Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olympic View Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 264 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

This is a great school. Always fast getting back to you if you have questions or worries. Teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

This school is amazing they have such a good curriculum and Olympic View is filled with great teachers, that make this school run smith and fantastically well. Olympic View isn't that nice on the outside but on the inside it's amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I appreciate all the teachers and staff at this school. They have helped my child excel where other schools did not help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My son entered 6th grade at this school, he'll be starting 8th grade here in the fall. In the past 2 years his grades have gone from rock bottom, to sailing! He's improved 110%, participates in band and hasn't given it up. He's taking band again this year. I LOVE this school!! They've helped him learn and grow in SO many ways!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

I think this is a awesome Middle school, I especially love several teachers there, the orchestra teacher (Mr.Caldwell), a 6th grade block teacher (She's VERY special), and.....I guess all the block teachers are really amazing. :) I love this school


Posted February 12, 2012

an occasional helpful teacher but principal and viceprincipal are the worst ever, bullying refuses to be dealt with, they are critcal and degrading to students if i could remove my kid now i would.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

worst middle school i've ever seen, bullying goes undealt with, no care by administration to handle a situation, never had so much trouble at a school as this one...interrogation style techniques used to bully students into saying what they want...this does not produce effective or happy students, if i could remove my child i would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

this is a good school their band is amazing and they have a lot of great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2009

I love this school so much! Our orchestra is really amazing thanks to Mr. Caldwell. We play a lot of awesome songs such as Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Jurasstic Park,etc. And whenever, there is a problem, the students and parents are told about it right away. And the WEB program is also really cool because 8th graders get to meet new 6th graders and they tour them around and plan events.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

The orchestra program is very solid at OV, Mr. Caldwell is a n excellent conductor. There is also Honors Language Arts and Social Studies and Geometry is available in 8th Grade, go Mrs. Chu!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2008

I have many things to say in regards to the earlier coments i think this scool is great they have gotten new staff sense 2007 and i believe that this school is great...sure they have kids with drugs but they are aware of this and have special programs to set them on the right track as for the fact that 6th graders can't play sports i just want everyone to know that in the whole district the 6th graders can't play sports so it's no OV's fault.All in all i believe OV is a great school and really gets us parents involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This is an excellent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

This is a really great school. I just finished all 3 years here, and never had a big problem with the teachers or staff. They are all (the ones i had at lest) really great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2007

The safety here is absolutely incredible and remarkable! I strongly encourage sending your kid to OV if you want a safe, welcoming, friendly environment. Lots of my teachers are supportive, and helpful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2007

This had been our first full year at Olympic View Middle School, and I must say not a shabby one at that. My daughter (7th grade) had a tough time at first meeting some 'nice' girls to hangout with in the beginning, but it worked out in the end. She is an honor student and has really enjoyed learning from all her teachers. She has received many 'Ship Awards' through the year. She has also participated in some of the school sports program which was a great experience. Mrs. Nuttbrock is awesome! So I would have to say that we are very pleased with the our first full year at Olympic View Middle School. Thank you to the staff at OV, keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

I absolutely love OV, and i don't want to leave for high school next year! Mrs. Weatherbie, you are awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2007

I'm an 8th grader at Olympic View this year and I am horrified to see the other reviews from parents within the last three years. I guess some children didnt have a good time at our school. But now we have made major improvments. We have a drug counselor for those that are getting into that around their communities. We have started a Lunch Bunch and After-School Pirate Success Program that has kids that dont do their homework assigned to. I personally havent had a very good experience with it but they opened a debate club made for this topic of disscussion. We have a VERY good band program. We won perfect 1st places in my 6th grade year and got either 1st or 2nd place in my 7th grade year.Im looking forward to the big Spokane trip this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2007

OV is a good school but I disagree with some things, I believe that all grades should be able to do sports. I currently attend OV and I am in 8th grade. I like all my teachers like for 6th grade my favorite teachers were Mr. Offringa,Ms. Ivelia and Mrs. Perry and in 7th grade my favorite teachers were Mrs. Morris and Mr. Weatherbie and for 8th grade my favorite teachers are Mr.Von, Mr. Brynelson and Ms. Torgeson. They have wonerful teachers here and I really enjoy it. Overall, O.v. is a awesome school. - Emily Ross
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2006

I'm currently attending Olympic View as an eighth grader. I really like this school, the majority of the teachers are very approachable and treat me and my fellow peers as individuals and not just part of their job to get money. The music programs are amazing. Orchestra is a lot of fun and our band is outstanding! I disagree with the review that said that OV is 'dirty.' The campus is clean and gives you a welcoming feeling. I also feel this school really welcomes the sixth graders. The WEB program is a positive way for the sixth graders to click with some of the eighth graders. Overall, I love this school and am going to be extremely sad when I have to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2006

my child has attended two years at this school. I find the quality of staff and teachers to be excellent. School and student safety extremely top priority. Overall an excellent safe enviroment for student learning .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female62%
Male60%
Black46%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income49%
Not low income73%
Special education19%
Not special education67%
Limited English26%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
Black91%
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income75%
Not low income89%
Special education32%
Not special education89%
Limited English39%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
Black40%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic51%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income47%
Not low income83%
Special education26%
Not special education73%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black40%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income58%
Not low income88%
Special education36%
Not special education80%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students78%
Female89%
Male66%
Black60%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income66%
Not low income86%
Special education37%
Not special education83%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female54%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian78%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income33%
Not low income64%
Special education21%
Not special education54%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female72%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian78%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic44%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income53%
Not low income78%
Special education21%
Not special education71%
Limited English13%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female73%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian84%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income60%
Not low income84%
Special education43%
Not special education76%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 100% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 99% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Low income85%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 60%
Hispanic 17% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 7%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 15%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 241%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 62%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2602 West Mukilteo Dr
Mukilteo, WA 98203
Phone: (425) 366-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Other Schools
Everett, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT