Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
Our son started attending Hazelwood Elementary School this year in Kindergarten. He absolutely loves this school. The staff and teachers are super responsive to our questions and inquiries. His classmates are well behaved and we love the interaction with other parents and PTSA. Hazelwood Elementary is an amazing place and we feel privileged to be able to send our son here.

Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
My son just started kindergarten last week and began having anxiety issues. He adores his teacher, Mrs. Collins, and her teaching style, however, he had difficulty adjusting to recess time. She responded promptly to our concerns and replied with a plan of action (within a day!). Her caring nature and communication skills put us at ease. This teacher also updates her teacher website which helps us stay informed. There are comments regarding the staff's mannerisms; the personnel are straightforward and really just have the kid's safety in mind, which we appreciate. We hope the entire school year remains a good experience!


Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My kids are so happy to be at school everyday! The PTSA activities are both fun and educational.

Hazelwood Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
As a former teacher (not of this school) Don't be fooled by its new facade or its choice location. We attended Hazelwood for 2yrs and it was by far the worst school experience we have had to date. My son was in the special needs program with an IEP. This program does not have very high expectations for kids or offer any understanding or support which they need. This school and its administrative team are more concerned with protecting its own staff than the welfare or best interests of the students academic or emotional growth! If you want a positive, enriching learning environment then look else where! My son has been traumatized by this school and its staff. There are teachers there who should not be teaching, let alone left with children. We now attend another school in the district and are so much happier. This school is not deserving of an 8 out of 10. I also agree with a previous comment, front office staff are rude and not helpful, truly keeping with the standard for the rest of the school experience.

Hazelwood Elementary School 2

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are very nice but the school staff are horrible and rude. Therefore, I've moved my kid to different school. Their staff need to be more educated.


Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
I have a daughter that has been going since she started elementary school to hazelwood and she is now in third grade. Her teachers have all been excellent and we are so happy to have this wonderful public school that cares so much about the students. 2 of her teachers were former students in Renton schools and wanted to come back and give back education to their community they grew up in. I can't say enough excellent things about the school. We are also very excited for the new middle school next door.

Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Hazelwood this year and one coming in the future. I have absolutely adored all of the teachers my oldest has had, and could not be happier with my son's kindergarten teacher. I think the curriculum is excellent and am thrilled at the success both kids have had so far. We're looking forward to many more years at Hazelwood!

Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2013
- a community member
Hi people, this is my first day and I already love it. the teachers are very nice and helpful. The other kids are very nice to me. My first day was great even if I didn't know anything there.


Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2012
- a parent
My two girls have gone to Hazelwood for a few years now (oldest completed 3rd grade, youngest completed 1st). They have had very engaged teachers, and have learned a lot in a short amount of time. The involvement of the PTSA is wonderful, and I really can't say enough positive things about the teaching staff.

Hazelwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2012
- a community member
I've never had a better school than this one. Now I'm going to the gifted program at Kennydale

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hazelwood Elementary School
6928 116th Ave SE, Newcastle, WA  98056
(425) 204-4550
Last modified Hazelwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hazelwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top