Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 546 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2012

awsome school! very attentive to the childrens needs and a wonderful curriculum. this school has an 85% graduation rate. i fell safe with my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

jefferson is by far the best school in mount vernon. my children have been challeneged academacly and are advancing very well, they also have a great special ed group. the teachers are very giving and always willing to help their students. its a very warm and welcoming school. you always see a smile when you walk into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

the teachers here have gone above and beyond to help my child adjust to his first year. we have contact often and if i ever have a question i have an immediate response. the teachers love the kids and they have a passion for them to excel!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

I am so shocked by Jefferson's rating, I am really surprised! We love our school so much..the warm, comforting and secure environment, the happy lunch ladies, the big smiles and greetings,the love! The teachers are the best!!! So nuturing, able to see our children's needs and strengths, able to see that and challenge them at their level! We have such a diverse community here in Mount Vernon, we should celebrate that. We need to be thankful for the families who have worked so hard to make this our beautiful valley. We all learn in different ways..we all have our weaknesses..and Jefferson challenges those, they are learning! Teachers are not babysitters..they are giving us curriculum helpto guide are children!!Please read to your children! Hug Them! Make Messes! Adore them!!xoxox! Jefferson Elementary teachers and staff, don't change anything! You are sooooo loved...With Admiration, Shannon Flores
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

I feel bad that this particular parent is so unhappy with Jefferson. My husband and I spent alot of time researching public and private schools to put our daughter in before she started Jefferson. The experience I have had there has been exceptional. We also spend alot of time getting to know the teachers and staff to stay involved with what is going on to help our daughter succeed. A friend of mine that is a teacher told me to let the teacher choose the teacher for the next year because they know the student better in a classroom environment. I have done that and and have gotten some teachers I probly wouldnt have chosen but ended up very happy. Giong through grade school feeling excepted, safe and cared about will prepare them for the challenges ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

There is a reason this school is rated a 4 out of 10. After having recently moved to another state (and to a school with a 10 GreatSchools rating), I have come to realize how poor the curriculum is at Jefferson. Both my children are so far behind in their new classes that one of them may have to repeat one year. Aside from the reading program, it seems as if the teachers (or district's) main goal is to teach the WASL and not much more. Unfortunately, there is little challenge for those children who need it. Gifted students are actually not allowed to excel as they are forced to stay at the same pace as the rest of the class. 2 1/2 hour Kindergarten is a joke, especially with all the early release days and days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

We have found being new to the school district that the teachers are very caring, but that the office staff is not very friendly or helpful. The principal is very active with the student's and seems to be very available for student's and parent's. It is to bad that the office staff is the fist impression you receive when you arrive at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I think that Jefferson Elementary has some teachers that really care and make the extra effort for their students. We have been so happy with the changes that our son has made in school this year. Mrs. Stephens has worked with us and found a way to incorporate a teaching method as well as a discipline method that fits our child without making him the outcast. He actually loves his teacher this year and we are thrilled that he really wants to do well and try his best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

Jefferson is an excellent school! Children are happy, safe, and highly educated. Teachers and staff care about excellence. I am very impressed with Jefferson Elementary.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2005

Our daughter has been at Jefferson since she was five, and she is now in her 6th grade year at this school. Now our son is five and starting school at Jefferson Elementary. We have had nothing but positive experiences at Jefferson. In the seven years that my daughter has gone to that school, we have never had a teacher we didn't like. When my son started school this year, I was concerned how he would do being away from us, but once again, his teacher was awesome in making him feel welcome and comfortable. The transition was very pleasant and positive. I am not looking forward to my daughter leaving there for Junior High next year. Luckily we have another 6 years there with our son! Great job Jefferson staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

We have two children at Jefferson and over the last three years we have been very pleased with the educational experience Jefferson offers. The school's reading program is intensive and they have some combined grade level classes (e.g. 1st & 2nd) that we have been very pleased with. Parent participation is encouraged and is high. It's one of the best elementary schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

Actually I was a past student there. I attended this school over 7 years ago and I must say, I loved every second of it. The teachers were impressive and always there for us students and the kids, as a whole, were a nice bunch. My years there were some of the best in my elementary school life, and I had been to 4 others prior entering JES. It was a clean relaxing and environment. I loved it!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female63%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income53%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female73%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income65%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English54%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female78%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income68%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female97%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income80%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students60%
Female71%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income48%
Not low income79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income52%
Not low income78%
Special education8%
Not special education74%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female77%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income60%
Not low income78%
Special education31%
Not special education76%
Limited English31%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female69%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income48%
Not low income77%
Special education17%
Not special education69%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female38%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income36%
Not low income62%
Special education11%
Not special education54%
Limited English11%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female56%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income48%
Not low income77%
Special education11%
Not special education70%
Limited English16%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 20%
White 45% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 129%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 264%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 69%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Peggy Zappone

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 East Blackburn Rd
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
Phone: (360) 428-6128

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lincoln Elementary School
Mount Vernon, WA




Mount Vernon Special Ed
Mount Vernon, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT