Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 674 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

Excellent school my children loved Kindergarten - third grade here! Teachers were great. There were no problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Always safe fun and reliable for the children. The teacher and child interaction is amazing and the staff around the whole facility is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

My children have been in Columbia for 3 years and we love it. The teachers are wonderful as are the administration staff. The few things I don't like, come down from the district, not from the school. The principal works very hard to learn every child's name. There is so much parental involvement & I always feel welcome when I come to volunteer in the classrooms or PTA events. I would recommend this school over and over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Mediocrity! That's what the principal of this school seem to adhere to. Does she not know that the leaders set the standards and the tone of each and every organization? Just because it looks good from the outside does not mean it is any good academically. She dresses well and the appearance of the school is great, but what is lacking is substance in this school; the programs that are implemented lack depth focus. it seems to me that they really have not thought things through and not understood what their goals were for the kids. Although I do have to say that couple of my children's teachers were pretty effective, especially the 1st grade teacher: she gave her best and expected the best from the students as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Very dissappointed also. Moto of this school is "Solve your own problems". If you have a child in this school you will know this fraise. Principal needs to have a conversation with her staff. ASAP please!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Was very dissappointed in this school. My (at the time) 1st grader was reading and comprehending (per the test scores) on a 4th to 5th grade level and was told by her teacher she was only allowed to read 1st grade level books. I had to call the teacher out on this and fight for her to read books that would actually challenge her. I work full time and couldn't be in the classroom, my child was treated differently because of this by her teacher. My advice, stay away from schools in Harbour Pointe unless you are a stay at home mom who has nothing but time to dedicate to the school. Harbour Pointe has a reputation for being stuck up and pretentious for a reason. We have since moved to the Lake Stevens area and the schools are far better, first week of school and my kids have already had music class and PE. The teachers are all friendly with smiles on their face and the parents don't care what street you live on or how big your house is. LOVE it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

Columbia Elementary is an amazing school! The administration staff knows my daughter by name. Her teacher and the principal are very open to parents involvement. They return calls, answer emails and are available for extras conferences after school hours if needed. The school have a great Reading Program and the teachers make the students find love for books and library. No student is left behind and no advanced student is delayed. Her teachers, in kindergarten and first grade, found out the students level and formed groups of different reading levels, which was great. They teach love, respect, responsibility and organization!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

I was very dissappointed to learn that Art, Music, and PE are not introduced to the students at this school until grade 3. We came into this district for the highly rated schools but feel that this lack of exposure to specialists will effect the students desire to learn and love more about these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

the teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

my children have attened this school for a year . they didn't have enough time to go out and play if you ask me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Though this school is rated as one of the top schools in the Seattle area, we have found it to be a disappointment. There is very little feedback from the teachers and administration. They focus too much on academics at the expense of art, music, and physical education. Parental involvement is virtually non-existent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

This is a very postitive and well balanced school. Teachers and students seem to be happy about learning and being where they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My daughter attended Columbia for grade 5. I was dissappointed to find that roughly 20-25% of her class was not up to math requirements for grade 6 and those students are now having to attend an early morning (7:20 am) class 3 times a week at Harbor Pointe Middle School. As parents we feel that if there is that high of a percentage, parents should be aware before their child leaves 5th grage and not that their child is performing at an 'average' for the grade level. Maybe the two schools should get their ducks in a row as to what constitutes 'average' and is that acceptable if it won't be when they arrive at Harbor Pointe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My son had behavioral problems starting the second day of kindergarten. He ended up being diagnosed with ADHD and treatment has been effective. The school psychologist Paige Tangney, the teacher, and other staff were so helpful to us. They addressed the problems in a positive way that calmed us down and was encouraging to our son. They did not overreact or leap to conclusions about the explanation for his behavior but gradually gathered information, made careful observations, and gave us ongoing feedback and suggestions. I was very impressed with their professionalism and knowledge base. I have also been very impressed with the level of organization I have observed from our son's kindergarten and 1st grade teachers, which has been very helpful to our son and to our knowledge of what is going on in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

I placed my son in Columbia's developmental preschool when he was three because he had some delays. The staff there was very helpful when my son was diagnosed with a mild autism spectrum disorder and helped educate me and enable me to be a better parent and advocate for my child. My son was gradually mainstreamed into a regular classroom with the support of the Mukilteo Behavioral Support Center. He received this support each afternoon while in a regular first grade classroom. After starting the second grade, this support was gradually reduced until my son became successful in the regular classroom full-time. Each teacher my son has had along the way - Diane Kelley, Gina Trautmann, and Leandra Buchanan, along with the staff at the MBSC (Holly Davison and Craig French, among others) and Paige Tangney, have been a great team in helping my special-needs son succeed. I only have good things to say about all the staff at Columbia.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female67%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income69%
Not low income74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic62%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Low income78%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students75%
Female70%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income56%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income72%
Not low income93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female81%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian57%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income64%
Not low income73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income65%
Not low income82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female83%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Low income69%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income69%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 7%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 110%N/A8%
Special education 122%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 230%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 65%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10520 Harbour Pointe Blvd
Mukilteo, WA 98275
Phone: (425) 366-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mukilteo Academy
Mukilteo, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT