Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Olympia Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 75 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

We're a military family, and this is the first US school our kids have attended after three overseas assignments. The teachers, administrative staff, and Principal have all worked together to help guide our kids and ease their (our) culture shock. The teachers' team approach to classes has worked well for my 5th grader. The kindergarten classes accomplish so much in a short time; our 6 year old is reading and writing now at the end of his K year. Bullying is addressed immediately and followed up with the Principal each time. The classrooms are not oversized, with about a 22:1 ratio in our kids' rooms. We were worried about our kids' integration into the US school system, but this team of educators has allayed any hesitation we had. We are returning for next year with a 6th, 1st, and Kindergartner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

We are not impressed one bit :/, very poor leadership at this school amongst many other issues this past year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

not very happy with the overall school from the way problems are handled administrative side. the teachers are nice but too many student to teacher ratio to get the personalized attention students need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

The students are well grounded, the teachers are compassionate and challenging, the principal is well liked and well known among the students, the staff is kind and helpful, and families (not just parents) are regularly involved in activities at school. My kids have blossomed greatly after moving here from another district. The difference was astounding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

My child started in this school Febuary2011. In just the few months of attending her reading improved alot. My child is sometimes hard to deal with I find the staff have always treated my child fair and find ways to deal with the melt downs my child has. I love this school and hope my child can attend for the elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

My child has gone to EOE for 7 years and she couldn't have a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

This is a great school!! I have a sixth grader who started EOE as a kindergartner and at third grader as well. Both of my children are very different and have completely opposite needs both socially and educationally,East Olympia has done an excellent job accommodating them and teaching them the value of being life long learners. The third grade Salmon Curriculum is outstanding. As long as you are looking for a school to educate your child and not parent them you will be happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

We were very unhappy with this school and have since decided to home-school. The problem is likely more system-wide than just this school. The 'no child left behind' and lack of funding has created schools where learning is no longer encouraged only memorization, worksheets, and crowded classrooms. Teachers are either burned out, don t care, or are too new and young to know any better. The lack of thought provoking stimulation in school and the lack of parents out of school have created bored and defiant children. We looked at some of the better rated schools in the area both in district and out of district. The ones we liked had lotteries or long waiting lists. More charter schools are needed in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

The principal provides sub standard leadership which shows through in a music program that lacks stimulation with its over abundant use of worksheets. Through my child s experience at EOE, I have come to realize there are teachers who are there because it is their job and others who make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

My son has been at this school for 3 years and I have continued to believe in this school despite so many problems. This is the last year though. This school's administration needs to be held accountable for the mistreatment of the children in their care. All incidents were reported to the principal but with no follow up to speak of. Also the principal is very bad about returning calls and getting back to parents that have concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Parent involvement is highly encouraged. Teachers are wonerful and very caring. Computer, music, and PE are on a 2 week rotating schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

In my experience, the teachers at this school are dedicated, kind, collegial. I have seen wonderful teamwork among the staff. I know most about the kindergarten program and I am nothing but impressed with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

I attended East Olympia as a child 30 years ago and found my daughter attending since first grade. I absolutely love the school, the teachers, the dedication to providing not only accademic skills but proper socialization skills as well. There is an outstanding Music program and after school art program that have made huge impacts in my daugters life. Thank you East Olympia teachers and staff for all of your hard work it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

My children attended school here and I must say that as a teacher myself I never ceased to be impressed by the professionalism and dedication of the East Olympia staff, especially the teachers. Tumwater School District continues to do a great job of getting the most bang for the buck and it shows in the facilites and high staff morale.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income55%
Not low income85%
Special education50%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income86%
Not low income91%
Special education73%
Not special education92%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income74%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Low income84%
Not low income96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female87%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income58%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female57%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income38%
Not low income62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low income62%
Not low income95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students59%
Female60%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic18%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income38%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income86%
Not low income89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income86%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 60%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 11%N/A8%
Special education 110%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 236%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 14N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 13N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 66%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patricia Kilmer

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8700 Rich Rd
Olympia, WA 98501
Phone: (360) 709-7150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Olympia Waldorf School
East Olympia, WA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT