Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Primary School

Public | PK-1 | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2013

Discovery Primary School has been the number one choice for us after we moved to Fife. It is a wonderful world where I watch my child growing up into a more mature person thanks to her wonderful class teacher, librarian , skip and jungle room teachers all of whom she takes her inspiration from. I simply love the way her teacher welcomes each and every student of her class in the morning.Gets down to their level to talk to them and make them feel that SHE is there for them while at school. I would look forward for more rewarding programs for eligible students .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

Wonderful school and really assuring to see teachers and staff that care for the students. Always seem to have parent volunteers, and love how the teachers are involved even after the student has left their class. Thanks Discovery for making my sons begining school experience so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

I enjoy the way the teachers really care about the students and my son learned so much while he was there and loved the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We moved so our kids could go to this school. We are so happy with our expierence and now I'm excited to send my youngest into Discovery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

We moved from Tacoma to put our children in this district. Well worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I think that this school is wonderful. Who ever thought of seperating the big kids from the little kids is wonderful. The teachers are involved with the kids on a one on one basis and the kids love it. The keep you up dated on everything. I Don't think that I could have chosen a better place for my son to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Discovery Primary was a breath of fresh air for me and my son. His first grade teacher, Miss Robin Soine was a joy and a blessing. She has since retired, however, I can say that it wasn't just her, it was a joint effort by the principal, the Title I staff, myself, my son, and Miss Soine. They really showed they cared for my son, and they took time with him, and really kept up with having meetings with me to make sure my son stayed on track. As a result, my son (6 Yrs old, first grade at the time) flourished, and began to read at second grade level (thanks to the read and lead program). He is now in second grade, and is much more aware of what is expected of him. We will both cherish the memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

My son attended pre-school at Dicovery and I was very happy with their pre-k program. The pre-schoolers have access to all activities and most programs that the other grades have access to. I was very happy with the teachers my son had each year. I found that Discovery provides a safe, friendly and warm learning environment for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

While we have only been at this school for a few months, I really like the Kinderguarten program. The 2 full day, 1 half day works great. The instructors are enthusiastic and involved. The building is in great shape and well cared for. My daughter is enjoying her kinderguarten experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Despite being in such a small district, Discovery's teachers and staff do an exceptional job. They keep a close eye on student assesments and have several art and movement classes for the children. I look forward to several award winning teachers coming from this school in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

Discovery School was the best thing we ever did for our sons. Our oldest was shy and timid but Mrs. Barker brought him out of his shell. She is the best teacher I have ever seen so I asked for her when my other son went to school and we are still pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

Mrs. Barker is a wonderful teacher and really cares about their individual needs. My daughter really blossomed in both academics and personality. I would recommend this school to any parent. There is an open door policy and the entire schools teachers encourage 'Good Choices'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 60%
Hispanic 22% 20%
Two or more races 12% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 7%
Black 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 120%N/A8%
Special education 113%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 254%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 61%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Julie Bartlett

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1205 19th Ave
Milton, WA 98354
Phone: (253) 517-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT