Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
North Bend, WA
Students enrolled: 550
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at Opstad since kindergarten and loves it. You really get a positive feel from this small town community school. The teachers and staff are quality members that are invested in the kids. The principal is new the last several years.

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 2

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
The principal is terrible! Hard to get a hold of, not responsive and has the wrong principles about what is right for the students. Forget about trying to provide input about child placement. That has no bearing to teacher selection. The teachers have to rate your child and based on that, a special committee creates rosters, not one teacher is in this committee. This is not about placing your child in a class where he/she can succeed. It is all about creating a class that would fit each teacher based on their weaknesses. I gave it two stars as they have a lot of great teachers and the secretaries are amazing. Management is about arranging and telling. Leadership is about nurturing and enhancing. Tom Peters


Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Great School! My oldest daughter just finished kindergarten and we had a great experience at Opstad! Her teacher was awesome with emailing and talking to us throughout the year to let us know how she was doing and how we could help her be ready for 1st grade! Love the new principle too!!

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 4

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
Curriculum feels rigorous compared to some other districts. Teachers are clearly committed to their students and aim to have students challenge themselves when applicable. Extracurricular offerings through PTA RISE program are EXCELLENT. Principal is new there this year and doesn't seem to interact with parents or students much...but teachers may feel completely differently...more important!

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
Great staff, great programs. All of our children love this school, the classes and the activities.


Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 2

Posted July 21, 2010
- a parent
The PTA is super-agro ... You're either all in or all out. There is little standardization between same-grade classrooms. I have twins and one would come home each night with 5 - 10 correct and returns while the other would come home with nothing, even though both were reported to be struggling in the same subjects. When I attempted to ask one of the teachers to use a couple tools we use in the home with one of my children, she just blank stared at me .... zero response. Is that the type of teacher that is committed to her kids' academic success? This school is great if you're a super-adult-pleasing braniac kid. If you're not, you're left behind. Even though I work full time I am seriously considering homeschooling my kids.

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I love it for the small class sizes and the fact that there is only 1 fundraiser each year with the Walk-A-Thon. It's nice not to have to sell something, but instead promote a healthier alternative.


Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This school is excellent. Any time I had a concern, the teachers would be emailing or calling me immediately to resolve it. Sometimes, the principal even called me directly when I had a question or concern. Excellent teachers and a very high quality education.

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School 2

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
Terrible bully problem. Ineffectual principal. Crowded classrooms. Teachers oblivious to learning disabilities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edwin R Opstad Elementary School
1345 Stillson Ave SE, North Bend, WA  98045
(425) 831-8300
Last modified Edwin R Opstad Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edwin R Opstad Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top