Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Harbor Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 465 students

Our school is best known for our community involvement.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

I am proud to call Oak Harbor Elementary my children's school. The principal is always involved in the activities in the building and is in tune to the needs of the students and the parents. The staff work well together to provide the best learning environment for the students. I love having uniforms. It creates a stress free morning and learning environment when clothing isn't the focus. I wish there was more parent involvement, but each year is different than the last and I believe we are building up our parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

This school has a strong early childhood program. I like the school uniforms and some of the great extras that come with a school of choice. I would recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My son attended half day kindergarter at Oak Harbor Elementary. We loved his teacher (Wrightson) and the family activities (math night, art night, etc). The building, although older, is always clean and well maintained. Our son, being half day, did not use the playground. The drop off/pick up system is well coordinated for the safety of the children (much better than the other elementary schools in town). The Eagle Award system gives kids a chance to stand out for good behavior/performance. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and you always see a few around the building. My only complaint is that the PTA could vary meeting times, minot complaint indeed! Class sizes are large, but that is Oak Harbor (and Washington state) in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I absolutely love this school. I decided to send my children here after my son spent a year at OVE, which is embarrassingly sub-par. I was very pleased with the teacher's encouragement of parental involvement. The art/music programs are wonderful. The school is clean and very well maintained. The teachers and staff are very friendly. I wasn't thrilled about the uniform policy, but it's a small concession to make for the great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

The OHE teachers and NWMS teachers have difficulty dealing with their students because of the Navy influences. I think the attitude of NWMS teachers is that the kids will rotate out like their parents do to a different town. So why bother to offer the kids something positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

I am appalled at the reviews written here. This school is awesome. I have found nothing but helpful teachers and great curriculum. Being a teacher myself in MS, I find that all the kids coming from this school are well prepared and ready for 6th grade. I believe the parents who wrote these reviews are probably parents who have difficult students behaviorally or are those parents that I deal with who need to be reassured daily that their child is special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

This school has been a big let down for our family! If you are looking for high academic success for you child this is not the school to attend. Every year the school is scatter brained trying to choose a subject to focus on and every year their WASL scores get lower and lower. Safety at this school is also horrible. The one blessing at this school is the Art, Music, and PE teachers they are top notch and definately are the highlight of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

My child attended this school for part of Kindergarten. Because it was only half days, I feel he didn't learn much. He didn't have much work to do. When I asked what he learned, he never could tell me anything. We moved to GA, and he was extremely behind the children at his new school. It took almost the rest of the year to get caught up to them. I did like the uniform policy, the playgrounds and the appearance of the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

OHE could be a better school if the principal and teachers were not so intent on minimizing their faults and maximizing the faults of parents and children. Since children are spending six hours in class do pick up the behaviors and moods of the teachers. I think the teachers of OHE should [review] their own attitudes. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

Music, art, and PE are great activities that are available for the children at this school. This is a school of choice where the children wear uniforms and parental involvement is a requirement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

I did not like this school at all. The staff made me feel unwelcome and uncomfortable, not to mention my children's teachers were unbearably rude to myself and my children. My children learned nothing that they didn't already know from the previous grade and from what I taught at home.T he teachers would not give my children homework or extra work that I can do at home with them. One of my children's teachers would single her out in front of her class everytime something went wrong and would not address the issue with me but would blow me off every time I asked what happened. I have picked up my children's friends right from the school playground and the staff never checked if I had permission to take them. This school is not safe in my eyes and I didn't realize it until then. I would never send my children there again or refer anyone there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female60%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income48%
Not low income72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female73%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income71%
Not low income80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female66%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Low income52%
Not low income67%
Special education40%
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income65%
Not low income85%
Special education53%
Not special education82%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students61%
Female77%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Low income39%
Not low income78%
Special education27%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female80%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income56%
Not low income72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income69%
Not low income83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female85%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income50%
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 60%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 7%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 122%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 245%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 71%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dorothy Day
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (360) 279-5149

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Oak Harbor Elementary is the School of Choice for the Oak Harbor School District. Our Oak Harbor Elementary team consists of 60 excellent staff members who work hard to provide our children with high level, quality educational activities. As the School of Choice, we strive to build responsible citizens by offering grade level enrichment learning activities that promote connections to the community and enhance the learning of our students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

151 SE Midway Blvd
Oak Harbor, WA 98277
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 279-5102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Homeconnection
Oak Harbor, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT