Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Capital High School 4

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Every review is one's personal story. No high school is unique in its set of challenges. CHS gets a bad rap because the only ones who review are the ones who have a complaint about their personal situation. I don't mean to diminish any negative experiences - I'm sure they are legit. However, we would all like to hear updates 4 years later from parents who bubble wrapped their kids in a private school. Was their mettle tested? Can they adapt, cope, overcome? As a parent, your child is as successful as you are involved in their lives. We have had challenges at every school along the way, but refuse to condemn an entire school because our kid was bullied, or a teacher was mean, or they didn't have AP, or we don't like the food, etc. If you take the time to review a school, know that people rely on that information. Try rating it based on what YOU put into it, not how nice people were to you or what was handed to you on a plate. Our child just graduated with honors & a 2-year degree with a scholarship to a great university, and attended the lowest income feeder schools in the area. She has learned what true social diversity is, and what compassion and hard work are. She has learned to overcome challenges and will be ready for the world. I myself attended OHS and, trust me, same exact challenges there, just a boatload more people and more money. OHS is a great school if you want a vanilla latte. CHS is the campfire coffee of high schools - gritty, strong, and does the job. Choose what's best for your child, but make an informed decision.

Capital High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
Students are recruited from feeder schools. Parents need to know there are other options. With all the stories of bullying and administration doing little, it is difficult to believe a high level of integrity exists.


Capital High School 1

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
Capital HS is our neighborhood school. We have heard many many negative reports from parents whose kids attend this school. Bullying especially. For parents that are unaware, there is another option to CHS and OHS. JP2 in Lacey is a wonderful school. Rich in diversity, academically rigorous, no tryouts for sports, there is a place for everyone. Our kids are thriving there. Very generous financial aid, families of all faiths, graduates going on to college have earned very large amounts of scholarship dollars. Many carpool opportunities. They are adding 8000 sq foot addition this summer as they continue to grow. Well worth looking into. We are so happy to make the drive for our kids. Having this choice of high school feels like a gift.

Capital High School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
They make sure every student succeeds! They have excellent caring staff that communicate well with parents!

Capital High School 1

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
my daughter was constantly bullied at Capital as a student there. I went to the principal multiple times and showed them proof because they were threats (to cut her fingers off with wire cutters) but they just said the other girls said something about my daughter so there was nothing they could do even though there was proof right there!!! she was so devastated and continued to be bullied and i had finally switched her to a different school. it was a horrible experience. please never let your child go to that awful school....


Capital High School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
The staff and students at Capital High School are wonderful and they are all well rounded and respectful. I disagree with many of the reviews that have been written about Capital. As a student, I think it is a wonderful environment for a student to learn, and the teachers are willing to work with you before and after school to improve your grades and help you understand the work.

Capital High School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a student
this school has no communication with parents or students they don't ever explain all your options to you. I ABSOLUTELY WOULD NEVER send my child to this school it was the most awful experience, leaving this school was the best decision my parents made.

Capital High School 4

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
I've been very pleased with my daughter's experience at Capital. Not sure why so many negative reviews. We've been more than happy with the quality of instruction she has received, and the majority of her teachers have been excellent. The social environment has been very welcoming and the one episode she experienced with mild bullying was handled immediately and with zero tolerance. The relatively smaller size of the school helps assure that every student receives adequate attention from staff. My only negative is that I would prefer an AP program to IB.


Capital High School 1

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Do not let your child attend this school. 90% of the staff are horrible, especially the administrative staff! Those teachers that aren't horrible are to afraid to stand up to those who are. It's a no win situation. My son is disabled and the last straw was the day a special education teacher pinned my son to the ground in a hallway because he left the classroom without permission. Most of the staff are to busy trying to be arm chair shrinks and wardens to even consider education as their job!

Capital High School 2

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
I believe too much money goes to the IB program and that they should go back to AP classes. Very few students take advantage of this program. More support should go to Running Start students who want to get ahead in their schooling. I believe they should get rid of the Athletic Director position and incorporate these duties to an administrator. Drop an administrator and add counselor specifically trained to deal with low achievors. Add more tutorial services in Math and Science. More computor programs such as Khan Academy. More capable department heads. More intramural after school sports.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capital High School
2707 Conger Ave NW, Olympia, WA  98502
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (360) 596-8000
Last modified Capital High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top