Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazelwood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

My kids are so happy to be at school everyday! The PTSA activities are both fun and educational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

As a former teacher (not of this school) Don't be fooled by its new facade or its choice location. We attended Hazelwood for 2yrs and it was by far the worst school experience we have had to date. My son was in the special needs program with an IEP. This program does not have very high expectations for kids or offer any understanding or support which they need. This school and its administrative team are more concerned with protecting its own staff than the welfare or best interests of the students academic or emotional growth! If you want a positive, enriching learning environment then look else where! My son has been traumatized by this school and its staff. There are teachers there who should not be teaching, let alone left with children. We now attend another school in the district and are so much happier. This school is not deserving of an 8 out of 10. I also agree with a previous comment, front office staff are rude and not helpful, truly keeping with the standard for the rest of the school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Hazelwood's facility is very nice but I agree with a previous poster from January 2014 that the main office staff are quite rude, unpleasant, condescending, and unprofessional. Te school district should re-evaluate their current main office staff for professionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

The teachers are very nice but the school staff are horrible and rude. Therefore, I've moved my kid to different school. Their staff need to be more educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

I have a daughter that has been going since she started elementary school to hazelwood and she is now in third grade. Her teachers have all been excellent and we are so happy to have this wonderful public school that cares so much about the students. 2 of her teachers were former students in Renton schools and wanted to come back and give back education to their community they grew up in. I can't say enough excellent things about the school. We are also very excited for the new middle school next door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

I have 2 kids at Hazelwood this year and one coming in the future. I have absolutely adored all of the teachers my oldest has had, and could not be happier with my son's kindergarten teacher. I think the curriculum is excellent and am thrilled at the success both kids have had so far. We're looking forward to many more years at Hazelwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

Hi people, this is my first day and I already love it. the teachers are very nice and helpful. The other kids are very nice to me. My first day was great even if I didn't know anything there.


Posted June 25, 2012

My two girls have gone to Hazelwood for a few years now (oldest completed 3rd grade, youngest completed 1st). They have had very engaged teachers, and have learned a lot in a short amount of time. The involvement of the PTSA is wonderful, and I really can't say enough positive things about the teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

I've never had a better school than this one. Now I'm going to the gifted program at Kennydale


Posted November 21, 2011

Nothing amazing about this school. Teachers are there waiting for retirement. The vision posted on their web site is typical lip service, nothing else. Teaching is a typical case of following the lowest common denominator, i.e. the slowest and most disruptive kids get the most attention while all the other students are not making any progress.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2010

I have two daughters at Hazelwood, and we think that its a pretty great school. Both have great teachers this year- organized and energized! The PTSA is really fantastic, and adds a LOT to the school. They use their dues to great effect. The counselor gently helps kids who need extra support. My only concern is that I wish there was a few more adults on the playground to watch for bullying. I also wish that there was a Discovery program on site, instead of busing the "smart" kids down to Kennydale, which is not as nice of a school. Many parents seem to be driving their kids to Hazelwood, which causes traffic problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

This a great school! all four kids have gone thru Hazelwood Elementary School and the staff and teachers have been great help to my kids grades! One is a UW graduate! second is a RN! Thanks, Hazelwood teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

Fantastic school, comprised of caring teachers and staff. PTSA is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My daughter is just finishing up her first year as a Kindergartner - she has loved it! She has made a ton of new friends, as have I. Her teacher is great - professional, but nice. She's very firm with the kids when needed, but they listen to her, and respond accordingly - the structure is great. I do agree that it's a little tough for my girl on the playground - she won't play when the big kids are out there. I suppose this does prepare her well for her future in life. She has learned a great deal - she's reading, writing and asking me great questions. She is loving math, and is teaching her 4 year old sister a great deal too. I think Hazelwood is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Great teachers. Kids love going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My son is in full day Kindergarden and he hated it at first. Staff is very rude if you're not in the popular parent circle. They do label kids and don't work on the root of the problem. Again the staff need to be educated by the principal a little bit more and don't treat parents as enemies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Hazelwood is our first public school. My child is attending kindergarten there. So far, we love the school. The teacher is professional but warm. The various programs they have are interesting and involving for my child (music, pe, reading). We've found all the staff to be very pleasant. My only complaint is that the class sizes are big (24 to 1) for kindergarten, but they seem to be handling it well. The 'posive action' program is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

This school is all about programs and that it is the answer to all issues. The school's staff seems to lack knowledge in 'their' area's of expertise. Instead of dealing with a child and the issues they seem to have an attitude in that a 'program' should solve the problem regardless of looking deeper in to the root of the issues. Half day Kindergarten is less than glorified day care. The school is a bit click-ious though that is common in many schools. There's bullying on the play ground. Nothing is done. There isn't enough teachers for the size of the classes. Instead they over flow the kids into 'programs'. Again, a program for every thing. They will flip a coin and send your child to one. If not, to all of them. They like to 'label' and cant get off labels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Poor communication between teachers and parents. Lack of supervision during morning playtime and recesses. Bullying goes on during these times and little is done about it. To many children out at one time with to few supervisiors. More focus on the social aspect than the academic aspect. 1/2 day kindergarten poor. Full day better. Very little learned in 1/2 day. Lunch program poor with not enough heathy choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

Hazelwood is an amazing school. A brand new building, it is beautiful on the outside and a great staff inside. My son has flourished here and there are many activities for families to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female88%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian76%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income63%
Not low income85%
Special education50%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female90%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income73%
Not low income85%
Special education60%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female86%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low income58%
Not low income90%
Special education30%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female93%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income71%
Not low income88%
Special education30%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female91%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income71%
Not low income77%
Special education40%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female85%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income54%
Not low income78%
Special education14%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income62%
Not low income87%
Special education50%
Not special education91%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female91%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income62%
Not low income82%
Special education43%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 25% 7%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 18%N/A8%
Special education 112%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 220%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6928 116th Ave SE
Newcastle, WA 98056
Phone: (425) 204-4550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Renton Academy
Newcastle, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT