Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 398 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2012

Roosevelt Elementary is a WONDERFUL school! My grandson came to live with me [unexpectedly] and started the 2nd grade at Roosevelt. He was VERY behind in all his subjects, and yet with special assistance went from reading at barely first grade level to almost third grade level! I always had excellent communication with his teacher. It was almost embarrassing how often I had to email her with questions or update her on situations that were occurring at home. She always responded to me very quickly and kindly. The office staff as well as the school librarian are also very warm and friendly. You can tell the whole school works as a team and a well oiled machine - obviously under the supervision and guidance of their fantastic principal, affectionately known as "Mr. DSK" by the kids. I really can't say enough about this superior school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Sell your house and move to the Roosevelt area! (That s what we did!) It s the only sure way you can get your children into Roosevelt. The teachers and staff are genuinely caring and friendly. (But the lunch servers are sometimes grumpy.) The principal Mr. Spatola-Knoll, affectionately known as "Mr. DSK" by the kids, is WONDERFUL. He supports his staff, listens and works with parents, and is GREAT with this students. You can tell that Mr. DSK and the Roosevelt staff love what they do. The reading program is PHENOMENAL. My daughter entered Roosevelt in 2nd grade from an Olympia alternative school . She entered Roosevelt below grade level, but after only one year at Roosevelt she was reading way above grade level and developed a love of reading! My son, a slow learner, screened into the all day kindergarten class but is now at grade level in ALL subjects. We are happy we made the switch to Roosevelt for both our children. You too should come to Roosevelt if you want a school that is welcoming, values parent volunteers, and where children will learn how to read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

Great school: involved teachers, especially principal. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and participate in school's life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

We love this school! This is our youngest child's last year at Roosevelt before he goes to middle school. The teachers are kind and respectful, and the school is very welcoming. The principal Mr. DSK is great. He takes the time to talk and listen to kids and parents. There is a real sense of community here. I am so glad we bought a house near Roosevelt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

Great school with great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

Roosevelt is just a wonderful school! We have nothing but positive things to say about it. They really seem to care that each and every child gets a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

My children both love going to school every day. The teachers and staff are both nurturing and provide appropriate boundaries for learning. Roosevelt has a high level of integration for children with special needs being placed directly into the classrooms. This has given my children a greater appreciation and understanding of friendship, empathy and differences in our community and world. Sometimes the teachers are under too much pressure for their students to meet the highest standards for good WASL reports. This is sometimes transferred to my children in the way of stress when learning to read. As far as the inside scoop, this may sound negative, but it is a very small bit of Roosevelt. Overall, I would say it is the best in town for well-rounded students, staff and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

My son loves attending Roosevelt Elementary and the staff is excellent. I would put this school right up there with any private elementary. There is a chemistry that is evident with the staff, students & parents and I'm thrilled to have my son attending Roosevelt School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Roosevelt is a wonderful school with an excellent staff. We are especially pleased with the reading and math programs. The school appears to have a high level of parental involvement and support. Our son looks forward to attending Roosevelt each day and seems to have very positive interactions with the school staff and his peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female71%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income66%
Not low income74%
Special education33%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income84%
Not low income83%
Special education58%
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female74%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income48%
Not low income82%
Special education20%
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income67%
Not low income88%
Special education47%
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female80%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income52%
Not low income77%
Special education27%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female72%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income44%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income56%
Not low income97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female69%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income48%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 60%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Two or more races 7% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 12%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 242%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 16N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 67%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sean Shaughnessy

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1417 San Francisco Ave NE
Olympia, WA 98506
Phone: (360) 596-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Michael School
Olympia, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT