Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

When leadership at this school changed we were hopeful of a more inclusive environment. Unfortunately, special needs kids are not a welcome part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

This is an excellent school with an amazing music program, along with strong academics. There is excellent leadership with principal Alice Drummer. My children loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2011

Was not impressed!! We had 2 kids in this school for two years. We are a military family and have had the opportunity to live in several states and have had our kids in several school systems. This is not a bad school, but like most schools in Western Washington, the focus is not academic, but more towards "diversity." The teachers in the school are nice, but not that engaged. Your child is part of the herd thats getting pushed through, don't kid yourself. It seemed to me the academic effort was ramped up a bit just before the mandatory state testing, (which has a lot to do with "No child left behind.") In the end, we pulled our kids out and are now paying for private school. They are still taught diversity, but they are actually being prepared for High School and College. The good news is Olympia High School is actually a good school. We have friends whose kids are in this school, and they are happy with it. These friends had their kids in the same private school (K-8) as ours, then put them in Olympia High School. We probably won't be here that long, but if that is your plan, live in the Centennial, Washington Middle School, Oly HS district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

I have one child at Centennial with another starting in the fall. My son's experience has been excellent. He has progressed rapidly this year to well above grade level in reading (from being just average last year) and I feel that his classroom teacher and his reading teacher have been very responsive in moving him up and providing him with material at his level. He is excited to go to school. There is a great deal of parent involvement at Centennial and I'm very happy to have my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

Centennial Elementary is a wonderful school! My 4th grader has been going since Kindergarten and I also have one that just started Kindergarten this year. I can not think of anything that this school lacks or needs to work on. The staff is awesome, supportive, understanding and sensitive. My child loves it here and from what I hear of other schools or districts, I could not imagine being elswhere. They aim high and always achieve success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Over the years I have attended many events at Centennial Elementary and am never disappointed in the evident quality of the teaching and student participation. Outstanding1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

We came to Centennial after moving from another district. We are impressed with the staff as well as the academic curriculum. Our child is continually challenged yet feels like she is also accepted for who she is as a person. We cannot say enough about the excellent preparation she is receiving for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

Centennial Elementary school may be wonderful for children who do not have disabilities, but for children with disabilities, it appears they are much less flexible. I would prefer to place my learning disabled child in a different school if I had a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

The teachers at Centennial are smart, engaged and committed to providing a quality education to the students. The parents are very involved. The curriculum is geared toward reaching students at a variety of levels, and keeps students challenged and interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

The teachers are amazing. My son is in 5th grade. They recently got a new principal that we are not sure about. She doesn't seem approachable or friendly when we have attended school functions
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Our children attend Centennial, and we couldn't be happier with every aspect of all that goes on at this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

My son attended Centennial from 2002-2004, grades 3, 4, 5. We were happy with his teachers and the overall climate of the school. Lots of parent and community involvement by the school. My son had one disciplinary incident that the school handled fairly well. Academically he was challenged appropriately, as he is a very bright kid, but struggles sometimes with organization, work, habits, and the typical immaturity issues young boys deal with. School was built in approx. 1990, so it is reasonably modern, and the campus is clean and pretty, in a wooded setting in the midst of several neighborhoods of single-family homes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

Very well run school with strong parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

The teachers were amazing and enthusiastic but the school was very crowded. There were many art and sports programs to suit any childs needs. The level of parent involvment was unreal because there were so many parents involved in everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

I had three children attend Centennial. EXCELLENT parent involvement and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income80%
Not low income85%
Special education29%
Not special education96%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female82%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic80%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income90%
Not low income88%
Special education36%
Not special education99%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income77%
Not low income86%
Special education42%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female88%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income77%
Not low income79%
Special education42%
Not special education85%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female95%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income85%
Not low income83%
Special education42%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low incomen/a
Not low income86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female93%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Low incomen/a
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 7%
Hispanic 10% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 13%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 212%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 19N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 78%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2637 45th Ave SE
Olympia, WA 98501
Phone: (360) 596-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Childrens Inn
Olympia, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT