with her. We rented in this area and when we bought I was relieved to be away from this school. The students are undisciplined and anything goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2003

my children were new to marshall ele. this year and we were all made to feel not only welcome but as involved as the other parents who had been there all year. i am impressed with this school. and most importantly my children are too. no more debates about wether or not they will go to school. i cant keep them home!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female36%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Low income26%
Not low income52%
Special educationn/a
Not special education46%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female64%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income48%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female52%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income44%
Not low income63%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female64%
Male40%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income56%
Not low income54%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students28%
Female40%
Male7%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White21%
Low income25%
Not low income29%
Special educationn/a
Not special education37%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students32%
Female25%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Low income21%
Not low income46%
Special education13%
Not special education39%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female50%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income39%
Not low income58%
Special education6%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female42%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Low income35%
Not low income50%
Special education10%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 60%
Hispanic 18% 20%
Two or more races 13% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 16%N/A8%
Special education 137%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 254%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 14N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 50%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michelle Gurney

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4407 116th St NE
Marysville, WA 98271
Phone: (360) 653-0630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Legacy School
Marysville, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT