Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Medina Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

I have two children attending Medina Elementary. One in the gifted program and one with ADHD requiring an IEP. In our years there, the teachers have continuously worked to address each of my kids' needs, always working to meet them on their level, firming their foundation. Not enough can be said about the dedication of Beth Hamilton, the tireless principal that seems to know the status of every student under roof at Medina Elementary. There is a group of elitist PTA mothers, past-, current- and almost Presidents that sadly seem to have too much time on their hands. We all wish they'd commit their considerable resources to being more of a solution than generating fictional problems, stop the complaining and the endless back-biting. Bullying? While we all agree on zero tolerance for such activity, parents with an over-developed sense of entitlement tend to raise entitled kids. There is a truly exceptional group of educators and administrators that put a tremendous amount of energy into making Medina Elementary live up to its stellar reputation. One significant improvement would be if someone would sod the playing field. Roll out some sod, save a knee! Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

I 100% agree with the parents who wrote about their child being bullied. The playground is a Lord of the Flies situation. Don't let the high test scores for you: large percentage of the children have tutors or attend Kumon. The school does not offer anything to stimulate and challenge higher achieving children. Likewise, not enough is done to help those kids who are struggling. If your child is middle-of-the-pack academically and is ready to fight on the playground, he or she may be ok here. The school does not instill the virtues that it often gives lip-service to. The strongest part of the school is the parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

I currently have a son in this school and is being bullied. The principal of this school doesn't care less as to whether a child is being bullied as she only runs the school on a business basis. If your pockets are deep enough and it ticks her boxes for the board, then she has no concern for you as a parent with real life issues. I can see this matter only escalating when it should of been nipped in the bud and costing us thousands of dollars to relocate to another school. I really regret putting my son in this school and yes it's full of bullies. Lucky you if your child has not been subject to it. There are so many better schools out there than this business run and political school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

I was a student here (graduated from fifth grade) and have been here since third grade, when I entered the Enrichment program. This school is excellent! The cafeteria is always clean, the staff are kind, and there are plenty of extra curricular activities! I only have two problems; the children there aren't bullies, but snobs. Which, in a way, is quite annoying. We all know they're rich- no need to rub it in our faces, right? But this is only for some students. Many are fun and kind! Also, the front office staff are rude and snobby. I am an Indian, and they act as if I don't know a word of English. I am perfectly capable of speaking and understanding. Other than those two problems, this school is wonderful! I highly recommend this school to children!


Posted June 7, 2013

Do not be fooled by this schools funding with looks and technology. The school lacks tremendously in encouraging kids to have good character, compassion and respect for others. My child experienced a bully for 2 years in a row. Even though it was addressed to the teachers-there was never any change to the bully's behavior or consequences. It ultimately resulted in us moving our child to another school. Upon doing so, we learned of 3 other children leaving the same classroom for similar reasons. Upon comparing notes with the other parents that transferred out, I learned that the other children were also demonstrating signs of frustration, depression and overall lack of interest in returning to the classroom. After switching to another school (at another district) our child has enthusiasm, energy and love of school again. Very are very disappointed we wasted so much time at Medina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

If you're a PTA mom, this is the place for you to shine and be special, not to mention get your kid out of any possible trouble. The school is run by the PTA, as another reviewer 4+ years ago said. It hasn't changed since. Ridiculously overcrowded and students are herded around like cattle. PE, recess and music are extremely poor. School is extremely cliquey, and from having kids all through the BSD, I can tell you these kids at the top of the social ranks at Medina (and presumably other feeder schools) are the same kids who will run the middle school and the same kids who run BHS later. If you're looking for an opportunity to give your kid a permanent "get out of jail free" card and you have deep pockets and spare time to be queen bee at the PTA, start up through the ranks at Medina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

This is a terrible school. I found the school to be at least a year to a year and a half behind our previous elementary school in Northern California. It is BIG and full of bullies. The children are out of control. Really... an elementary school with almost 600 kids. It's a disaster. Recess is frightening. There are many other private school choices that are terrific. This school is void of any moral structure. The learning environment leaves something to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

We have been in Medina Elementary for 3 years. Even though the test scores are high, the school is lacking many social aspects. I agree with the parent that wrote about competitive spirit and attitude. My child was always great socially and academically, but some things in here destroyed his self esteem and confidence. If you moved from another country or have language barrier you might feel disconnected and lonely. The office staff is not helpful. If you have a question or have to talk you might wait very long to get someone out of the computer or phone to answer to your question or concern. It s got stricter though with the new principle and hope it will help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I am a parent of a child at this school and our experience here has been wonderful. I feel that the teachers are the real difference at this school, as they care very much about student learning and are well equipped to reach all types of students. We have been happy with our child's education and growth while at Medina Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

This school is very much lacking regardless of purported test scores. Three principals in two years is ridiculous turnover. The front office acts as if you are bothering them even though you are volunteering your time at the school. There is too much of a competitive spirit there. My kid was at the top of his class both years he attended but he came home emotionally exhausted because everything seemed like a race. We've experienced two years of bullies and the administration doing nothing about it. Now there is a superintendent who is blocking the PTA from doing the very thing that used to make this school great: financing more qualified adults/teachers/specialists to give the kids the best education possible. The stats here on Great Schools are incorrect. We have 24-26 students in each class per one teacher with less than $6000 spent annually on each student. We are now losing all our specialists this year after having to give up our classroom aids. I would not recommend breaking the bank to live in this school's attendance area, especially with the new superintendent who is doing all she can to lower the bar at Medina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

This is a great school if you have an academically average to above average student. If there issues with kids that need extra help or who I would characterize as a "different" learner, this school can destroy a child's confidence. I know most of my neighborhood kids attend and are very satisfied, however, it's not for everyone. Too much stress and pressure waaaaay too young and it only gets worse as you move along up to the HS level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

Fantastic school. Public education made great through the efforts of staff, leadership, and parents. 5 Stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

This is an outstanding school. The teachers are first rate, the principal is highly accessible, the facility is new and state of the art...no wonder it is the highest rated school in the state and one of the top public schools in the country. The parent community is highly involved--those with both single-and dual-working parents. Parents can volunteer at various events, the PTA, the PDC (Curriculum Council) and attend regular events including open houses, coffee chats, curriculum nights, music concerts, etc, to stay involved in their children's development. In short, it is like being at a private school at public education prices! The community is very safe--like being in a small town back in the 70s--and the friendly police force watches over kids at the school (and know most by name) very attentively. Families come from all walks of life and care about their kids' edcucation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

For every bad post on for this store there are a hundred people that would say something positive. I have three children at this school and love it. Yes the PTA is highly involved....thank goodness. Teachers are responsive and care. We are very focused on our children's education and know there is aways room to improve....but this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

I challenge the parent who posted a negative comment about Medina Elem to come to Medina Matters Online to openly discuss his views . I am Roger N. and I moved to this neighborhood for the school and it's truely excellent. I've given whatever I can to the PTA and last year I gave $2500 through the auction simply because it does help the school. The principal is always available and I was even surprised one night that she - Jennifer Rose - was helping clean after one evening BBQ. Call her, email her and you get a response. I also help in the neighborhood as much as I can and I find it a bit 'unfair' for a parent to post this sort of comment online. My wife and I work full time and we continuously evaluate our kids progress and it's irresponsible to blame the teachers in this maner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Do not be fooled by the reviews about this school. This school is run by the PTA. This is just another public school where your child will get lost in the crowd. If you are a stay-home-mom and have the time to be on site at the school you might be OK. This school is not about education but about fundraising. I have to admit their facility is state-of-the-art, however the teachers and staff lack good judgement, and they do not care very much. Very dissapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

Not only do we have the best teachers, but the parent involvement is great. Also, it has great extracurricular activities for the kids. And the brand facility is fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

Medina Elementary School has some of the best teachers, staff, and students in the state of Washington. I wish we had leadership that would defend and support all the efforts that promote education including the traditions and culture of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

Medina Elementary is wonderful school. I went there when I was a child and now my daughter goes there. She is in 5th grade and has been there since kindergarden and will hate to leave. Medina has a wonderful music program and the most wonderful teachers. I hope you will pick this school for your child or chilren to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low incomen/a
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female91%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low incomen/a
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low incomen/a
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female98%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian97%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low incomen/a
Not low income92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 27% 7%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 15%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 20N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 9N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 64%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 151st Place NE (Temp Addr)
Medina, WA 98039
Website: Click here
Phone: (425) 456-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Jing Mei Elementary
Bellevue, WA



Jewish Day School
Bellevue, WA


Spectrum Academy
Redmond, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT