Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeridge Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2014
- a community member
FYI, basal readers went out of style 30 years ago! Improvements needed! Parents ought to fight for Charter Schools!

Lakeridge Elementary School 4

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
Lakeridge is a really good neighborhood elementary school. Parent (and PTA) involvement pervades everything and the extracurriculars are beyond compare. Among just the third grade highlights this year were an overnight at the Seattle Aquarium, native american program, Bicycle Rodeo, student composed and performed operetta, student performed Shakespeare and an all school musical. My son enjoyed every minute of his hi-cap class. The staff is responsive when dealing with bullying and friendship issues as long as you treat them as humans (some of the type-A parents can come across as entitled). The new principal could do better interfacing with parents.


Lakeridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended Lakeridge from 1st grade through 5th grade and we were very pleased with the education she received. The parents are very involved at this school, and it shows! Helpful involved parents make for a better learning environment. All the teachers we had were excellent, no complaints...

Lakeridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Both of my daughters go to this school and we love the quality of the education that they receive there. The staff is genuinely caring and the parents are very involved.

Lakeridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
Lakeridge has hired a new principal since the last posted review. Under the new leadership the school is even better. My son just finished third grade which has an amazing teaching team. I must say they brought the curriculum to life with lots of visiting artists. The school music program is great too. The only improvement that the school could make would be to higher an art teacher. Currently there are no art teachers in the elementary schools on Mercer Island.


Lakeridge Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
This is a solid community based school with a highly motivated base of students and parents. Teacher quality is however mixed and building leadership is poor. Dispite this the students on balance score very well and come to school well equipted, ready to learn and strongly supported by parents and the community.

Lakeridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2006
- a parent
Lakeridge is a wonderful neighborhood school. There is a very high level of parent involvement and the teachers on the whole are excellent. There is a wide range of extracurricular activities and everyone has art and music.

Lakeridge Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2005
- a parent
A public school with a high-achieving family base, Lakeridge is the southernmost school of the Mercer island School District. It draws from single family homes. Teaching quality has been good overall. Our needs were not met because until recently there were no gifted programs but the district recently started one. Music is excellent, and a wide variety of sports (including beginning lacrosse) are available. Parent involvement is high and so are parent expectations. Great facility.


Lakeridge Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2005
- a parent
Dedicated teachers and principal!

Lakeridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2005
- a parent
The teachers are very dedicated. I have been very impressed too by the PTA who is most certainly intereted in bringing a wide variety of experiences to all grade levels. There are lots of field trips and art experiences. The setting of the campus is so beautiful, near tall trees, lots of space for outdoor recreation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeridge Elementary School
8215 SE 78th, Mercer Island, WA  98040
(206) 236-3418
Last modified Lakeridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top