Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Olympia, WA
Students enrolled: 401

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thurgood Marshall Middle School 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter had a positive, safe, and well rounded experience at Marshall. Students were very accountable for behavior and academics, and my daughter made nice gains socially and academically here.

Thurgood Marshall Middle School 4

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
My kids have had great experiences at the school, both socially and academically. There are a couple of teachers who should have chosen another profession, but the majority of them are caring, creative, and devoted to the kids.


Thurgood Marshall Middle School 3

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
I like the principal, but he seems to be either unable to control his teachers, or has his hands tied by the district or union, because SEVERAL of the teachers there are REALLY bad, including one who was suspended for saying the "f" word to a student! I would also stay away from the parent group. The president seems to run it with the intention of benefiting her kids, and has special interests that are NOT in the best interests of the kids in the school. If you are lucky, your kid will get good teachers; if not, good luck. That, however, seems to be true of all the schools in the district. Each principal seems to run their schools like their own private fiefdom, with absolute power. Not a great idea for a district that calls itself "world class;" if they cannot guarantee consistency in instruction, discipline, etc., they are redundant.

Thurgood Marshall Middle School 4

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
Staff and faculty take a personal interest in the students. The students have many opportunities to participate in various activities. Communication with parents via Skyward Family Access is great and improving each year.

Thurgood Marshall Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Great school and lots options and after-school activities.


Thurgood Marshall Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a student
They integrate everyone in the class room in learning and use alternative teaching styles which have proven to work better than the standard.

Thurgood Marshall Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Thurgood Marshall Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Thurgood Marshall Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Thurgood Marshall Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2008
- a student
This school is amazing!!!!!! I am a student talking And i've gone to some perfect schools but this takes the cake. My name is josh White and i have decided i want to come back for another year at this amazing school. Go Mustangs!!!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thurgood Marshall Middle School
3939 20th Ave NW, Olympia, WA  98502
(360) 596-7600
Last modified Thurgood Marshall Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thurgood Marshall Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top