Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crescent Harbor Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 511 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

We have been in oak harbor over 4 years and my children have been there for kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grades. The teachers are great and a friendly staff. I highly recommend enrolling your children in Crescent Harbor Elementary. Sad to be leaving soon!! But a great few years here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2012

We just transferred away and we miss Crescent Harbor so much. The Principal is SO nice and caring and remembers all her kids. She even brought homework home to our house for my daughter when she was sick for a week. Now THAT is a great staff ! My daughter went to K, 1st and Second there and my son went to K there. I cannot describe how caring these teachers are. The school facilities themselves are not fancy or recently upgraded etc. But - the school reminds me of when I was in elementary school where all the teachers loved you first and taught you second. As a military mom - I really appreciate that because our kids need that a lot when they move so much. Love love love everyone there. I just wish more parents volunteered there because they need more badly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

I have two children currently enrolled in this school (this is their 3rd year at this school), and I must say it is an excellent school. The teachers, staff, principal, aides, everyone is so caring and concerned about the children. My kids have quite a bit of homework, but are excelling academically here. I have only good things to say about Crescent Harbor Elementary, and would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I just read someones review from Sept. 9th, 2008. I feel like her complaints are a little outrageous. First of all if some of these parents volunteered at the school they would know that is not true. I have volunteered at CHE for 2 yrs and I think the staff is wonderful. They don't have a choice on the prices or the meal plan. It is from the state and the district. If someone doesn't like the menu they should pack their childs lunch for that day or for the whole year. They do help with supplies. I have seen teachers buy for the kids out of their own pockets. So I think this lady was a bit unfair. I think the school is wonderful. I would put my kids here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Our daughter has attended CHE for second and third grade. She seems to be learning, enjoys her classes, and likes her teachers. For the most part, I think the school is decent, but wish there was more communication between the teachers and parents prior to a child falling behind. The events the school throws have typically been haphazard and poorly planned. The school/teachers could also attempt be a little more tidy and professional with the internal appearance of the building (It is always seems to be messy and poorly kept.) If we hadn't moved so many times already, we would probably have tried transferred into another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

With four children and my spouse being transfered several times we have got to sample many types of elementary schools. I have a daughter that attended Crescent Harbor Elementary from first grade through fifth grade, I also have a son who had gone to there from kindergarten through the third grade. I have never found a school who was so caring, and personable. My son has an medical condition and needed special care. This school has been the only one to go up and above taking care of him. My daughter and son were taught so well my daughter now in middle school is taking high school classes. Safety and discipline were always great and done with a such caring from the BEST principal I will ever meet. We are tranfering back and I will be asking for my younger children to be placed at Crescent Harbor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I feel that this school is doing well. I also feel that the principal is very nice and devoted to his job. I do hope that the school earns enough money to get new playground equipment. Michelle Tuzzolo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

The childerns lunch is over priced, and they get nothing. My Kids have come home hungry everyday. The school supply list is hundreds of dollars worth of stuff, and when it is taken to school, it is put into a class ben for all to use. The lunch time that the kids have to eat is 10 minutes, and they only get 2 recesses, the morning break is down in class and it is not a break, they get to eat their snacks while doing school work. I am new to the neighborhood, and my kids have been to a few schools due to a lot of moving, and I have never found a school so outrageous as this one. My husband and I are very unhappy and are even considering hiring a private teacher for our 2 sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Crescent Harbor offers more than a minimal education experience. The staff is committed to nurturing the whole child and meeting their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Great academic program quality, would have liked a beginning instrumental music program. Navy volunteers, and increasing parent involvement. Great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

A very family friendly school, parents are always welcome and open-door policy is in full force. Everyone staff member/teacher are extremely friendly and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

Crescent Harbor Elementary consistently offers an outstanding second grade program. The highly qualified team of teachers render the experience and compassion nescessary to nurture a child's talents while improving his or her weaknesses with gentle encouragment. With time and effort, the student is able to excell because of a strong focus on the positive self actualization of the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

This school has a great staff for children with special needs. The team that works with the parents is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

2 of my children attend CHE. They both have excelled and I credit the teachers, staff and volunteers.


Posted April 23, 2003

I don't know about now or really have an parents view of this school. I did attend this school in the mid 70's. Then I thought that this was the best education time in my life.I know scales and charts say a lot for a school and it's Teaching ablity to educate our Kids ,but there is such thing as pride and accomplishments. You should have a spot for past students to express their thoughts and what they accomplishments. This may give a true look at what a school is made of, or quality of its readyness to give our kids the tools and best knowlage possable....Thank you for your time....Sebastian A Lupi jr bandit22401@yahoo.com


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income58%
Not low income59%
Special education42%
Not special education64%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female77%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income60%
Not low income72%
Special education32%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female70%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income58%
Not low income80%
Special education36%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female78%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income70%
Not low income83%
Special education43%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female61%
Male45%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income45%
Not low income66%
Special education29%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income59%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income68%
Not low income94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income68%
Not low income84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 63%
Hispanic 14% 18%
Asian 4% 7%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 157%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 219%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 15N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 46%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Craig Dunnam
Fax number
  • (360) 279-5699

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 East Crescent Harbor Rd
Oak Harbor, WA 98277
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 279-5650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Homeconnection
Oak Harbor, WA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT