Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Naches, WA
Students enrolled: 483

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Naches Valley High School 5

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
BTW,, Math classes are based on the student, usually medicre students, disruptive or unconcerned students are lumped with the same. Good students who work hard to accel are general placed with other students who work hard and strive to become secondary education ready. If we want more science and math programs, we need more funding, not more budget cuts.. (thanks Christine Gregaire) 2010,,, yet more budget cuts and quality teachers LOST! YES we have a phenominal music program, because the students are raising their own money and Mr Freis who is a fantastic teacher, is paying the balance from his own pocket. Although the football team is well funded every year, :'(

Naches Valley High School 5

Posted August 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Naches Valley High School 1

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
The curriculum is inferior, and the academic options are spare.

Naches Valley High School 5

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
I believe that Naches Valley High School is one of the best schools in the Yakima Valley. The staff cares about each student and the administration has made NVHS a place to feel comfortable learning. The spirit in Naches is relaxing and a great place to raise a family. I look forward to putting my other children through the Naches Valley School District.

Naches Valley High School 3

Posted April 15, 2007
- a student
NVHS has a superior arts program--specifically band and choir--but academically, the school lacks superiority, let alone anything special. None of the faculty seems to really care about where their students go. In other words, the teachers at Naches don't drive their students to shoot above and beyond. In fact, the only standards they expect of their students are mediocre. Besides the mediocre standards of the staff, the curriculum at Naches isn't anything to long for, either. Namely, the Core Math curriculum Naches uses. It's frustratingly brief, creating tension in the student and the aiding parent. Naches also offers little range in courses in math and science.


Naches Valley High School 2

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
We moved to the Naches School District after having four children in the Pullman WA. school district-- our four children were in each of the four schools within this district-- we had one in the primary school, one in the intermediate school, one in the middle school and one in high school here. I have to say that after coming from Pullman, Naches schools are well below academic standards and performance levels that my children are accustom to-- I've been very disappointed. I would rate their band and drama departments as superior-- however academics-- science, math, and writing--- are poor. Compared to other school districts in the Yakima Valley-- Naches ranks second only to West Valley school district, information I found on school report cards at the www.k12.wa.us (ospi website). Their is an attitude among old-timers here that Nacnes is superior-- this denial has cost them-- as wise parents are leaving.

Naches Valley High School 5

Posted August 05, 2005
- a student
Naches is a very good school. All the teachers care very much about the students there and they work hard to make it a safe and efficant learing enviroment. It is a pleasent place to go to, safe and one of the better schools in the Yakima Valley.

Naches Valley High School 4

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
I would also like to add that the high school has 100% of it's classrooms and computers connected to the internet. Your date for technology is very old and inaccurate. Student to computer ratio is more like 1:4

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Naches Valley High School
101 West Fifth St, Naches, WA  98937
(509) 457-8781
Last modified Naches Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Naches Valley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top