Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kamiak High School

Public | 9-12 | 2064 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

Nice building, that's about it. Teachers are useless and classes are worthless. Better to home school than attend this wasteful institution of higher morons. Embarrassment to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

when i had gone to this school the principals didnt care bout bullying. they only cared if they saw it happen. most of the time they wouldnt even give the bullier the punishment that was writen in the handbook and would only give them the lesser amount. some teachers would just give random detentions for no reason at all. most of the students that i had gone to school with were the rich snobby i am better then you type and all the less fortinate students were made to feel bad. i had seen tons of students given new cars by their own parents or that they were given a nice car and the student didnt do anything to get it just it was given to them. it just goes to show how many students dont care bout any of the less fortinate or even try to help them out. if you werent popular or werent in a clique then you were a hated outcast.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2012

So many choices and opportunities! One of the ONLY high school around to offer such a wide variety of AP courses including AP Physics C. Any given afternoon you will find clubs, sports, and activities meeting all over campus. This is a placewith a true sense of pride and buy in by students. It directly reflects the draw, which is middle to upper middle class neighborhoods. Students who enjoy subculture type groups may not feel they have a well defined niche here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

think the last reviewer should take an English class to learn proper writing! My grandkids have had a terrific education at Kamiak High. A Grandma!!!


Posted April 26, 2012

This school really isnt worth going to. The teachers dont really help the students, we must "ask our peers" or its "a stupid question". They also pick favorites. Or maybe i just got all the bad teachers. Ive had three math teachers for the same classroom this year alone. 1,000 of us are supposed to fit into a cafeteria that is only supposed to hold 625 students. The price of the food is ridiculous, and i dont know how many times ive gone home with a stomach ache from the food. The people here are just as bad as the regulations. They're snobby, they dont accept people very well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2012

As a student here in the Senior class, my experience at Kamiak has been mediocre. My peers have an inappropriate background and the academic program was not that challenging for me. I feel like some of the students tried their very best in school with honors, while some others procrastinated and did not care for their education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2012

Amazing! Teachers are dedicated, children are good hardworking students. College is very important to children and staff! Love love this school, kids and the town of Mukilteo. Just cant say enough good about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The staff is very supportive, but what really makes this school stand out are the parent volunteers and the extremely strong community support that all Mukilteo schools enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This is my sons first year at Kamiak, all his teachers are very encouraging amd helpful. The whole atmosphere at Kamiak is that of learning, and we are blessed that that is the high school that our son attends. The sports programs, and the the extra curricular activities are very good as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We moved into this school district in order to afford our three children the best education available. We now have one son at U.W. who is an honor student; a daughter going into 11th grade who studies long hours to make honor roll but knows that in 2 years, she will be rewarded with a college scholarship. History honors class is overwhelming as far as homework, and more indepth than any college course I have ever taken as a Ph.D. But, Kamiak is a college prep school. Sure there are a lot of students, great teachers and counselors, very fair and accomodating principal who takes a higher road to achieve greatness for the students and teachers, activities galore, but most of all, an atmosphere that is challenging, rewarding, and teaches students that with hard work and effort, you can achieve your goals and be prepared for life after high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

Kamiak is an excellent school, but as a parent I have some concerns regarding test scheduled, some day they don t have any test and other day they have three that s not the right way. Students get exhausted and frustrated with the test score. the proper way to test days should be scheduled ahead for example every Monday will be science test, every Tuesday will be math, every Wednesday will be English, every Thursday will be Spanish and Friday will be other one. That will work great for them and the students will be more productive than stressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

Kamiak is an excellent school for people who are willing to challenge themselves. Having done just that, I can't say much about core classes, but all the Honors and AP teachers are very good. We always have many students with superb SAT scores, and equally satisfying AP scores. Our Fine Arts program is also used to placing quite well in competitions, as are our sports teams. Overall, I couldn't ask for a better high school. After all, with all the money coming in from Boeing, the campus is very large and very nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

We moved into the school district so that our kids could attend the quality schools in this area such as Kamiak, Harbour Pointe, and Columbia. We have not been dissappointed. The teachers and staff are dedicated and really work together. Opportunities are endless for any student with clubs and specialized classes in so many diverse areas. Standards are High and communication is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

This school has a lot more opportunities than most, and students who look for and engage in them will feel better about their time spent here. The best classroom experiences at Kamiak come from those that the student applies him/herself to, so challenge yourself. The Honors/AP teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

Our school is great! We have great teachers (Mrs. Adams, Mrs. Micheal, Mr. Kirkpatrick, and Mr. Davis to name a few.) We have great art programs and the majority of the students are good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2008

Kamiak is a good school as far as challenging classes and a fair amount of good teachers. The enviroment is not the best and its very easy to get lost in the everyday crowd. The school is also over crowded and you cant even fit everyone into an assembly. I would recomend Kamiak if you have a high self esteem and your up to challenging classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2008

Perhaps it is not the most diverse school of all, due simply to it's location, but it is definately one of the top learning facilities in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

I attended this school for four years and have to say the overall quality of the school was awful. Not only does Kamiak offer nothing in the way of diversity, it is rife with teachers who are both apathetic and unskilled. That's not to say there weren't a few gems - Ms. Boucher, Ms. Russell, Mr. Costello, Mr. Beckner, Mr. Steves to name a few - but for the most part the teachers were awful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 13, 2007

Having spent four years at Kamiak and graduating in 2005, I can say that this is a school with a lot going for it. Unfortunately, this school's not without its problems. The most striking thing about Kamiak is the sheer number of people. The teaching staff is streched. However, the most important thing I took away from Kamiak was the sheer dedication of the teaching staff, not only to their respective subjects but to the students that they teach. I can credit three special teachers for my decision to become a teacher myself. One of the issues that kamiak faces is a lack of funding for their academic programs. At the same time, some of the sports teams get new uniforms every year. It seems to me that the district needs to stop focusing on winning football games and focus more on getting every student involved and learning to their fullest.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2006

Kamiak was a great school for my child to attend. She had great teachers that made a difference in her life. The sports departments are great. The Music department is excellent. My neice is now attending this school and has done great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
68%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
46%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students71%
Female71%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income62%
Not low income74%
Special education69%
Not special education71%
Limited English70%
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income85%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian99%
Asian/Pacific Islander99%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White100%
Low income100%
Not low income99%
Not special education100%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students53%
Female57%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income36%
Not low income59%
Special education36%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black90%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income84%
Not low income91%
Special education91%
Not special education89%
Limited English35%
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income87%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English82%
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Low income69%
Not low income71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Integrated Math II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

512 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

488 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black83%
Asian90%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Low income84%
Not low income97%
Special education70%
Not special education96%
Limited English41%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian94%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic90%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Low income89%
Not low income96%
Special education68%
Not special education96%
Limited English53%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 7%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 16%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 218%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 22N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10801 Harbour Pointe Blvd
Mukilteo, WA 98275
Phone: (425) 366-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Special Services
Everett, WA


Aces High School
Everett, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT