Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Monica School

Private | PK-8 | 245 students

St. Monica Parish School provides rigorous academics in a Catholic environment.

 
 

Living in Mercer Island

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $741,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

This school is wonderful! The teachers are outstanding and the principal is loving but strict. St. Monica School teaches more than just a rigorous academic curriculum, they teach the kids to have self confidence, compassion, and a positive self image. There is a reason this school has been teaching kids for over 50 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

Our son has attended St. Monica Parish School for 8 years now, and all I can say is, THIS SCHOOL IS A TRUE GEM! If you're looking for a school that offers top-tier educational programming (Science, Technology, Math, SS, Lit/LA), in a faith-based environment, with small class instruction, you'll find your treasure here!! Students come from all over the area (Mercer Island, Bellevue, Renton, Seattle, Issaquah, and Sammamish) to be part of this wonderful school community. We continue to be impressed with their commitment to excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

We have been thrilled with St. Monica Parish School. The teachers are wonderful and the classes small. The school uses a rigorous STEM + the Arts based curriculum with full time Spanish, Science, Art, PE and Music teachers on staff. In addition to the regular teachers, St. Monica employs a Reading and Math Specialist to work with all levels of learners, from the children that may need an extra challenge, to those that need a little extra help to keep up. The parent involvement is outstanding. It seems that everyone is helping out in some way and happily. There is after school care available on regular and drop in basis. After school programs include robotics, Math Olympiads, global reading challenge, chess club, beginning and advanced band and CYO athletics. There is a real sense of community at St. Monica. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend St. Monica! We were lucky to have Principal Wilson join us this year - She is an inspiring and caring leader that greets all the children by name. Our School population is about 50% Mercer Island families and the rest come from Seattle, Bellevue, Issaquah, Renton, Sammamish and Kirkland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

St. Monica is a wonderful school and community. I have two children at this school. This was out first year. I couldn't have asked for more! My children were immediately accepted and thrived. They have many friends and feel confident. The teachers are dedicated and very caring. Each child has their own spelling test in each grade. All children are supported on their path. One size doesn't fit the mold! The curriculum is challenging and progressive. Our entire family has been embraced and the parents are extremely involved and the entire school community knows my children and cares for their well-being. Don't look elsewhere. You've found the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

I am a former student of this school that cannot believe the high ratings many parents are giving. I found the staff to be inflexible and judgmental regarding anything that disagreed with the school's religion. I had many questions about the religious material they were teaching that went unanswered and I was punished and penalized for thinking critically. This is not a school to send your kids if you ever want them to develop skills in the actual SCIENTIFIC world. I still believe in God but I am glad my parents sent me to a non-catholic high school afterwards because this school has extreme bias towards the bible and against science. If you want your kid to read the bible without questioning anything, and have no individual understanding of their own faith, then this is a good school. Academics are average. But if you want your kid to develop critical thinking skills, go elsewhere, this school punishes that and I am two grade levels below my high school classmates in math and science because of St. Monica's bad program. LOOK ELSEWHERE.


Posted October 25, 2011

I ve found St. Monica s to be a great all-around school well run with strong teachers and a committed parent community. Teachers and staff are responsive to parent requests. They work hard to understand each individual child s strengths and needs, and tailor teaching accordingly. In addition to a solid curriculum the school emphasizes values such as treating one another with respect and helping those in need. There are excellent skill-building opportunities such as the science fair and public speaking during Mass. The school is part of the CYO sports league so there is plenty to choose from when it comes to sports. The campus is relatively new and modern a good library and well organized classrooms. We live in Bellevue the majority of the student body is from Mercer Island but there are a fair number of off-island families from Seattle, Sammamish, Newcastle, and more. We looked at several public and private schools before settling on St. Monica s and found they are all unique. We chose St. Monica s because of the professionalism there and strong academic commitment it has turned out to be a great choice for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

Wow this school is impressive, having been at Islander and seeing what they have here. Excellent teachers, plenty of homework and emphasis on writing and math, remarkable environment stressing morals and developing 'self', good speech team and CYO athletics. Parents very involved and kids well-behaved in and out of classroom, unlike other schools. Strong sense of community which empowers students to be their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

This school cares about each child, both academically and emotionally. My child says the classroom is full of conversation and discussion and that the teachers and students really get to know eachother. The students are encouraged to reach their full potential. The environment is warm and caring. All the teachers are excellent, but it should be mentioned that the sports teacher is great, the art teacher is amazing and drama productions are wonderful and the speech team is award-winning as well as fun for the kids. I am so impressed by the school and so happy to be part of this wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

This school is amazing! The teachers and staff are outstanding. The school 'family' groups foster a unique relationship, crossing all grade levels. The curriculum challenges the kids to always strive to do their very best. Excellent parent involvement and a loving and supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Great school. The programs are strong as is the discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

St. Monica School is an excellent choice for a top quality catholic education. A small school with a loving and moralistic environment makes the children and parents proud to be a part of this school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

St. Monica school has been a wonderful experience for my children- dedicated teachers in a positive learning environment, warm community. I have been a school parent for 11 years. My kids have been well prepared for high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 60%
Two or more races 8% 6%
Hispanic 3% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Romanian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Romanian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Anca Wilson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Romanian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Seattle
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Fulcrum Foundation

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
O'Dea / Holy Names
Seattle Prep / Eastside Catholic
MIHS / Newport HS / Bellevue HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4320 87th Ave SE
Mercer Island, WA 98040
Website: Click here
Phone: (206) 232-5432

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Privett Academy
Mercer Island, WA


The Privett Academy
Mercer Island, WA


Yellow Wood Academy
Mercer Island, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT