Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Middle School 3

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
The principal seems only interested in doing the minimum. Olympia school district identified many highly capable students but the principal doesn't want to implement a single program to help these students to excel. All he concerns is to keep everyone ordinary. School districts announced programs before the new school year but when the school year start in fall 2015, all the promises were gone and not a single word to explain it! Terrible!

Washington Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Sartori. Wonderful music teacher and she directs the orchestra with such an effective way. Kids enjoy it so much!


Washington Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
some teachers are good, others are not. When I came to the parents meeting, math teach told me that "your son is doing great!" then nothing more to tell me. Sounds good? but I want to know how he learns, how to improve? My son is a big reader, but language art teacher struggle to tell me why he doesn't get good performance and grade in class.

Washington Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
My son can finish most home work in 10 minutes. Sure, light and easy, but without review and necessary amount of homework, do they learn solidly?

Washington Middle School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Two kids currently attending (have since 2012) - no issues. Strong academic environment. Kids do not report bullying. Clean facilities. Teachers teach....but kids will do as well as their parents invest in them. We are in the military and have lived all over the country and world - this is a good school. If looking to move to Olympia, this is were I'd start.


Washington Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a teacher
Students are well-behaved and respectful to others. Teachers are diligent and sincere. Office people are helpful and kind.

Washington Middle School 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
It is pathetic. Let me count the ways: 1- more focused on their social life then academic. 2-teachers are unaware o f what to do. 3- unecesary rules and disciplinary actions. and MANY more...

Washington Middle School 5

Posted December 16, 2010
- a community member
The bullying rate is so low and if a student or teacher witnesses it we immiediately take action to stop it. The teachers really make an effort to get to know a student and make class fun. Students are really kind and helpful. Washington Middle School is, in my opinion, one of the best schools in Washington and I would recomend it to anyone.


Washington Middle School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
They do so much with so little. The 6th graders are gradually introduced into Middle School life. It is one of the toughest times in a kid's life.

Washington Middle School 5

Posted May 11, 2009
- a student
WMS is a great school. Its education thrives and the school also helps the environment because it's a green school! WMS provides after school activities and is well known throughout the area. It has been accepted by well known universities in its music education. Also it has nice teachers that may help you at any cost. If you don't know what to do then just ask a teacher. If you're going to think this would be a nice school, then this is probably the best one for you or your child.

Nearby schools

Washington Middle School
3100 Cain Rd Se, Olympia, WA  98501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (360) 596-3000
Last modified Washington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top